We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I would never leave!”
Review of Ouray Chalet Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ouray Chalet Inn
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Ouray
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“I would never leave!”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Aside from the fact that Ouray is just one of those places that captures you and won't let go, this hotel in the heart of town is just a GEM! Amenities in all rooms include sample size everything, from granola bars to toothpaste. Extremely clean and well kept, the intercom radio (that you can switch on or off at wish), broadcasts standard classics adding to the super relaxed feeling that is Ouray!

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCAlfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    143
    38
    10
    1
See reviews for
88
164
41
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed 2 nights in this lovely motel. The staff went out of their way to be helpful answering all our many questions and even helping me to send some very important legal documents. Our room 108 had great views from all windows and the motel is within walking distance of the many shops and restaurants being on the road through town. The room was very clean and freshly painted and the beds were very comfortable. Coffee was available in the room and also in reception. Ouray is a great place to stay as there are easy walks around the town and Box Canyon is a must see. The drive from Ouray down to Durango is spectacular if a bit scary! Thank you again Lora and Barb in reception we wish we could have stayed longer

Room Tip: Rooms facing the road have views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MST52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumont, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

When you have traveled several thousand miles to see Yellowstone and other National Parks and monuments to find that our government has closed them because they don't know how to do their job, you say where can one go that is open, and you will be treated with kindness and respect? The answer is simple; Ouray, Colorado and stay at the Ouray Chalet Inn! Well, if it is so great why don't you give it an Excellent rating? I would give them the highest-plus rating, but some readers want a new facility. The Chalet Inn is not new, but it is sparkling clean, has very comfortable rooms! It is located right in the heart of Ouray and has easy access to all activities, if that is hiking up a trail to see a waterfall or just sitting in a patio chair taking in the"Swiss Alps" kind of scenery. Now the kindness and respect part really stands out! From Lora, the Inn's owner to the cleaning staff you will find no place any friendlier. I always make it a point to stay there when in the western part of Colorado. The price is very affordable and worth every penny.

Room Tip: No pool just a hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoHo1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

My husband, son and I stayed here and it was very affordable which was great. We had a bottom level room so another plus...no stairs to walk up and down. There were two ladies that we dealt with in the office. Both were friendly but the younger of the two went beyond the call of duty to help us out. We liked her quite a bit.

We did have one glitch during our stay which was the hot water situation. The first morning we tried to take a shower and it was so cold we thought it was straight out of the mountains. It eventually did "warm" up enough to take a quick shower but definitely not what we are used to. I let the lady in the office know and she said they had never had any complaints of that sort which was good, and bad. I hate being the first to have a problem. She suggested it might have been a city wide problem but no other guests complained and our friends at Twin Peaks had abundant hot water.

The next day we had a repeat of the problem...except it was scalding hot for about two minutes followed by frigid water for the next two. We gave up on the showering thing since we were only there for one more day.

The rooms are very basic although ours did have a mini fridge which was great! The shampoo bottles weren't replenished the first day but were the second. The room was difficult to get a temp control setting since they use the footboard heater things...which actually worked out great because we had VERY wet hiking boots that needed drying. Otherwise we broiled until we opened both windows to create a crossbreeze.

As far as location, you couldn't ask for a better spot. It's in the middle of everything. We were right around the corner from all the little shops and some eateries as well as a super short drive to the Lower Cascade Falls.

If we go back, we will probably stay in a different hotel that has access to the hot springs for free. It's too expensive to pay for three people day after day.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level Contributor
132 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The best thing going for this property is the great Lady at reception and it's central location (not that Ouray is all that big).

Arrived at this property in downtown Ouray after a long day of driving. The greeting from the very nice and most helpful Lady at the reception desk was very welcome. She provided great recommendations for drinks and dinner.

The room was adequate: very, sort of, 1950's in a good way. The room even had piped in music: when was the last time you experienced that? (A turn of a knob shut that off). The sink was very slow to drain; there was quite the unsightly stain on the top sheet of my bed. The bathroom amenities were very basic. The bath towels very soft and of good size. The bed and pillows were comfortable, providing a good night's sleep The WIFI was fine.

The location of this property is great: right on the main street, easy walking distance to most bars and restaurants.

Very good chance I would stay at this property again when in this beautiful part of Colorado.

Room Tip: Being on the main street noise is a bit of an issue. I had a second floor room and recommend that. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denniskeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntley, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed at the Ouray Chalet Inn for two nights while on a Road Scholar tour of Colorado's Historic trains. Comfortable, convenient, close to major shops, dining, etc. Best of all, it's family owned so the owners are responsive to your every need. Scenery is spectacular as it is in the part of the San Juan mountains known as "Little Switzerland". One of the appreciated amenities is
The Free fast and reliable Wi-Fi. We enjoyed our stay there

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rrmr62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I had seen good reviews of this motel before our recent visit so we made straight for it on our arrival in Ouray. We found a lovely spacious comfortable room and the price was very competitive. Unfortunately it was raining...as it does in the mountains...but being so close to all restaurants this was not a problem. Lovely stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mansell1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.8 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
0.2 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
#8 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ouray Victorian Inn
Ouray Victorian Inn
#6 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.1 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#7 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ouray Chalet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ouray Chalet Inn

Property: Ouray Chalet Inn
Address: 510 Main Street, PO Box 544, Ouray, CO 81427
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Ouray
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ouray Chalet Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When choosing a Ouray Hotel, you have many options. The best choice is the one that gives you local, family-owned hospitality combined with centralized access to our unmatched outdoor lifestyle. We are conveniently located within walking distance to the local social life, shopping, entertainment, and the dining experience of this small western town. Ouray Chalet Inn is your best choice. Amenities, Parking & Convenience are the three "have-to's" for most travelers. Ouray Chalet Inn offers all three. Our commitment to our guests is to ensure that you made the best choice for a Ouray Hotel. Our amenities include, WIFI, in-room refrigerator and microwave, and satellite TV. We are located directly on Main Street, and offer Free Onsite Parking, and are only walking steps away from local stores, dining, shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ouray Chalet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ouray Chalet Hotel
Ouray Chalet Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing