We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't expect spa elegance” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wiesbaden Hot Springs Spa & Lodgings

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ouray
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wiesbaden Hot Springs Spa & Lodgings
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Ouray
Certificate of Excellence
Hesperus, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't expect spa elegance”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2008

We just stayed 2 days over labor day weekend at the Wiesbaden. We had to stay in the double bed room as all others were booked before we called for reservations. By the time lodging taxes were added on, our room was over $140.00 per night. The room was very, very tiny. No closet, just a metal rack on the wall to hang clothes, towels from the pool, etc. There is no central air so we kept our window open at all times but it was VERY stuffy in our room. The sink was in the bedroom with a mirror over it. The bathroom was small with a shower stall and toilet. The carpet was the worst I have ever seen in a place that touts itself as a spa. I would not even stay in a $50.00 a night room if it had carpet like that. Totally worn out. The bed was very hard. Also, they do have 13 inch TV's in each room. Ours was on a small stand in a corner at the foot of the bed. We found some books to put under the TV so it would be high enough to see over our own feet as we lay in bed (the only place to get since there is no room any where else for one's body). Our suitcase sat on the small straight backed chair right in front of the door to the bathroom.
The pool was wonderful. The vapor caves must be great, but we did not partake as we didn't want to get that hot.
Be warned that they do let people in who just want to pay for the pool so you will get people with children as long as they are over 5 yrs. of age.
This whole place is very tired and worn looking and the lobby gives the appearance of just being too crowded and small. Dark wood in the lobby areas which some people like; I just don't. But if you want quiet, it is that for sure. It is what I would call adequate (except for the carpet) but it is way overpriced for what it has to offer.

  • Liked — The pool and quiet
  • Disliked — Too old and stuffy and tiny room
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Odeliasimone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    55
    10
    12
    13
See reviews for
20
101
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Caldwell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2008

My wife and I just spent two nights at this property and enjoyed our stay tremendously. We were in the Sunroom ($200/night) and although I think it was a little overpriced for the facilities provided, the experience was very pleasurable. We loved the comfortable king-sized bed in the Sunroom and the furnishings were extremely tasteful. It was very evident that substantial work was done to this room within the past year (new wood work, renovated bathroom, etc) so earlier negative reports may not be valid today.

After reading some other reviews on this site (after having sent my deposit in), I was fearful that I'd made a mistake, but my fears were unfounded. Linda (the owner) was very friendly to us and made sure our stay was pleasurable. The only two downsides I could think of is there was no air conditioning and the piano was out of tune <grin>. I found the vapor cave too hot for my tastes, but that's a personal preference. If you're a fan of wet saunas, you'd probably be in heaven down there. The outdoor pool, on the other hand, is heaven-on-earth, especially in the cool Ouray summer-evening air.

I will qualify my review by saying this property is not a business-class corporate hotel. This is an 1879-era property whose room sizes and corridors, etc, are much smaller than you'll find in today's ADA-compliant hotels and motels. WiFi access was great to my wife's Mac, but my PC wasn't able to connect--but really, if you're on vacation in Ouray, what on earth do you need the Internet for?!

We *will* be back!

  • Liked — Comfortable bed, tasteful
  • Disliked — WiFi could be stronger
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NM
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2008

We booked the hotel at $200 a night. expecting that value, we arrived and after being given a list of how we would be charged extra for about 12 infractions, we were taken aback. Then to check in with the most unfriendly, unwelcoming manager who proceeded to keep admonishing us that we couldn't smoke. We told her we were non smokers and she continued to berate us. We were given robes, and when asked if they had larger robes, were told no, that most normal people fit in the robes and we didn't have to use them. No shampoo or soap in the bathrooms, but we could BUY some. Tried to set up a spa massage only to find they had 1 person and she was booked. Each time I entered the office area to buy cokes or whatever, I was greeted with a glare and no comments to me at all. Bed was so hard we had a backache each night and finally left early. It was a horrible place. Would NEVER go back.

1. list of infractions we'd be charged extra for given at check in
2. Lectures over and over again on smoking (we are non-smokers)
3. unfriendly unwelcoming management
4. No shampoo or soap in bathrooms
5. hard beds resulting in backaches

  • Liked — grounds were very pretty
  • Disliked — unfriendly staff, hard beds
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank 1redroseNm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montrose, CO
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2008

My husband and I "found" this place in 1987 and typically stayed here once a year. It used to be a fun, laid back place for us to visit. Our last stay was in 2005 - we booked the cabin up on the hill behind the main lodge. We paid approx. $200.00 +/-. It's so "rustic" that bugs kept falling out of the exposed-beam roof onto our bed, the shower etc. Yuck. No complimentary shampoo/conditioner/lotion in the bathroom but they'll gladly sell you some quality spa products in the lobby.

But that's only part of the reason we no longer stay at the Wiesbaden. We've found that the owner/manager/employees are too full of themselves. Perhaps its because they were briefly mentioned in a national travel magazine a few years ago...?

The last few years we were met with a ho-hum attitude at check-in and check out. I got the sense the owner/manager could care less about our visit..we were just another payment to them. We were given a list of rules when the reservation was made about the deposit, cancellation refund, payment, pets, how late the pool can be used etc. (Note: if you are a smoker, even if you don't smoke at the hotel, they will not let you stay). The rooms are tired and small, the lobby is tired. We do love and miss the outdoor pool, but it's not worth the over inflated price and dismal owner/management/employee attitude.

  • Liked — We miss the outdoor pool
  • Disliked — Owner/manager/employee list of rules and ho-hum attitude
  • Stayed August 2005, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank fortfungrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montrose, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2007

At three in the morning my husband and I both found ourselves still unable to get comfortable on the rock hard bed we paid $140 to sleep on. Since we live only 40 miles away, we decided to go home and get some sleep. Rather than wake up the staff to complain, I decided to call on Monday and speak to the manager about it. I was very, very disappointed with the response I got. The manager informed me I should have called the number at the front desk at three in the morning rather than quietly leave and try to sort it out later. Since I didn't do that, she said the problem was all mine and there was nothing she could be expected to do for me. She assured me she had NEVER had a single complaint about the beds and suggested that somehow my husband and I must have gotten to feeling poorly in the night. I found her to be rude and abrasive. We will continue to enjoy the cave and the pool...however...we will never spend another night there and would not recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Terrymark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coconino County, AZ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2006

No maintenance, no updating, and an unfriendly staff. For $179 a night, be prepared for something that would be overpriced at $39. This place is a toilet! AND a fire trap. The only heat source is an electric space heater (that wouldn't stay plugged in because the wall plugs are all so worn that electric cord prongs fall out of them.) Thank goodness the gas baseboard heaters weren't working because the ancient, limp curtains hang right down against the gas heaters. An open breaker box is on the wall above the sink. (So, if the place doesn't burn down around you, maybe you'll get electricuted.) The walls are cracked, the bedding is so old the sheets are nearly transparent, the window sills are rotted out. AND, the staff is unfriendly. I had an emergency at work and needed to communicate via email. The "Free Wi-Fi" was non-existant. I was told to take the laptop outside - still no Internet. Then told that the only place most people could get a connection was in the lobby - still nothing. The woman at the front desk didn't offer to let me use her desktop; she said, "Go downtown to the bagel shop. If you buy something, you can use theirs." It was closed and by that time I was angry so I finally was allowed to use the front desk computer to send one email. We go to Ouray at least twice a year and we've stayed at the China Clipper, the Beaumont, the St. Elmo, the Christmas House, as well as several of the regular motels and never had a bad experience but we'll NEVER, NEVER AGAIN STAY AT THIS PLACE!!!!

  • Liked — The massage was good and the therapist was very nice.
  • Disliked — Old, worn out place. Complete lack of maintenance.
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't go there!
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
21 Thank 2_From_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Payson
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2006

The inn was great, the hotspring cave was excellent. I wish we could have stayed longer and got to see more of Ouray. The only tiny problem was the room was a little small.

  • Liked — Hotspring
  • Disliked — small room
  • Tips/Secrets — Book the larger room
  • Stayed September 2004, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank birdhearder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.4 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.8 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
#8 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ouray Victorian Inn
Ouray Victorian Inn
#5 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.3 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#7 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.2 mi away
Matterhorn Motel
Matterhorn Motel
#10 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wiesbaden Hot Springs Spa & Lodgings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wiesbaden Hot Springs Spa & Lodgings

Property: Wiesbaden Hot Springs Spa & Lodgings
Address: 625 5th St, Sixth Ave. and Fifth St, Ouray, CO 81427
Region: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ouray
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nested in a quiet residential neighborhood, right in the center of downtown Ouray, the Wiesbaden Hot Springs Spa & Lodgings offers a wide variety of accommodations and features three different all natural continually flowing mineral hot springs on its premises: the famous Vaporcave, the outdoor swimming pool and the Lorelei, a privately enclosed outdoor spa. All our waters are continually flowing pure mineral springs, not altered with any chemicals or additives. All springs are open year around Guests of the Wiesbaden can enjoy unlimited use of the Vaporcave and the outdoor swimming pool at no extra charge. All rooms feature private bath, satellite TV, free WiFi, free local phone calls, spa robes and towels. There is a garden and a shared lounge. The property offers free parking. Wiesbaden features full range of massage and spa services. Guests of the lodge enjoy discounted rates on the spa services. Wiesbaden is a strictly non-smoking facility and we cannot accommodate anybody who uses tobacco products. Pet friendly accommodations are available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wiesbaden Hot Springs Spa & Lodgings Hotel Ouray
Wiesbaden Hot Springs Spa And Lodgings
Wiesbaden Hot Springs Ouray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing