We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just About Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ouray Chalet Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ouray Chalet Inn
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Ouray
Certificate of Excellence
Bountiful, Utah
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Just About Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

The Ouray Chalet has been there since, I believe, 1971, but it well maintained and obviously updated. The main street location is about as good as it gets with restaurants practically next store and every thing else in town well within walking distance. Our off season rate was great and the summer rates looked to be very reasonable, but better have a reservation! Can't say enough good things about the owner and staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    143
    38
    10
    1
See reviews for
87
162
41
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
283 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The view from the rooms is breathtaking. Very clean room, great prices. The staff was more thank wonderful. We drink a lot of coffee and the staff brought us up a basket of coffee, creamers and sugar. This is a place you will want to stay a few days. Great little town with a big view.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michael m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed at Ouray Chalet Inn in August 2013. The room was large and clean and quiet, and close to the hot tub. We were going to head over to the hot springs, which we needed to drive to and pay $12 per person, and decided to stay and use the hot tub at the hotel instead. What a beautiful view from there. We enjoyed the little town of Ouray, lots of cute little shops and plenty of choices in the food department. WE would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaPNaperville_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tijeras, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Love it! The ladies at the desk were very welcoming and friendly. Room was well-appointed, clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the 360-degree mountain views from the hot tub. Walked all around town, then had tacos and yummy, yummy green chile stew at Buen Tiempo across the street. Highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: We stayed on the second-floor above the office. I can't imagine any of these rooms aren't go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Very clean large rooms. Large comfortable beds. Nice helpful staff. Hot tub and special amenities. Right down town. Near the shops and dining. I would highly recommend this hotel. The price is very reasonable and the location is great

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Schwenke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
92 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Second time here in two years. Said hello to the cat at reception. Staff friendly and helpful. Told me about a walk (bear) with superb views and cliff edge walking. Room was very nice and individual. The spa has to have one of the best views I can recall from a hot tub. Stayed two nights in the end as this is a great little town. The views of Telluride without emptying your wallet.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stvjyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

The Ouray Chalet Inn is located in the center of town and is accessible to all eating and drinking in Ouray. It is convenient to the Ice Park, but you have to drive (very short drive). The staff is closely connected to the ice climbing community and area guides and have very up to date beta on local ice climbs (I mean daily/hourly beta!) The staff is also very open and friendly and treats strangers like compatriots. The room was very clean and looked like it had been renovated and updated. The bed was comfortable and not too soft or too hard. It was quiet and the hot tub was nice. There was a wall blow dryer that worked great and the toiletries were: regular hotel conditioning shampoo that works great for short to medium length hair or wavy long hair, bar facial soap, and bar body soap, regular body lotion. It was all regular business hotel stuff. This hotel is very nice for the price and a great deal in Ouray, worth the money for a slightly longer commute to the Ice Park than the more expensive hotels, but close to Mouse's!!!

Room Tip: swimming pool meaning hot tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooke I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.8 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
0.2 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
#8 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ouray Victorian Inn
Ouray Victorian Inn
#6 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.1 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#7 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ouray Chalet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ouray Chalet Inn

Property: Ouray Chalet Inn
Address: 510 Main Street, PO Box 544, Ouray, CO 81427
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Ouray
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ouray Chalet Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When choosing a Ouray Hotel, you have many options. The best choice is the one that gives you local, family-owned hospitality combined with centralized access to our unmatched outdoor lifestyle. We are conveniently located within walking distance to the local social life, shopping, entertainment, and the dining experience of this small western town. Ouray Chalet Inn is your best choice. Amenities, Parking & Convenience are the three "have-to's" for most travelers. Ouray Chalet Inn offers all three. Our commitment to our guests is to ensure that you made the best choice for a Ouray Hotel. Our amenities include, WIFI, in-room refrigerator and microwave, and satellite TV. We are located directly on Main Street, and offer Free Onsite Parking, and are only walking steps away from local stores, dining, shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ouray Chalet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ouray Chalet Hotel
Ouray Chalet Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing