We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great idea, but the show needs to be updated”
Review of Main Street Auditorium - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Main Street Auditorium
Attraction details
denver, co
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great idea, but the show needs to be updated”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Loved the little theatre, and was excited for the picture show explaining the area and set to music. Was disappointed because it sounded raspy, like a speaker was broken. So the voice explaining things sounded gravely. Hope they fix it soon. And we saw scenery in the area that was outstanding, and was hoping to see more of that on the screen. There were too many "dead and blurry" spots on the screen, I guess they were striving for poetic thought? Not bad for the price, but would like to see a little improvement.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank kathyred9824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    3
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montrose, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“San Juan Odyssey was a trip down memory lane!”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Perhaps one needs to be from the San Juans and to have known people like Kuboske's daughter (she was my dorm mom decades ago) to fully appreciate this film. I liked how they played the old tunes at the beginning - I always loved the one about Joe and the Milky Way but had somehow forgotten that this took place in our own Black Canyon. The film showed some great local country and brought to mind the theme between many of the songs - the plow drivers of Red Mountain, for instance. It was cool to see Ouray through CW McCall's eyes. I do wish the definition was higher. I felt like something was lost because the pictures were not as dynamic as our eyes have grown accustom to in these high tech days. I loved the theater!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A fun place for movies!”
Reviewed 3 June 2012

They were showing movies by C W McCall. He was famous in the 70's. I like him, you will. Too.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank P P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“San Juan Odyssey was a disappointment.”
Reviewed 8 September 2011

This was probably good 20 years ago. The theater is charming and the couple that run the theater are very nice. But once the "production" starts it is all down hill (pun intended). The production (music and video) are old, just old and faded and not interesting. Ticket prices should be from 1986 - not worth $8.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank MaKMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Main Street Auditorium also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing