We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden Gem in the San Juan Mountains”
Review of Cavallo's Restaurant - CLOSED

Cavallo's Restaurant
Price range: US$3 - US$23
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Contemporary, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Cavallo's Restaurant is located below street level, down a beautiful spiral staircase, in one of the most unique and beautiful settings in the region. Spacious and welcoming, this space takes you into New Orleans from the first note of music to hit your ears and the first bite of food to touch your tongue. Dine with us for a quick bite or four courses. As is the case throughout the Big Easy, one rule applies. . . Be Nice or Leave. The rest is easy . . . Hours: 7am - 2 pm breakfast, brunch, lunch 530 pm - close (about 9 pm) dinner Thursday thru Monday CLOSED TUESDAY AND WEDNESDAY
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A hidden Gem in the San Juan Mountains”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Cavallo's is relatively new to Ouray, Colorado since it wasn't open last July when we were in town. The breakfast offerings are great with my wife's favorite the Gospel cakes. My favorites are the benedicts and smoked meats/salmon entrees. I hear dinners are great as well. We got to know the owners Sid and Kelly and they will accommodate special dietary needs upon request. I sampled the Cavallo's offerings at the 4th of July festivities in the park, and the pulled pork with homemade BBQ sauce was very yummy. We came back for more later in the evening but they were sold out! Cavallo's is another reason to keep coming back to Ouray for our summer outings!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    36
    26
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ridgway, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not a good experience”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Well to start it took an hour for our food to get to our table.When it did arrive the chicken was served uncooked and the bourbon shrimp consisted of five very small shrimp smothered mostly in onions.I have lived in Louisiana many years ago and this food was not up to par.The cooking was very bad and seemed like the kitchen was terribly organized with their timing.Your better off going to the Bon Ton.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smarjenhoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“New Place - Will Visit Again!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

It's been four years since we've been to Ouray, so this was a new dining experience for us. The food and service were wonderful! I had the shrimp po boy and it was muah!!!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank danish10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Absolutely Outstanding in Every Way”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We had breakfast there on July 5th and LOVED it. We loved the food SO much that after a long day of touring the area with our dogs, we came back to town and ordered takeout to enjoy at our motel. Travelling with three dogs make it difficult to eat out, and the folks at Cavallo's Restaurant were especially good about accepting our order. We tried several other places the previous night and were unsuccessful in finding anyone to accept our order. I wish Cavallo's Restaurant great success. They know what they are doing there from a customer service perspective as well as a culinary one. Thanks!!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dvluvsdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great cajun”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

You will feel like you have been transported to New Orleans. The duck is really good! The banana dessert, just ok. Service good and very friendly. If the dessert were as good as the entree and the service were a bit better, I would have given five stars. Prices are moderate (mid $20's entrees).

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank P L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing