We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of San Juan Chalet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
San Juan Chalet
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed here for two nights and had a great time. The room was very clean and comfortable, and the owner was super friendly. Ouray is a BEAUTIFUL town, and it was great to have a quiet spot a short walk from main street to stay. They are dog friendly too! I'd definitely recommend the San Juan Chalet!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MonaTheDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2013

We installed half our family in the entire San Juan Chalet during our wedding weekend as it's next door to the Secret Garden B&B, which was where everything was happening. The Chalet consisted of two spacious bedrooms, each with their own private baths and entrances, and a 3-person cabin.

The family seemed pleased with the accomodations, although the power to the microwave and TV kept cutting out on my in-laws in the downstairs bedroom (which was weird because the other electronics worked). The upstairs room is large with a vaulted ceiling, king-sized bed and a leather sofa, but it was warm for summer - they do provide fans. The cabin has a bedroom and bathroom, plus a small family room complete with a sofabed. It also has a small electric stove, microwave, coffemaker, and small (not mini) refrigerator.

In our case, getting all the rooms turned out to be a good thing as it's quite private with tall, well-grown trees. There's also a little yard, making it nice for everyone to just hang out. Parking is convenient in front of the garage or along the east side of the house.

The owner Ryan and her husband are a super chill young couple. We only communicated with Ryan via e-mail beforehand, and she was extremely responsive to our questions (I don't think we ever waited more than 18 hours to hear back from her).

The location is very convenient for walkers to access downtown. For you motorcyclists, it's down a slight decline on a dirt road.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank aerofaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed four nights at this property. Ryan made sure we had all the items we needed to make sure our stay was pleasant. The bed was very comfy, room spotless and clean. A great bargain and it is on a very quiet street. You cannot go wrong staying at this property! Tim G. Lake Charles, La.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

My husband and I recently stayed in "The Cabin," which is attached to the standalone garage. It was spacious with a living room/kitchen combo and a separate bedroom. (There isn't a proper kitchen table, but that wasn't an issue for us.) The kitchen had a small fridge/freezer combo, stove/oven, microwave, and coffee maker. Free wi-fi was provided and either cable or satellite TV (we barely turned it on).

The bedroom had a king-sized bed that was very comfortable. The sheets and pillows were extremely comfortable, as well. There is no air conditioning, but fans are provided and we didn't have any issues since it cools off so much at night. A full closet, dresser, and some additional shelving provide lots of storage space for clothes/gear.

The owners were incredibly friendly and helpful with suggestions for hikes. We will definitely be staying there again and highly recommend it.

The town itself is small and very walkable from the San Juan Chalet. Our favorite places were the Ourayle House Brewery on 7th Ave for great beer and a unique atmosphere (we got some great hiking trail advice from other people there), the Backstreet Bistro on Main St. for breakfast, the Beaumont Grill (we had a great lunch there), and Buen Tiempo Mexican Restaurant & Cantina. We weren't thrilled with Bon Ton (huge portions, but overpriced considering it's pasta and the quality), and the Ouray Brewery on Main St. has a great rooftop patio, but the beer is just OK.

Room Tip: If you're staying in the summer and the weather does get hot, the Cabin doesn't get as much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TNLaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

I recently stayed in the lower room. It was quiet, clean, comfortable and a great location. Ryan was very hospitable and laid back. Would highly recommend staying here and wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank quele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

I have stayed in the upstairs room many times on my visits to Ouray over the last few winters. Great quiet place. Terrific view of the mountains. Just a few blocks from Main St.
The owners are great people, and if you get lucky, Polly , the golden retriever will stop by and say hello. Lots of room, very clean and comfy. Easy walk to anywhere you would like in town. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenneth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

My wife and I recently stayed in the lower room of the San Juan Chalet. It was very clean and very nice. The laid back setting was complemented by the smell of the lilacs in the private yard. It is a nice break from a regular hotel as it is very private and the owners were very nice. The location is nice too as it is only a 2 minute walk to Main Street. We will stay here every time we come back to Ouray.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.7 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
936 reviews
0.2 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#11 of 15 in Ouray
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ouray Chalet Inn
Ouray Chalet Inn
#3 of 15 in Ouray
441 reviews
0.1 mi away
River's Edge Motel
River's Edge Motel
#9 of 15 in Ouray
501 reviews
0.8 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge
Timber Ridge Lodge
#14 of 15 in Ouray
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Juan Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Juan Chalet

Address: 115 Sixth Ave., Ouray, CO
Region: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Ouray
Price Range: £74 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Juan Chalet is a great lodging alternative in Ouray, Colorado. Less noise than a big hotel and more privacy than a B&B. We have 3 rental units to offer. San Juan Chalet has 2 spacious king hotel style rooms and 1 one bedroom cabin complete with a full kitchen and den. San Juan Chalet is located just 1.5 blocks from main street. So you can walk to everything in Ouray even the Hot Springs! San Juan Chalet has wonderful mountain views and a nice private yard surrounded by Lilac and Aspen trees. The Lilacs bloom in late May and early June. Guests enjoy hotel amenities without the big hotel. Located 1.5 blocks from the heart of Main Street on 6th Ave and Spangler Ln. San Juan Chalet has open field to the south and The Secret Garden B&B is directly to the west. We have a picnic table and grill so you can enjoy your meals outside and soak in the beautiful mountain scenery. If you are traveling with young kids we have plenty of strollers and kid backpack carriers if you need to borrow one. We also run San Juan Mountain Guides so we know the area really well and would be happy to set up an adventure for you or give advice on where to go and what to do. •Free High speed Wi-Fi/internet service •weekly/monthly discounts. We can sometimes do airport pick up/drop off, just ask! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your San Juan Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing