We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Motel at a Reasonable Price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of River's Edge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
River's Edge Motel
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Ouray
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level Contributor
50 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice Motel at a Reasonable Price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

Stayed here for two nights in May 2013. Property is next to the Uncompahgre River. The grounds are inviting and well maintained, with lawn, tables and chairs (and do-it-yourself barbeque stations) and hot tub. Rooms are in two blocks around a parking lot. Room entry is from an outside corridor, and the large window in the room faces that corridor and parking lot (if you are on a first floor room, you may not have a lot of privacy if you leave the curtains open). There is another small window in the room facing behind the property. We had a king room, which was spacious and had nice furnishings and a comfortable bed, coffee maker, mini fridge and microwave. Vanity was in the room instead of in the bathroom. Free wifi. Breakfast was a carbfest (would have appreciated some protein and dairy). Proprietors have put a lot of TLC into this property and it shows. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hrza04a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    96
    16
    7
    10
See reviews for
116
240
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

Love...Love...Love The River's Edge. We just stayed one night in Ouray, we usually stay at Box Canyon, but lucky for us they were booked. What a pleasant surprise River's Edge was. Fantastic location, very clean and amazing grounds. The owners were very friendly as well! We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marleymu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omak, Washington
Level Contributor
207 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

After checking around for a motel we came to River's Edge and was very pleased with the choice. We were offered a choice of several rooms and chose the upstairs with 2 Queen Beds. Very comfortable bed with lots of pillows. Plenty of room with microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker. Breakfast was everything we needed with waffles. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would definitely return to this well run Motel if ever in Ouray again. A very short walk to main street and was nice to hear the river running right outside the room.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JERRYG448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

Where to start....? Our hotel room was IMMACULATE! We only stayed 2 days and wow! You can tell the guys who run this place keep a tight ship and it is a labor of LOVE! We visited in April and as a Colorado gardener I KNOW this hotel's grounds are going to be STUNNING come the summer season! I can't wait to come back! The folks who run this place are super friendly and really define the words "hospitality" This hotel is 5 STAR service with a 2 star price- thanks guys! Our stay was awesome!

Room Tip: Hot tub on site, near downtown., no pool but beautiful riverfront are! really clean rooms- great hos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bisbee25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

The rate was excellent and the accommodations were very nice. This was my first stay at the Rivers Edge, I was very impressed with the value. The staff was very helpful. The accommodations were spacious and clean. The location is very good, although it is hard to not have a good location in Ouray! I recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 334JamesT334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Junction, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

Beautiful location in the center of town. Close to everything, yet quiet and relaxing. Nice rooms with great features. Very clean, well maintained and charming. The staff is awesome. Friendly and informative with knowledge of the area. Hot Tub to relax and star gaze! Will return.

Room Tip: End rooms by the river are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TACGUY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

I spend lots of weekends in the beautiful town of Ouray Colorado. It so happened that our favorite hotel was closed for a scheduled maintenance as they do every March. I jumped on TripAdvisor and found the Rivers Edge Hotel, In Ouray. They were offering a very reasonable rate for the the two nights we had planned so I went for it, we arrived early for check in just in case it was not to our liking we could move on to another place. The owners Dave and Chad were at reception when I check in and the rest was history. Great service, a very nice place to stay, clean, well maintained and easy access and plenty of parking. The complementary breakfast we did not use but snuck in for a home made cookie. Yes we will stay there again, the guys were great and the hotel was great.

Room Tip: Great place to stay. Easy access to downtown, only a block away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank larrybennettgjco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.6 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
0.3 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.3 mi away
Ouray Victorian Inn
Ouray Victorian Inn
#5 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#7 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.1 mi away
Matterhorn Motel
Matterhorn Motel
#10 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
#8 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River's Edge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River's Edge Motel

Property: River's Edge Motel
Address: 100 7th Ave, Ouray, CO 81427
Region: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ouray
#6 Family Hotel in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — River's Edge Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
QUIET PEACEFUL CONVENIENT Located on the banks of the uncompaghre river, among towering trees and fresh crisp mountain air, our motel and lodge boasts great accommodations, affordable prices, scenic mountain views and one acre of manicured gardens and landscape. Our Ouray Colorado hotel on the Uncompaghre River is located 1.5 blocks from Ouray's historic downtown. Our resort style accommodations are within walking distance of all shops, restaurants, attractions and the cites hot springs pool. The Ouray Ice Park and the well-known Ouray Box Canyon Falls are also a short distance from your stay here at the Rivers Edge Motel. End your day here at your "home away form home." Bask in our hot tubs or relax on our river patio. Come home to the Rivers Edge. Slumber to sleep with the symphony of the rivers song. Imagine life so good, it can't get any better. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your River's Edge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivers Edge Hotel Ouray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing