We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place in Ouray”
Review of River's Edge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
River's Edge Motel
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Ouray
Certificate of Excellence
Utah
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice place in Ouray”
Reviewed 12 October 2009

Hubby & I stayed at The Rivers Edge Motel between Oct. 4-7 with our 2 yorkies. We stayed in one of their family rooms on the lower level, since we took a friend and needed more room. It was the first time we stayed here, but we liked it. It's very pet friendly and the price was reasonable. The beds were OK...not real soft, but not real hard either. We didn't have a problem sleeping. We didn't A/C, but didn't need it, since it was cold outside {in the 30's}. Even in summer Ouray is not that hot. There's always an afternoon shower to cool it off and a cool breeze blowing in the evenings, so just open the windows. We had a fridge in our room and plenty of hot water for a good hot bath, after a day of jeeping. We found the managment to be very nice and friendly and helpful to us. The room was very clean when we arrived. It was cleaned daily... adding fresh towles. This place has gotten some bad reviews, In the past, but it's now under new ownership. I think they should be reconsidered for a second chance. They are very nice to you, so we would recomend staying here, esp. if you have pets. Ouray itself has changed a lot since we were there in 2004. I was surprised at how prices have gone up everywhere, esp. the places to eat. Some places we liked to eat before... had really changed. For one... the Silver Nugget {with a new owner, who doesn't know how to cook}. It used to be a good place, but not anymore. DO NOT EAT THERE. On the last day...we found a couple of good places for breakfast. The Bagle shop.. was good, good coffee tool. The day we left we ate at Kate's Place in Ridgeway... really good food. We heard the Pappion in the middle of Ouray is good for breakfast. It's downstairs, but closed on WED. The Ouray Cafe is also supposed to be good, but it too was closed, when we went there. The Outlaw still has good food, but is pricey {the filet steak is wonderful} about $24.95. For Mexican food... it's the Buen Tiempo or The Adobe Inn in Ridgeway. Let's face it... a good meal helps to make a wonderful stay, but Ouray could sure use a few more good places to eat. I think that's important when you're staying anywhere. All and all The managment at the Rivers Edge helped us find some new places to eat and treated us well. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeniorJeepsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    99
    17
    7
    11
See reviews for
119
247
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2009

Just motoring around SW Colorado, booked this place for a couple of nights and would definitely do so again. Pet friendly (we didn't have one with us, but others did and it was OK), free parking, friendly owner, good price (about $100 for a king, whic was very comfortable).

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomhTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coeur d'Alene, ID
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2009

We read all the reviews before stopping in Ouray. I admit, I was a little nervous it wouldn't be that great of a place. But I decided to give it a try. Wow, all I can say is that we wish we had planned to stay there longer then the two days at the end of our trip! First of all, the owners are terrific. They haven't owned the motel for long, but already they are making some wonderful improvements. The room we got is the largest with the kitchenette. It was clean and spacious. We were so amazed that we got such a nice room for such a low price. The property is located right on the river, which you hear when you are outside. The view of the mountains is amazing. Location is terrific, and the hot tub is great. We decided that next time, we are making this place our first stop and staying much longer! The writer who said a jewel in Ouray was right. Oh, and they are so good about having your dog. Gotta love that! I really felt welcome here and just wish all properties were run so well.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katiesmom1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2009

What a wonderful hotel. Rooms are very clean. I understand they have rooms with kitchenettes, however, we didn't require that so we took the king room. Very large with microwave, small refrigerater, TV, hot tub just outside overlooking the river. Plus, it's close to most everything. Owners really try to make your stay pleasant and comfortable. These are new owners and have a lot of terrific plans for the hotel's future. I'm very glad we stayed at this hotel and would certainly recommend it to everyone. We are planning another trip to Ouray in the future and Riversedge will be our hotel of choice.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cwWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2009

This is a great motel a couple of block off main street and right on the banks of the Uncompagre River. It was clean, spacious, and very well maintained. It is important to note that it has new ownership effective this spring so older reviews may not be valid anymore. The facility has several new "spruce up" projects to make it even better. The new owners checked with us several times as we came and went, to see if everything was OK. It is very pet friendly (even larger dogs) and the pets seemed to be liking it as much as their owners. We were traveling by motorcycle so it was nice that most of the parking is in a central, courtyard-type lot, off the street. This is typical of moderately priced owner-operated motels in Colorado. It gives you a real mountain experience in this historic mining town.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank llamaguy750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
150 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2009

We were there in off season, so it was very quiet. The room was spotless and very roomy with a very comfortable king size bed. They had a nice hot tub outside for guest use. The town itself is very small so everything is centrally located, lot's of restaurants and hikes very close by. It was nicely decorated and had a very rustic , homey feel, we really enjoyed our stay and would love to go back again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rawnyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2008

Booked this motel for 2 nights and it was very clean and nice. It was small, but had all we needed. Small kitchen had all the essentials and the staff was very accomodating. It was within walking distance of the main street.
Would stay there again if in the area.

  • Liked — cleaniness
  • Disliked — had to walk up some stairs
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeerHunter3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.6 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
882 reviews
0.3 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ouray Inn
Ouray Inn
#8 of 15 in Ouray
113 reviews
0.7 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge
Timber Ridge Lodge
#12 of 15 in Ouray
155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#13 of 15 in Ouray
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River's Edge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River's Edge Motel

Property: River's Edge Motel
Address: 100 7th Ave, Ouray, CO 81427
Region: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ouray
#6 Family Hotel in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — River's Edge Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
QUIET PEACEFUL CONVENIENT Located on the banks of the uncompaghre river, among towering trees and fresh crisp mountain air, our motel and lodge boasts great accommodations, affordable prices, scenic mountain views and one acre of manicured gardens and landscape. Our Ouray Colorado hotel on the Uncompaghre River is located 1.5 blocks from Ouray's historic downtown. Our resort style accommodations are within walking distance of all shops, restaurants, attractions and the cites hot springs pool. The Ouray Ice Park and the well-known Ouray Box Canyon Falls are also a short distance from your stay here at the Rivers Edge Motel. End your day here at your "home away form home." Bask in our hot tubs or relax on our river patio. Come home to the Rivers Edge. Slumber to sleep with the symphony of the rivers song. Imagine life so good, it can't get any better. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your River's Edge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivers Edge Hotel Ouray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing