We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost a 10” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ouray KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ouray
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ouray KOA
Certificate of Excellence
Hartsburg, Missouri
Level Contributor
349 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Almost a 10”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Beautiful park just outside of town with very professional staff. Sites reasonably spaced, not overpriced. Lots of trees. Poor wifi, only available at laundry except the wee hours of the morning. No cable. No children's activities but this is Ouray and not a kid destination. No pool but there's a nice hot tub. Recommended.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank TheLongLongTrailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    32
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
41
19
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stumbled across this RV site by accident after arriving at the Montrose KOA to be so disappointed that we sacrificed our prepayment and left as fast as our RV wheels could take us! Our trusty IPAD pulled up the Ouray KOA as one of the possible sites to move to since it was only about 60 miles away from Montrose. Coming out of flat lands and into the San Juan Mountains that nestle Ouray Colorado (where you wll find great shopping & resturants) was a stunning sight, and as a Colorado native I do not say that lightly!! The Ouray KOA is but 5 miles from the town and the impressive Tepee marks the entrance of the campgrounds, with another Tepee on the playground for the kids. Our full hook up space backup to a wonderful babbling brook & shaded by lots of trees. The space had a firepit next to the brook and this made for the best nights with a relaxing fire and yummy roasted marshmellows. A small restaurant offers breakfast, lunch & dinner with a special barbaque feast & live music on Friday & Saturday nights. A small bar is onsite if you need an adult beverage and there is also a small general store that was great for milk, bread, snacks, toothpaste, beer and the like. The onsite bathrooms and showers are clean & surprisingly roomy for a campground. The site as a whole is very relaxing and generates some very positive energy, as well as, it is clean, well taken care of by the owners, and with cabins, grass tent sights, spacous RV sites and firepits all around made for an exceptional stay....so much so that we ended up staying an extra 4 days!!

Room Tip: You can choose a standard cabin or a deluxe cabin that has a porch. Both are great, all have a fire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DenverEspresso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loomis ca
Level Contributor
422 reviews
177 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We do our camping in a tent. When we pulled into Ouray, it was a bit chilly so we decided to rent a basic cabin instead. Immaculate room, restrooms, shower, and very friendly people. They had a small restaurant on site for convenience. Also a hit tub but no poo!. It is about a 5 mile drive from town, but with a car this was not an issue for us. The cabins come with a queen bed and a bunk bed. You must bring your own bedding. Theres a swing on the porch and picnic table. $73 is a bit pricey, but worth it to us for one night. WiFi is free but it does not work well there. I believe they have a microwave system.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ernieLoomisCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wesley chapel
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We enjoyed a night at this site during our summer of adventure. It was very clean and pretty quiet, as well. Running creek behind our site was so tempting for our children to play in, but we headed down the road to the hot springs instead. Office staff was very helpful.

Would recommend to someone looking for a place to stay in Ouray.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teachinlil1s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We loved camping here. The tent sites are GIANT and could easily fit two tents and they are grassy and flat. It was like heaven camping here with the kids as they could run around on the grass and play at your campsite. They also had a little hiking area and playground. We loved going exploring around Ouray in the days and going to the hot springs pool. Will definitely be back! Just be aware- Ouray and Ridgeway don't have a grocery store, so come prepared :) Staff were lovely as well.

Room Tip: Get the sites in the far back corner backing up to the trees. lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BDD679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARIZONA
Level Contributor
104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

We have stayed here 3 times in last couple years. We are headed there again in September 2014. Good central location for 4x4 trips and to visit towns around the area. The park is far enough away from the highway so it is not noisy and lots of trees and grass in the park

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, New Mexico
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Only minutes from Ouray, so this makes it a great location. We stayed in one of the "Kabins" by the "stream". Take the "stream" with a grain of salt, because it is actually an irrigation ditch. Do not let your dogs drink from it, it is a common place for Giardia according to a local vet. That said, it was very pleasant and even though ours did not have a bathroom in it, they were not too far to walk to. These are very basic, but comfortable. The BBQ they serve at the restaurant at the Campground was excellent but too pricey. They don't tell you, but if you don't make a reservation, you may not have a place to sit and eat. We ended up taking it to our cabin, which was a bummer, because there is no table in the cabin, and we kind of would have enjoyed listening to the band that was playing. The price for the cabins are excellent for the area. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: The cabin right behind the restaurant is not the one for you if you like your privacy. Ask for one t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank margielj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.1 mi away
Ouray Inn
Ouray Inn
#9 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.3 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.2 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#7 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Matterhorn Motel
Matterhorn Motel
#10 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
#8 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#11 of 15 in Ouray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ouray KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ouray KOA

Property: Ouray KOA
Address: US Highway 550 - CR23, Ouray, CO 81427
Region: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Ouray
Number of rooms: 110

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing