We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet campgrond with excellent BBQ”
Review of Ouray KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ouray
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ouray KOA
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Quiet campgrond with excellent BBQ”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at the Ouray KOA. The campground was quiet and the staff was friendly. Do yourself a favor and eat one meal at the on site BBQ. The night I was there, they had live, local entertainment, that was actually quite good.

The WiFi was extremely slow and there is no cable TV. The water, electric, and sewer were all fine, however.

There was a creek behind my campsite, which was very soothing to fall asleep to at night. I was able to to use a/c and just sleep with the windows open, thanks to the altitude.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PittsburghPhotog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    33
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
46
20
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorktown, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We checked out all three of Ouray's RV parks and settled on this one. It's very cramped - as are most RV parks, but at least this one had a stream that ran through the property (not at the edges, but through the middle between the parking spots). Each spot had a picnic table and fire ring and the most space of the three RV parks in Ouray. The bathrooms were clean, and the WiFi was VERY slow (think slow dial-up). The location is about a 10-15 minute drive from downtown, so don't stay here if you want to walk to Ouray locations. Check out your site before you pay - the drain for our sewage was located well behind where we had to park - unusable without a long sewage extension hose. So we had to use the dump station instead.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank PilotNate52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

The owner is downright rude. Was very disrespectful to my elderly mother. We were told that we were not allowed to be outside after 10pm. Ridiculous when you have a curfew at a campground! I've stayed here before, but will never EVER give this place another dime. I told the owner this and his response was, "Good"! What kind of customer service is that?!!! As a business owner, I would never treat a customer that way.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Blown away. The staff and owners of this KOA go above and beyond. The facilities were well-kept with clean bathrooms, a small convenient store, laundry facilities, and a kitchen that serves breakfast and dinner. The grounds are close to Ridgway and it is a 30-40 minute drive to Telluride. It's right in the heart of Off-road Heaven. Speaking of... I rented a two-door Jeep through this KOA and received a helpful orientation to the vehicle. A wash/gas station is right down the road. The grounds are situated in an area that gives you great access to many off-road trails. If you don't have your own vehicle, I highly recommend renting here! Want to build a campfire? They sell fire wood. Wi-fi? No problem. They had everything we needed to stay put and relax, just a short drive south to Ouray proper. It's hard to find a campground that is so all-inclusive. Pair that up with incredible hospitality - we won't stay anywhere else in the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

This is only our 2nd RV camp and I loved everything about it! Our site was by a stream and very peaceful. The cafe looked great, we didn't eat there, but Dave, the owner was able to provide me with the jalapeños that I had forgotten! The staff was super friendly and helpful. The location is beautiful with gorgeous scenery. The bathrooms are clean and large. We have stayed at another camp since then, and the other 2 don't compare!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Lulalisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We are tent campers and, as a result, it is sometimes hard to find a commercial campground that provides good facilities for tenters. KOA campground in Ouray, Colorado fits the bill: tent sites are close to the bathrooms (all bathrooms have a sink and shower!); the sites are well-tended GREEN grass; the sites are graded so that rain runs off the site into a small gutter (we learned this the hard way); there is an excellent restaurant with real eggs for breakfast run by friendly, competent KOA people; in fact, all of the staff are friendly, helpful and competent. The campground, along the river, has trees, plenty of spaces for RVs and even motorcycles, a playground, hot tub, and store. We don't usually stay in commercial campgrounds, but if we are in Ouray again, we'll pitch our tent at KOA. Esp. since hotels and motels at this, the height of the season run $200 and more.

Room Tip: Since this isn't really a hotel, I can't make room suggestions but all the sites at the camp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3DQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We recently camped here two nights. The tent sites are very large, flat, grassy and well drained, which was highly useful in a deluge rainstorm! The tent area is near the showers which were great! Each of the four shower rooms is a full bathroom including large shower, toilet, and sink. Of course they are a bit buggy, but who cares when you are tenting! The RVs and campers are in a separate area and each kind of camper has it's own area. So the pop up campers are all together, fifth wheelers, then large RV busses, motorcycle campers, etc. The tent sites only allow one car per site, and we had two cars, so we had to get two tent sites even though all 6 of us stayed on the same site. That was a bit annoying, and more expensive, but I guess they are trying to limit the number of people and vehicles per site. Also, they have a great little restaurant that serves all meals, and they have a game room, laundry, store, jeep rentals, and hot tub. We were camping with my parents who are in their seventies and the whole experience was very comfortable for them. It was also good for the kids. It is a bit of a way out of town, but I think it is worth it for the really nice sites and amenities. It was the only way we could afford to stay in Ouray.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank CRQT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
156 reviews
0.3 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.1 mi away
Ouray Inn
Ouray Inn
#7 of 15 in Ouray
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ouray Victorian Inn
Ouray Victorian Inn
#4 of 15 in Ouray
475 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ouray RV Park and Cabins
0.1 mi away
River's Edge Motel
River's Edge Motel
#5 of 15 in Ouray
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ouray KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ouray KOA

Property: Ouray KOA
Address: US Highway 550 - CR23, Ouray, CO 81427
Region: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Ouray
Number of rooms: 110

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing