We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“snobbish & pretentious/”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ouray
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wiesbaden Hot Springs Spa & Lodgings
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Ouray
Certificate of Excellence
whitewater colorado
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“snobbish & pretentious/”
Reviewed 2 March 2011

We have stayed at the W periodically, beginning in the early 1980's. It has undergone changes of ownership and management, and each turn it seemed that things changed for the worse. We hadn't been to the W for over 10 years, and at that time there was an air of pretentious spirituality. It was like all guest were expected to be serene and meditative or something. We were there with our kids to have fun! (Which we used to succeed at, at the W in previous visits).

This time: NOBODY is allowed to stay who has smoked for the PAST THREE MONTHS. I don't know about you, I wish for world peace and feel personally aggrieved when I learn of outrages against humanity anywhere in the world, but after a rigorous bike ride or run around town, I like to sit on the balcony with a scotch and a cigar. Not any more, here. We'll go somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank tiburondelnorte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    57
    11
    13
    13
See reviews for
23
102
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hotchkiss, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2011

I prefer the units with doors to the outside. Atleast one inside rooms has no windows except for the bath. Faucilities are fabulous, both the public and private waters. The vapor caves are a must do. The Lorelei, a private pool is really great and romantic. One thing did make me nervous about the Lorelei, the low hanging electrical power line that is rubbing againts a tree. Reserve time for a massage! The staff is great. Very happy that this is a non-smoking spa/hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moparmesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2011

The vapor cave was excellent as was the massage both my husband and I received. The rooms were a bit small but I've stayed in smaller rooms in Southwest Colorado. It's an older building so small nuances are to be expected like a portable radiant heater in the room. We happened to stay at a very cold time but the springs did an excellent job of warming us up and the robes were great! We hope to return again!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HeatherLeavitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2010

Just returned from Ouray, CO, "Little Switzerland of America" which is a tiny gem of a town and a fantastic stay at the Wiesbaden Hot Springs Motel. The only reason i did not give it excellent marks in rooms is that the rooms are a bit on the small side. But they are beautifully appointed and every room is a bit different. For me and my friends it was no problem as we spent all our waking hours in the hot springs or eating! (Several great places to eat, a bit surprising for such a small town.) But some people like large hotel rooms. The best part is the overall charm of the Motel, the gracious staff, including the owner Linda Wright-Minter, and of course the fabulous Vapor Cave (in essence a mineral steam bath) and the two on-sight hot springs that are available almost 24/7. They have an Aveda salon on site for massage, facials and other spa treatments. If you are ever even an hour away from this location i strongly recommend a detour to this little piece of heaven!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tutuandtutu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2010

We stumbled upon this wonderful gem after the Ouray Hotel gave away our less expensive room to another guest (apparently a credit card wasn't enough for them). We were very lucky to find one room available here in the Wiesbaden Lodge as it was very late and raining when we arrived, with many no-vacancies in town, and what a serendipitous finding it was!

The lobby was a beautiful decorated alpine-windowed room to hang out in (coffee, teas and mugs available 24-7 and free wifi), and our room was BEAUTIFUL, not like a hotel room at all, decorated with traditional furnishings, china teacups, paintings of cats and beautiful bedding. It was just darling and well cared for. We stayed in a different room on the second night which had a very convenient pantry with a refrigerator. This room was also quite nice.

Included in the price was full access to the vapor cave that lies under the hotel, with a shallow 109 degree hot pool. There was also an outdoor hot spring swimming pool that ran about 103 degrees. So Luxurious. We did not take advantage of the private "Lorelai" hot pool but plan to do so next time.

The staff was very friendly and attentive, and made our stay very pleasant indeed. We didn't even make it to the Ouray City-owned public Hot Springs as we'd intended as we had it all, right in our own hotel.

This would be a very lovely and romantic getaway in the winter, too.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank K80NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

The rooms are terrible. They look like my dead great aunt decorated the place with the worst used floral furniture she could find. The bed was so uncomfortable it threw my back out. That's why they have the hot pool, to fix your back after the horrible beds! The staff is rude, the whole place is worn and icky, not a nice spa experience. Go to the Beaumont instead.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Ucame2CaShow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2010

A great place to get away from life's hassles. Delinda, the lady checking us in, was very knowledgable, helpful, and truly made us feel welcomed. A wonderful retreat it was.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brooklynn33514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.8 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
904 reviews
0.4 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#12 of 15 in Ouray
234 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ouray Inn
Ouray Inn
#6 of 15 in Ouray
126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Matterhorn Motel
Matterhorn Motel
#10 of 15 in Ouray
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wiesbaden Hot Springs Spa & Lodgings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wiesbaden Hot Springs Spa & Lodgings

Property: Wiesbaden Hot Springs Spa & Lodgings
Address: 625 5th St, Sixth Ave. and Fifth St, Ouray, CO 81427
Region: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ouray
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nested in a quiet residential neighborhood, right in the center of downtown Ouray, the Wiesbaden Hot Springs Spa & Lodgings offers a wide variety of accommodations and features three different all natural continually flowing mineral hot springs on its premises: the famous Vaporcave, the outdoor swimming pool and the Lorelei, a privately enclosed outdoor spa. All our waters are continually flowing pure mineral springs, not altered with any chemicals or additives. All springs are open year around Guests of the Wiesbaden can enjoy unlimited use of the Vaporcave and the outdoor swimming pool at no extra charge. All rooms feature private bath, satellite TV, free WiFi, free local phone calls, spa robes and towels. There is a garden and a shared lounge. The property offers free parking. Wiesbaden features full range of massage and spa services. Guests of the lodge enjoy discounted rates on the spa services. Wiesbaden is a strictly non-smoking facility and we cannot accommodate anybody who uses tobacco products. Pet friendly accommodations are available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wiesbaden Hot Springs Spa & Lodgings Hotel Ouray
Wiesbaden Hot Springs Spa And Lodgings
Wiesbaden Hot Springs Ouray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing