We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine but expected more”
Review of River's Edge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
River's Edge Motel
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Ouray
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Fine but expected more”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Based on all the positive reviews here, we set our expectations too high and were rather disappointed with our stay. We got to the motel around 5 pm on Saturday and the hosts were already gone with no one at the front desk but our keys and instructions in the envelope. We were leaving the next day early in the morning at 7 am so we never got to meet the hosts or have breakfast, which is served pretty late. The room itself was relatively spacious with a living room and a bedroom. The living room/kitchen area had a microwave and a fridge, though pretty old looking and we never figured out how to make the fridge work. There is free parking on the property, hot tub in the courtyard and free internet, which was extremely poor and slow with me barely getting one bar signal. On the plus side, the hotel is centrally located in downtown Ouray, within the walking distance to shops and restaurants - though considering how small Ouray is most hotels are- and close to hot springs swimming pool. It was ok stay for one night, but it felt really impersonal and I wish the internet was more reliable. Next time we are in Ouray, we'll try another place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merryl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chad37, Owner at River's Edge Motel, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Our reasonable room rates are based on the use of limited staff. This particular evening we were involved and volunteered at a charity event at the elks lodge here in ouray. The envelope that was left on the front desk included a phone number for assistance if needed. The room was western in styling. It was one of the rooms we receive rave reviews on. Is it contemporary, sleek, or uptown looking? No. It is here in the Western Rockies, and captures that charm. We have the most up to date WIFI available. Once in a while our location here in the mountains does interrupt good service. We are sorry that we did not get to meet these guests. Remember a phone call could have solved all of their problems. Thank you Dave and Chad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    101
    19
    8
    12
See reviews for
126
250
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
CT
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Our party of 5 plus 2 dogs had three rooms (two small rooms each with a single queen and a large room with kitchen, sitting area and two queens). In total, we spent a week at River's Edge. The rooms were clean and comfortable but Dave and Chad really make the stay enjoyable. They are wonderful hosts: very engaging and personable. The breakfasts include homemade cookies every morning (oatmeal with raisin, peanut butter, and chocolate chip). They are absolutely the best. On our next visit to Ouray, we will certainly return to the River's Edge.

Room Tip: Choose the large room with a kitchen or the end rooms nearest the Ouray River with the extra window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Once again my boyfriend & I went to Ouray on Oct. 4, 2013 and stayed 3 days. This is the best place to stay. Dave & Chad are very friendly and personable. The rooms are very clean & nice. Can't help heavy footed people and you can't blame Dave & Chad for that. The grounds are beautiful and the surroundings are just as beautiful. The hot tub is wonderful right at sun set with a little chill in the air and you sitting in a hot tub relaxing & watching the sun go behind the mountains.

Room Tip: I feel all the rooms are great rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Page, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We booked this based on an indirect recommendation, and it was everything we expected. The rooms were well appointed, bed very comfortable. We got the room next to the river, which would have been soothing if it had been warmer. Location was perfect - we could walk to the downtown and the best place to have dessert - Mouse's Chocolates. I see this as the first trip we make to Ouray and the River's Edge.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jodygnaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheboygan WI
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

For my 5th visit to Ouray and to Dave and Chad's property they continue to offer clean quiet rooms. After a day on the trails having a clean and quiet room to relax in is great. Fresh linens and comfortable beds get you ready for another day in the San Juan mountains.

Two clean hot tubs provide am amazing way to relax with the river mere feet away. The sound of rushing water as you relax in one of their hot tubs eases the sore muscles from the Jeep trails. This is the only Ouray hotel property ON the river.

The landscaping makes one feel as if you are in a vibrant garden. Colorful foliage is everywhere on the property. Just sitting outside with the flowers and river with the mountains in the background makes you realize why you took a vacation.

They are always asking you what they can do or what you may need. They both offer insightful advice on where to go to eat or explore the mountains.

The breakfast room offers a nice selection, I enjoyed the fresh made waffles and healthy breakfast options, although I did sneak a freshly made chocolate chip cookie now and then.

Although I left my dog a home they are very pet friendly. The room and grounds had no pet odor.

Despite some rainy weather the trip and lodging were fabulous. If you are looking for a clean, quiet hotel that stands apart stay at the Rivers Edge!

See you guys in 2014!!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms along the river and keep your windows open, The sounds of the river will g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fullerseth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We have been going to Ouray well over a decade and staying at the Rivers Edge because they were pet friendly. When Chad and Dave bought the motel 5 years ago it became a"home away from home". The rooms are comfortable, clean and accommodating. The owners, Dave and Chad, are so attentive and friendly, and they go above and beyond to make sure your stay is the best. Beautiful landscaping and views-we love it there and go every year.
Rolla C from Colorado Springs, Colo

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rolla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We visit Ouray every fall and always stay at the River's Edge Motel. We love the location - the motel is conveniently located within walking distance of main street and at the same time offers a beautiful, peaceful setting next to the river. The owners are fantastic - very attentive, friendly, and knowledgeable. We visit Ouray for various activities including biking, hiking, and jeeping and the owners always accommodate our needs - including offering us a secure location for our bicycles. The rooms are always very clean and we enjoy the convenience of having a refrigerator and a microwave. The breakfast is also very convenient, especially since there are not a lot of places to eat breakfast in Ouray. We also appreciate the ease of being a late arrival - our key is always available at the front desk regardless of our arrival time and we can check in the following morning.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.6 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
900 reviews
0.3 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge
Timber Ridge Lodge
#13 of 15 in Ouray
156 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#12 of 15 in Ouray
232 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ouray Inn
Ouray Inn
#6 of 15 in Ouray
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River's Edge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River's Edge Motel

Property: River's Edge Motel
Address: 100 7th Ave, Ouray, CO 81427
Region: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ouray
#6 Family Hotel in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — River's Edge Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
QUIET PEACEFUL CONVENIENT Located on the banks of the uncompaghre river, among towering trees and fresh crisp mountain air, our motel and lodge boasts great accommodations, affordable prices, scenic mountain views and one acre of manicured gardens and landscape. Our Ouray Colorado hotel on the Uncompaghre River is located 1.5 blocks from Ouray's historic downtown. Our resort style accommodations are within walking distance of all shops, restaurants, attractions and the cites hot springs pool. The Ouray Ice Park and the well-known Ouray Box Canyon Falls are also a short distance from your stay here at the Rivers Edge Motel. End your day here at your "home away form home." Bask in our hot tubs or relax on our river patio. Come home to the Rivers Edge. Slumber to sleep with the symphony of the rivers song. Imagine life so good, it can't get any better. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your River's Edge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivers Edge Hotel Ouray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing