We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quiet place to stay in Ouray”
Review of Ouray KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ouray
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ouray KOA
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
727 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“Great quiet place to stay in Ouray”
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Really happy with our Kabin here. The property is quiet and out of the way, off of the highway. The staff is warm and friendly. The rates are right. Love the steamside Kabin and the private bathroom suites (separate rooms for each guest with toilet, sink, shower instead of common bathing areas). I will be sure to return!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank COLadyRoadWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    32
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
41
19
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed two nights and it was very pleasant. We were in the back section and noise was no problem. We rented one of their jeeps for a day and that was a lot of fun. Their price is similar to other rentals in the area and it is very convenient to have it right at the campground. They have maps available, and can give some suggestions. Be sure to have proof of insurance, including collision deductable (we were able to have State Farm fax it to the campground, as this was a last minute decision).

This campground was further from the road than some others in the immediate area, and was nicely laid out. When driving by some of the other campgrounds we were glad we chose the KOA. One evening we had deer come wandering by.

They do have a laundry, which I didn't see mentioned on their website or on the campground map.

We'd cetainly stay here again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
122 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Attractive mountain location 5 miles from Ouray. Pleasant spacious campground with streams running through, a smart shop and an excellent cook out. Helpful staff, good restrooms facilities. A few cabins and a Teepee to rent.
Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham, Texas
Level Contributor
91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed here with family and friends and the best thing was the weather. The staff was very friendly and they accomodated us allowing my children and grandchildren to stay on our campsite in tents. We rented a jeep from the koa camp and it was a lot of fun with the family. The camp needs to update the playground for children. The restaurant was convenient but a little pricey. They are limited on 50 amp so make a reservation early if you want a 50 amp. It is 5 miles to Ouray but that is ok. We liked being out of town. The rv park close to town had no grass. With our grandchildren we were glad to be in a park with grass to allow them to play. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Reserve early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbri09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

All right, if you don't get a place on the entrance way, this might not be too bad. But where we are, the continual traffic, the noisy cabin dwellers, and their yappy dogs don't make for a peaceful experience. I'll avoid this place in the future.

Room Tip: Don't say on the entranceway! We reserved early, so ????
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeAnnz99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
relaytoad
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed for two nights. Good location for those wanting to visit Ouray. Check in was nice, but staff more interested in pushing BBQ dinner and band that evening. No escort to site. Having frequently stayed at KOAs, this did not quite measure up to what we believe to be KOA standards. After checking in Saturday, we did not see any yellow shirts out and about until Monday morning until they noticed a fence near our campsite knocked down. Sites are not tidied after RVs pull out, ours had dog droppings. Limited cable, wifi was fine. Limited grass area for dogs. Best part of stay was location.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank relaytoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I have camped at this KOA twice now and I am very satisfied with it.

The facilities (bathrooms and shower) are open 24 hours. The tent sites are soft grass. There is water very close to the tent sites and there are tent/camp sites with water and electricity.

The staff were very helpful and accommodating. The location is great, just 2 minutes outside of Ouray.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ahghis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.1 mi away
Ouray Inn
Ouray Inn
#9 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.3 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ouray Victorian Inn
Ouray Victorian Inn
#6 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.7 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge
Timber Ridge Lodge
#13 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ouray KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ouray KOA

Property: Ouray KOA
Address: US Highway 550 - CR23, Ouray, CO 81427
Region: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Ouray
Number of rooms: 110

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing