We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as excited about the Inn as others”
Review of Hot Springs Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hot Springs Inn
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Ouray
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
325 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Not as excited about the Inn as others”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We liked the location on the river, the property itself, our balcony and the easy access to the walking trail. We liked the friendly check-in service and the effort they made to show us several rooms. We did not need two king size beds and opted for the ADA room on the ground floor to have more floor space. The room was clean.The fridge and microwave worked out well for us. We did not like the very heavy bedspread. The phony fireplace is just a light source. We definitely would have preferred a real table to go with the two office chairs instead of a coffee table as the room has no desk. The TV was an older model, the Wi-Fi worked just so-so.
The hot tube we used was definitely not hot. The small breakfast area was too crowded, so we waited until most guests were done, the choices were typical 'continental', but had a great granola cereal.
Most disappointing was that we were told that no one would stay above us, but two 'runners' stayed in that room and all their commotion came right through the ceiling. Coming to find out in the morning they were booked into that room before we ever showed up and made our choice.
Overall I found our room too dated and too impractical and would try another place the next time we are in Ouray.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank shock43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    752
    115
    21
    5
    0
See reviews for
286
428
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
High Point, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2013

The Hot Springs Inn offers incredible value in the beautiful town of Ouray! The rooms are large and very clean with very comfortable king beds and a small balcony over the river. As a photographer visiting for the fall color as well as for hiking and just enjoying the scenery, this Inn was centrally located to the areas my husband and I wanted to visit as well. Perhaps even more impressive to us was the friendly, professional staff at Hot Springs Inn. They truly went out of their way to make sure that they did everything possible to make our stay enjoyable. I'm not sure that we have stayed anywhere that compares with Hot Springs Inn in that regard. Sharon C

Room Tip: Second floor rooms offer a great view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

A wonderful stay! The room was spacious with two VERY comfortable king beds, widescreen tv, charming rustic decor and thoughtful details-- the best feature being the river rushing by just outside and enjoyed from a private balcony. In fact, we kept our window open all night just to be lulled to sleep! The lobby is warm and inviting and draws you in, and our stay was made complete by the very delightful Pam who welcomed us like old friends and gave us a great tip on where to eat. She couldn't have been more helpful or accommodating! We would definitely go back to this hidden jewel of a town tucked away in the Rockies and cozy in to the Hot Springs Inn.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckieRHighland_Utah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The Inn is very comfortable, with air conditioning and heat that is quiet and non-disruptive. If the weather is warm enough you can open the door and window to your private balcony and hear the rushing water from the river right outside! The bathroom has heating lights to keep you warm, and the 3 hot tubs on the property were a relaxing way to end the day. The staff is pleasant and the area itself is beautiful and a lovely place to vacation.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MtnBikerBecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

My husband and I were scheduled to spend two nights but since we are flatlanders, we decided it was best to leave before the rain/snow. I must say, the one night we stayed was wonderful. The rooms were perfectly decorated without missing a beat. The view from our room was perfect, very relaxing. The rooms have balconies right on the river. Great place to sit and relax. The hotel also had a walking trail that was nice.The beds and pillows were comfortable. Pam was very friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel was not in town but it was a very short drive or long walk, if you will. I would highly recommend this hotel and would go again. I rated the swimming pool and fitness center excellent because I do not want to give this hotel a bad review cause it is great, but we did not use the hot tub and I am not sure if it even had a fitness facility.

Room Tip: All rooms face the river and have a mountain view. You cannot go wrong with any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bucketlist2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanley
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed two nights in late September. The rooms are well appointed and we enjoyed the fireplace. It was nice to sleep in king beds for a change from the queens we'd slept in earlier in the week.
The deck overlooking the creek was a great place to spend some time.
The breakfast was simple and nice and just enough to get your started for a great day of sightseeing.

Room Tip: Select a first floor room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 396loveyhowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medina, Ohio, United States
Level 6 Contributor
310 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

By time we got to Ouray after our 13,000 foot climb and descent from this mountain we were driving on in the rain, I was so glad to finally get to Ouray. This small intimate community is nestled in some of the most rugged and towering peaks of the Rockies known as the San Juan Mountains. Set at the narrow head of a valley at 7,792 feet and surrounded on three sides with 13,000 foot snow capped peaks. OMG it was amazing.

Finally found Hot Springs. OMG what an amazing place to stay. We were lucky to have reservations for this Inn as they were sold out when we arrived. Each room has 2 king beds, a working fireplace (electric) in a small sitting area and the balcony overlooks the river running behind the inn. WHAT A FIND ... the best ever! We loved this place. And the people running it are wonderful and very helpful. They also have an amazing breakfast with wonderful conversation from the staff.

After breakfast we took a walk on the path behind the Inn along the river. That river was rushing all night because of the rain. We left our windows open all night and listened to it. We had a lovely walk on a glorious sunny day.

This Inn is quite a find and I would suggest reservations before arriving. WE WOULD DEFINITELY GO BACK but not the way we arrived, preferably from Denver, mostly highway and not very high mountains :).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.9 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge
Timber Ridge Lodge
#13 of 15 in Ouray
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ouray Inn
Ouray Inn
#7 of 15 in Ouray
119 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#12 of 15 in Ouray
231 reviews
0.7 mi away
Matterhorn Motel
Matterhorn Motel
#10 of 15 in Ouray
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hot Springs Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hot Springs Inn

Property: Hot Springs Inn
Address: 1400 Main Street, Highway 550, Ouray, CO 81427
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ouray
#1 Family Hotel in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each clean, spacious room overlooks the Uncompahgre River with a private balcony, two premium king sized beds, air conditioning, refrigerator and much more. Take advantage of our on site laundromat, hot tubs and grills. After you plan tomorrow's adventure, enjoy an evening stroll on the Uncompahgre River Walk Loop located right outside your door. Come home to the Hot Springs Inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hot Springs Hotel Ouray
Hot Springs Ouray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing