We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Place to Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of River's Edge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
River's Edge Motel
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Ouray
Certificate of Excellence
Grimes, Iowa, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

If you are planning on staying in Ouray, I highly recommend the River's Edge Motel. My husband and I have stayed their twice, and the second time was even better than the first. The grounds are stunning. The owners make every guest feel welcome, including our dog.

The rooms are clean and comfortable, and there's really no comparison when it comes to the other hotel options in town. The location is great because it is a short walk to everything in town, and yet you're off the main highway for a quiet night's rest.

I have stayed in places twice as expensive that weren't half as nice. The owners, David and Chad, never seem to stop working, and their efforts show in a lovely place to stay in a lovely town. Stay at the River's Edge, you won't regret it.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west end are closer to the river, and you can hear the water rushing at night for a cal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    96
    16
    7
    10
See reviews for
116
240
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

We drove out of are way just to stay at the rivers edge motel in Ouray Co. The owners never quit working making you feel at home, The place is spotless and the grounds are filled with flowers right next to the river. It makes a nice place to grill out as they have a very nice patio for your enjoyment. We will be back again in the future.

Room Tip: stay as many days as you can, you will not be sorry
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klink1194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milton mills, nh
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

I stayed at the River's Edge the beginning of June for 3 nights after staying at another Ouray establishment that received good reviews on Trip Advisor. I wish I had stayed at the River's Edge the entire time! My room was charming and immaculate. The grounds are gorgeous. The setting by the Uncompahgre River is outstanding and within easy walking distance of everything. Your hosts are warm and friendly. It was tough to leave! I look forward to returning next summer.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabethbnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

Rolled in at 9:30 pm in a rainstorm and found this place. Our plan was to camp out but weather prevailed. They gave us a great last minute rate and a fantastic room on the upper floor with a full kitchen. The next morning we woke to the beautiful grounds and couldn't believe our luck, as we could not really appreciate the surroundings the night before. Right by the river, beautifully landscaped and super friendly folks. The location could not be better. Stay here!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EvergreenDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conroe
Level Contributor
60 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

We had never stayed here before, but after reading the other reviews and a great internet rate, we could not pass it up! We were in "AWE" over this place! I was expecting a regular room and instead got a small apartment. We go the room nearest the river and it was perfect, hearing the water, being able to sit outside on our little porch, whether it was the front porch or the back porch! The grounds are immaculate! Flowers blooming everywhere, we said we were in the Garden of Eden! Breakfast was good too. You could sit/eat at tables inside or outside. Make sure you meet Cody, the owners Bernese Mountain Dog, he is a huge bear full of life. Can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: Ask for room #30 or #31 (forgot which one) nearest the running river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SherrillHooker26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

We had no plans to stay in Ouray more than a night on our way from Durango to Denver but the River's Edge motel changed that! From our very first encounter with Dave in the office to walking out the door 4 days later we had fallen in love with that beautiful little town and our experience in this exceptional motel. Dave met our every need from the impeccably clean and well furnished room, a delicious continental breakfast every morning and perfectly manicured grounds along the Uncompagre River complete with dueling hot tubs for those cool evenings! The best and most compelling reason for our return in 2014 is the service. When we wanted to hike, Dave or Chad had a suggestion and a map. When we wanted to eat they walked us to the best pizza in town and when our horseback ride had to be rescheduled they had it covered before we even knew it was off that day. I travel quite a bit and stay in 4 Star hotels...none of which even come close to the experience we had in a little mountain town in southwestern Colorado in a family owned and operated motel. By the way....the rate was so good I can't even mention it...but we stayed 3 nights with 3 boys and we felt like we won the lottery when we got the bill. My favorite little spot in my new favorite little town!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian-Sexton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

We stayed here in lieu of camping after being pushed indoors by unseasonably cool weather. The lodge abuts the Uncompahgre River, with the beautifully-manicured grounds and dual hot tubs right at the bank. The room was clean and homey, and the views from the common areas superb (typical of any lodging in Ouray), but the River's Edge is set apart by its extraordinary hospitality. I don't remember the names of the owners, but they were ubiquitous, exuding warmth and small-town charm at every opportunity. We will certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.6 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
0.3 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.3 mi away
Ouray Victorian Inn
Ouray Victorian Inn
#5 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#7 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ouray Inn
Ouray Inn
#9 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
#8 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River's Edge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River's Edge Motel

Property: River's Edge Motel
Address: 100 7th Ave, Ouray, CO 81427
Region: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ouray
#6 Family Hotel in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — River's Edge Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
QUIET PEACEFUL CONVENIENT Located on the banks of the uncompaghre river, among towering trees and fresh crisp mountain air, our motel and lodge boasts great accommodations, affordable prices, scenic mountain views and one acre of manicured gardens and landscape. Our Ouray Colorado hotel on the Uncompaghre River is located 1.5 blocks from Ouray's historic downtown. Our resort style accommodations are within walking distance of all shops, restaurants, attractions and the cites hot springs pool. The Ouray Ice Park and the well-known Ouray Box Canyon Falls are also a short distance from your stay here at the Rivers Edge Motel. End your day here at your "home away form home." Bask in our hot tubs or relax on our river patio. Come home to the Rivers Edge. Slumber to sleep with the symphony of the rivers song. Imagine life so good, it can't get any better. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de and Hotels.com so you can book your River's Edge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivers Edge Hotel Ouray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing