We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In a tight spot, good stop”
Review of River's Edge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
River's Edge Motel
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Ouray
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

The Rivers Edge Motel is clean, with large rooms, refrigerator, cooktops, sunk and a babbling stream right outside to settle the nerves. 24 hot tub access with a modest sized, modest made continental breakfast included. Staff is nice and price is very good.

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank jcwbesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (503)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 503 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2014

Fantastic location for Ice Festival (and all summer adventures too). Rooms are clean, modern, well furnished (two queens and a pull out sofa, sleep 6), very well laid out, and looked after daily during the stay (cleaned, beds made, towels replaced, etc.). The motel is centrally located within Ouray (a beautiful 2 block stroll to the very middle of Main Street, with a toy store on the way, great for a walking adventure with kids to all Ouray Main Street attractions: e.g. the toy store, Mouse's Chocolates, Artisan Bakery, Ouray Mountain Sports, Bookstore, Leather store, etc.). The Motel is perfectly in the middle of town and two blocks off all the excitement of Main Street. You can hit Main Street when you want to, and then retire two blocks down to your quiet motel. The River's Edge Motel is also immediately adjacent to the river, which makes for fantastic walks along the River's Edge (we found/discovered deer tracks along the river in the snow at night - and tracked deer after each new snow nightly with headlamps - kids leading the way - through knee deep snow). Motel also has a hot tub (right next to the river), and serves a fantastic complimentary breakfast every morning (OJ, make your own waffles w butter/syrup, cereal, bagels, hard boiled eggs, toast, etc.). Owners also make their own chocolate chip cookies and peanut butter cookies (from scratch every morning, Owner's family recipe - they are rockin' good cookies) complimentary to guests. Dogs permitted/OK - with a small nominal cleaning fee (Dog park right next to hotel too). I've come here since 2004 for the Ice Festival - my favorite place to stay. In fact, I almost don't like writing such a good review - because I've found my own undiscovered "treasure" with this place - and don't want share it / create more competition. This place is the best, though!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Todd C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Great place to stay. Did all they could to ensure that all of our needs were met. Always had fresh towels available. Nice hot tub. Cool setting right by the creek. Fresh baked cookies with every breakfast!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drake K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chad37, Owner at River's Edge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dave and I want to thank you for the comment. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We can't until next year when you and your group arrive here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The hotel staff was friendly. Dave and Chad own and run the hotel and do all of the business, cleaning and maintenance themselves. They were available to us any time we needed something. Their breakfast was good and started at 7:30am. The room we stayed in was one of the smaller rooms but adequate for 2 people. It was cleaned everyday. Our only complaint was the noisy "ice climbers" who came in after the 10pm "quiet time" and were loud! Unfortunately there isn't much the owner's can do about it, so the earplugs the other two nights helped. I imagine it is a beautiful place in the spring and summer. We'll have to check that out soon!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindasV402FW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We took the kitchenette, which is good for early-morning outings because breakfast does not start until 8am. Hot tub is great for warming up after ice climbing days and the room heating is great to dry stuff for the next day. Coin-op laundry available. Only a block an a half from the mountain sports shop. Nice owners who also run the place. They would do better if the nooks and crannies would be dusted well.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Wendy11217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I've stayed here the last two times I've been to Ouray, and I won't stay anywhere else. Rooms are clean, owners are very nice, location is perfect, the sound of the river is a blessing. Couldn't ask for a more tranquil stay in Ouray.

Room Tip: Any room is fine, the closer to the river the more you'll hear it at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheOriginal007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This was our third stay at the lodge, but it was our first visit during autumn. We are repeat customers because the owners are always available on location or by phone and because of the proximity to the river. During the summer the grounds are absolutely beautiful with flowers in pots and baskets everywhere and landscaping by the river. The owners make improvements during the off-season so, even though the property has existed for some time, it is constantly being upgraded. I really appreciated the updated Wi-Fi this visit that provided constant service even though our room was at the riverside some distance from the office. Breakfast was provided each morning, but there was a refrigerator and microwave in he room had we wished to make use of them.

We made this trip to see the aspens in fall so we were completely surprised by 4 inches of snow the morning after we arrived. The ice and snow melted by noon that day, but we thoroughly enjoyed the transitory beauty it provided and the many photos we took of snowy peaks and snow-decked pines. There were fewer tourists in town in early October and many store owners were closed or closing for the season, but the beauty that surrounds this small town is enough to make the trip worthwhile.

Above all, the primary reason we will return is because of the owner-operators, Dave and Chad, who made us and other guests feel welcome and well-cared for. They always took the time to answer our questions about the area. IT is a 2 1/2 day trip to get to Ouray from our home so it is very important to us that, when we arrive there, we are expected and there are no problems. Colorado has many sites for tourists but we return primarily because of the environment provided by our hosts at River's Edge.

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of a river view, but all rooms have views of the mountains that surround the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlyn_Trussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.3 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.6 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
937 reviews
0.3 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#8 of 15 in Ouray
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#3 of 15 in Ouray
179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 15 in Ouray
251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Matterhorn Motel
Matterhorn Motel
#12 of 15 in Ouray
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River's Edge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River's Edge Motel

Address: 100 7th Ave, Ouray, CO 81427
Region: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ouray
#3 Family Hotel in Ouray
Price Range: £75 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — River's Edge Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
QUIET PEACEFUL CONVENIENT Located on the banks of the uncompaghre river, among towering trees and fresh crisp mountain air, our motel and lodge boasts great accommodations, affordable prices, scenic mountain views and one acre of manicured gardens and landscape. Our Ouray Colorado hotel on the Uncompaghre River is located 1.5 blocks from Ouray's historic downtown. Our resort style accommodations are within walking distance of all shops, restaurants, attractions and the cites hot springs pool. The Ouray Ice Park and the well-known Ouray Box Canyon Falls are also a short distance from your stay here at the Rivers Edge Motel. End your day here at your "home away form home." Bask in our hot tubs or relax on our river patio. Come home to the Rivers Edge. Slumber to sleep with the symphony of the rivers song. Imagine life so good, it can't get any better. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your River's Edge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivers Edge Hotel Ouray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing