We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of River's Edge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
River's Edge Motel
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Ouray
Certificate of Excellence
Carrollton, tx
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We haven't stayed in other Ouray lodging and picked River's Edge from the reviews. This place is quite a bargain, and the excellent reviews are warranted. I believe the owners stay on the property, and the grounds reflect their attention. The property sits next to the small, pretty river, and there are plenty of benches on the good looking lawn.

In a small touristy town like Ouray, parking can be a minor aggravation (nothing like the major pain that it is in Telluride or Santa Fe), and the River's Edge is located about a block from the main drag for all the shopping and dining. If you're a bit of a hiker, the Town's perimeter trail can be picked up across the river from the motel with a return right back to the property. If you are a day hiker, the perimeter trail is first rate.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    96
    16
    7
    10
See reviews for
116
240
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fountain, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

The River's Edge Motel in Ouray, Colorado is on a very pleasant location at the center of Ouray, two blocks West of the main road through town (highway 55). The hotel and grounds are pristeen clean and well cared for by the current purveyors, who have run the location for six years. I travel extensively for work and can confidently say that this Motel is an excellent value, especially for the price; check the other hotels and motels in the area and you will find much higher prices for significantly less quality and amenities... or maybe I should keep this reasonably priced gem to myself....

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank COtraveller_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waddell, Arizona
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

We decided to check into River's Edge Motel on a whim. Thank goodness we did. This was the best experience we've ever had with a motel. We lucked out and were given the last room available. What a fantastic room. It was the room located directly behind the office. The owner explained that it doubles as their residence during certain times of year. It was gorgeous. Roomy and comfortable. The grounds were lovely and welcoming. Lots of places to wander or sit and enjoy the view. The next morning before check out, we enjoyed a lovely breakfast provided by the owners. (And yummy fresh baked cookies!). The owners were so incredibly kind. We felt like they actually cared about us and our comfort. We HIGHLY recommend River's Edge.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rose V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
96 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Rivers Edge had one of the most scenic views in Ouray. The grounds are lushly landscaped right down to the rushing river which is so peaceful to listen to. We hope to keep coming back. Although the plumbing and electrical are antiquated, WiFi is available everywhere. It can be irritating trying to get the toilet to flush and I take a flashlight to help the dim lighting. But it is clean with gracious in-residence owners available all the time. Breakfast is delightful with incredible hot cookies to sum it up!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jts621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We were with oldest grandson and family to enjoy the hot springs in Ouray, found this motel last summer while staying at another well know motel that we felt was getting more expensive each year , we will stay here from now on and usually go up two to three times a year with family or friends, they have such a clean, beautiful well taken care of grounds and rooms were very clean,
enjoyed the breakfast also and rate was more than reasonable, thanks Rivers Edge Lodge for a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shreveport, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed at the Rivers Edge Lodge the first of June for three nights. e were exceptionally please with our room, the service and sitting beside the river and listening to the flow of the water! We also loved sitting at the fire that was lit every night for the benefit of the hotel guests. I would recommend this lodge to anyone I know who will be visiting Ouray!

Room Tip: If you have problems with climbing stairs make sure to get a ground floor room! It's only 2 stor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.6 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
0.3 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.3 mi away
Ouray Victorian Inn
Ouray Victorian Inn
#6 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.3 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#7 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ouray Inn
Ouray Inn
#10 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River's Edge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River's Edge Motel

Property: River's Edge Motel
Address: 100 7th Ave, Ouray, CO 81427
Region: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ouray
#6 Family Hotel in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — River's Edge Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
QUIET PEACEFUL CONVENIENT Located on the banks of the uncompaghre river, among towering trees and fresh crisp mountain air, our motel and lodge boasts great accommodations, affordable prices, scenic mountain views and one acre of manicured gardens and landscape. Our Ouray Colorado hotel on the Uncompaghre River is located 1.5 blocks from Ouray's historic downtown. Our resort style accommodations are within walking distance of all shops, restaurants, attractions and the cites hot springs pool. The Ouray Ice Park and the well-known Ouray Box Canyon Falls are also a short distance from your stay here at the Rivers Edge Motel. End your day here at your "home away form home." Bask in our hot tubs or relax on our river patio. Come home to the Rivers Edge. Slumber to sleep with the symphony of the rivers song. Imagine life so good, it can't get any better. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your River's Edge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivers Edge Hotel Ouray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing