We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and worth it”
Review of River's Edge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
River's Edge Motel
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Ouray
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2009

Just motoring around SW Colorado, booked this place for a couple of nights and would definitely do so again. Pet friendly (we didn't have one with us, but others did and it was OK), free parking, friendly owner, good price (about $100 for a king, whic was very comfortable).

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomhTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

484 - 490 of 502 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2009

We read all the reviews before stopping in Ouray. I admit, I was a little nervous it wouldn't be that great of a place. But I decided to give it a try. Wow, all I can say is that we wish we had planned to stay there longer then the two days at the end of our trip! First of all, the owners are terrific. They haven't owned the motel for long, but already they are making some wonderful improvements. The room we got is the largest with the kitchenette. It was clean and spacious. We were so amazed that we got such a nice room for such a low price. The property is located right on the river, which you hear when you are outside. The view of the mountains is amazing. Location is terrific, and the hot tub is great. We decided that next time, we are making this place our first stop and staying much longer! The writer who said a jewel in Ouray was right. Oh, and they are so good about having your dog. Gotta love that! I really felt welcome here and just wish all properties were run so well.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katiesmom1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2009

What a wonderful hotel. Rooms are very clean. I understand they have rooms with kitchenettes, however, we didn't require that so we took the king room. Very large with microwave, small refrigerater, TV, hot tub just outside overlooking the river. Plus, it's close to most everything. Owners really try to make your stay pleasant and comfortable. These are new owners and have a lot of terrific plans for the hotel's future. I'm very glad we stayed at this hotel and would certainly recommend it to everyone. We are planning another trip to Ouray in the future and Riversedge will be our hotel of choice.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cwWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2009

This is a great motel a couple of block off main street and right on the banks of the Uncompagre River. It was clean, spacious, and very well maintained. It is important to note that it has new ownership effective this spring so older reviews may not be valid anymore. The facility has several new "spruce up" projects to make it even better. The new owners checked with us several times as we came and went, to see if everything was OK. It is very pet friendly (even larger dogs) and the pets seemed to be liking it as much as their owners. We were traveling by motorcycle so it was nice that most of the parking is in a central, courtyard-type lot, off the street. This is typical of moderately priced owner-operated motels in Colorado. It gives you a real mountain experience in this historic mining town.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank llamaguy750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2009

We were there in off season, so it was very quiet. The room was spotless and very roomy with a very comfortable king size bed. They had a nice hot tub outside for guest use. The town itself is very small so everything is centrally located, lot's of restaurants and hikes very close by. It was nicely decorated and had a very rustic , homey feel, we really enjoyed our stay and would love to go back again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rawnyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2008

Booked this motel for 2 nights and it was very clean and nice. It was small, but had all we needed. Small kitchen had all the essentials and the staff was very accomodating. It was within walking distance of the main street.
Would stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DeerHunter3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2008

I came through Ouray on short notice and River's Edge was the one motel able to accommodate me. The name is actually one of the few truths in advertising I've ever encountered. The eponymous edge of the river was just a few feet from the door of my room. The spa was a nice treat that let me and my girlfriend enjoy the experience of a chilly Ouray night. Room was clean, not too cramped, came with a fridge. Great place to stay in Ouray.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank the_danilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.6 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
936 reviews
0.3 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge
Timber Ridge Lodge
#14 of 15 in Ouray
159 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#11 of 15 in Ouray
244 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ouray Victorian Inn
Ouray Victorian Inn
#5 of 15 in Ouray
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River's Edge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River's Edge Motel

Address: 100 7th Ave, Ouray, CO 81427
Region: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ouray
#6 Family Hotel in Ouray
Price Range: £54 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — River's Edge Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
QUIET PEACEFUL CONVENIENT Located on the banks of the uncompaghre river, among towering trees and fresh crisp mountain air, our motel and lodge boasts great accommodations, affordable prices, scenic mountain views and one acre of manicured gardens and landscape. Our Ouray Colorado hotel on the Uncompaghre River is located 1.5 blocks from Ouray's historic downtown. Our resort style accommodations are within walking distance of all shops, restaurants, attractions and the cites hot springs pool. The Ouray Ice Park and the well-known Ouray Box Canyon Falls are also a short distance from your stay here at the Rivers Edge Motel. End your day here at your "home away form home." Bask in our hot tubs or relax on our river patio. Come home to the Rivers Edge. Slumber to sleep with the symphony of the rivers song. Imagine life so good, it can't get any better. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your River's Edge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivers Edge Hotel Ouray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing