We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why do it the typical "ourWAY, when you can do it " OURay"!”
Review of River's Edge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
River's Edge Motel
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Ouray
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Why do it the typical "ourWAY, when you can do it " OURay"!”
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Wow! Two nights, very clean, friendly, accomodating, ATTENTION to detail! I read several reviews, and agree with EVERYTHING that was said POSITIVE!, the ONLY regret and problem with the R-E Motel, is, we were'nt able to STAY there longer! Beautiful grounds, and would say ( without staying at the others), that this is the best choice! For many reasons, I mean, THIS PLACE is what Ouray is about! When me and my wife go back, we plan on bringing others with us, and even though You go to places like this to see, and do other things, it's nice to stay at a place that over delivers, and makes You want to go back at the end of the day,... and happy You're there, when You wake up....NOW, Breakfast!! They have something for everyone, AND, even outdoor sitting areas, if You just want to enjoy the beauty... Did I mention YOU'RE by the RIVER!!!! If You're going to Ouray, don't look at the price You're paying to be somewhere else... LOOK AT THE PRICE YOU'LL PAY, IF YOU DON'T STAY HERE!!! These guys care about YOU...! Bottom line, on a scale of 1-10, they are an 8--- You see, a 9 would be living there Year- round, and a 10 would be HEAVEN! ---It's as close as You'll get............ Ben Garcia - Sept 21-22 stay

Room Tip: Just listen to what they recommend... they will guide You in the right direction...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    97
    16
    7
    11
See reviews for
117
245
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We stayed here a week in late August and look forward to staying at Rivers Edge again next year. There is no better location in Ouray. You are one block from beautiful downtown Ouray, yet the grounds are quiet with only sounds of the river rushing outside your window. The grounds are absolutely gorgeous with lots of lush plants and flowers. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. Don't expect luxurious, but do expect a spotless, well-kept room, with attention to important details - i.e., coffee maker, microwave, good showerhead with good water pressure, television, internet. Had we not had reservations in Montana, we would have stayed another week! One pleasant surprise was the great continental breakfast. We are accustomed to the continental breakfast served in most chain hotels - you will get so much better here! Freshly baked, warm chocolate chip cookes, boiled eggs, waffles, and good selection of breads, juices, condiments were worth getting up for. The pleasant breakfast room next to the office was also a great place to meet other guests and compare notes on adventures in the area, restaurants, etc. The most gracious hosts, Chad and Dave, were always on hand to answer questions about the area. They live on-site and are willing to do whatever is needed to make a guest's stay perfect. They even have a washer and dryer on the premises for guest use, and also a hot tub. What more could you need?

Room Tip: Room #30 is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharronak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We had a clean, quiet, and comfortable room upstairs. Enjoyed sitting by the river. It was so peaceful after a day of travel or hiking. The motel is located within easy walking distance to food and shopping but secluded from traffic noise. The friendly owners are on site and are readily available for questions/recommendations. And who would complain about freshly baked chocolate chip cookies for breakfast? We extended our stay and were glad we did.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We stayed here for three nights. I give this hotel an overall great score because overall it was a great choice for hotel. The only two complaints I have are that they have wireless internet, but it is not IPad compatible, which I've never heard of Secondly, we were on the bottom floor and it was a little noisey from the upstairs rooms. I loved the sound of the creek/river flowing with our window open. We will definitely stay here our next visit to Ouray.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anitad364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

A group of us stayed at Rivers Edge this past June and we all thoroughly enjoyed it. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and the grounds and flowers are beautiful - the landscaping is amazing. Sitting in the hot tub by the creek with a cup of coffee - heaven! The inn keepers were friendly and super helpful; they treated us almost like family. The rates were better than most hotels in Ouray and the location is very central to all activities in town. The complimentary breakfast was pretty typical of most hotel's offerings although the host did bring us fresh baked cookies, yum! By all means, stay here!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmrchk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
highlands ranch, co
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We rented three rooms at the River's Edge Hotel last May. The rooms are quite large with a back area with two queen (?) beds, a half wall and a front area with a couch, small table with a microwave on it, and a couple of small table chairs. There is also a small desk and a larger (dorm style) refrigerator. The accommodations are dated/older but well kept. There is a deck that runs on both sides of the buildings. The back area is especially nice to sit on.
The property certainly is named correctly as it is on the River's Edge. Colorado had HIGH rivers this year so it was awesome to have it roaring by. The property also has a hot tub for you to enjoy. It wasn't in the best shape but it is probably hard to maintain a hot tub that is so used and in the harsh mountain weather. We still enjoyed it.
They offer a continental breakfast (incl a waffle station) that was fine.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We just finished segment 24 of the Colorado trail and chose Rivers Edge Motel.
It would be a 3 star.
We gave them cash for our room, yet for precautions they needed my debit card. Not a problem, no charges would be made they assured me.
A week later I looked at my business account with overdrafts coming through because of a charge from Rivers Edge Motel.
After arguing and blaming the credit card company, and telling me they had no proof of the cash (which felt as though they were calling me a lier) they refunded the money. But not the overdraft fees.
I will never return here. Which is to bad. It had potential to be on the list of places to stay again.
There breakfast is great if you are a non organic person.
Something funny going on here.
Not how I wanted to arrive home after a week of letting go.

Room Tip: lower rooms noisy, you can hear feet above
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Willow R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.6 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
0.3 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.3 mi away
Ouray Victorian Inn
Ouray Victorian Inn
#6 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#7 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ouray Inn
Ouray Inn
#8 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River's Edge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River's Edge Motel

Property: River's Edge Motel
Address: 100 7th Ave, Ouray, CO 81427
Region: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ouray
#6 Family Hotel in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — River's Edge Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
QUIET PEACEFUL CONVENIENT Located on the banks of the uncompaghre river, among towering trees and fresh crisp mountain air, our motel and lodge boasts great accommodations, affordable prices, scenic mountain views and one acre of manicured gardens and landscape. Our Ouray Colorado hotel on the Uncompaghre River is located 1.5 blocks from Ouray's historic downtown. Our resort style accommodations are within walking distance of all shops, restaurants, attractions and the cites hot springs pool. The Ouray Ice Park and the well-known Ouray Box Canyon Falls are also a short distance from your stay here at the Rivers Edge Motel. End your day here at your "home away form home." Bask in our hot tubs or relax on our river patio. Come home to the Rivers Edge. Slumber to sleep with the symphony of the rivers song. Imagine life so good, it can't get any better. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your River's Edge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivers Edge Hotel Ouray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing