We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven in the Rockies!”
Review of Hot Springs Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hot Springs Inn
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Ouray
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Monica, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Heaven in the Rockies!”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The Hot Springs Inn was fantastic. The place is right on the river and my room was upstairs on the end with a balcony overlooking the rushing water. The sound was very relaxing. The room was plush--very clean, very comfortable. The continental breakfast was good--i chose a boiled egg and instant oatmeal before my hike. I was able to do laundry on-site. The staff was very helpful. Since i was traveling solo, I told them my hiking itinerary and asked if they could please look out for my return and call for help if i didn't make it back by a certain time. They were very willing to help. There is a nice path along the river that takes you right to the public hot springs and then into town. It was very nice walk. I was so comfortable, i wanted to stay more than the two nights i had booked!

Room Tip: All the rooms face the river but i think the upstairs rooms have a nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    759
    115
    21
    5
    0
See reviews for
289
431
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lutz, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The Hot Springs Inn is the newest Inn in Ouray (2005). Its rooms are large, with two comfortable King beds and every room has a view of the river (which in early June was just teeming.) Housekeeping is excellent: the rooms are very clean and kept up daily (and small touches such as the face towels being folded into "shirts" appreciated!). Complimentary breakfasts are excellent with breads, bagels, cereals, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, and packaged doughnuts and muffins. The coffee is good! Staff is very cordial and helpful. We originally booked two nights but extended our stay to three. The Hot Springs Inn is highly rated for a reason, and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrCitrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

stayed two nights and explored the Ouray area for the first time. the hotel is clean, well-maintained, and extremely well-managed. the staff appeared to be the owners, and they were very courteous, and extremely helpful with info about the area. rooms are huge with two king sized beds, a fireplace, and a great balcony overlooking the river. we took an upstairs room to have a better view, and we certainly didn't have any trouble hearing the water! fun!
Ouray is a postcard of what a beautiful place should look like. we'll be going back to do some off-road touring this fall or next spring. summertime here must get a bit crowded.









1

Room Tip: you can't make a mistake. all the rooms overlook the river. you can see it better from the sec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomas s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flower mound
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I must admit that i was a little pessimistic about the good reviews that I read about this quaint hotel however as soon as we arrived at reception we were greeted and assisted by a lady who was a breath of fresh air willing to give us her undivided attention. Upon entering the room I was amazed by the cleanliness of the room and the bathroom as well as the striking decor. The beds were comfortable, the towels were fresh and I only wish the big chains could follow this example. The lady at the free breakfast was just as friendly as the lady who met us when we arrived. I would recommend this hotel in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danfm9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Price, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

What we loved:
Overall the smell and sound of the mountain river rumbling and murmuring just below our window in the evening and through the night. Its beautiful to look at as well. We watched a Beaver makes its way up the bank. Very peaceful.
The cleanliness of the room and hotel. Even the outside lights were free of webs and moths. The attention to detail was excellent.
The hospitality. The bright young desk clerk offered to help with a number of different things. I haven't seen such good service at the Gaylord or the Ritz, really. We thought we short two towels as we didn't see them on the shelf, and we called about it. Despite not needing any more, and telling them we didn't, they left extra sets just to make sure we were happy.
The rooms were very pleasant. The beds were very large. Our group was well accommodated. The decor was enjoyable.
The breakfast: ample and easy.
The price: really very much worth the cost here. Two king beds in a nice room would be more in grotty little city off a bad highway, so in this beautiful place, this is a steal.

What could be better:
There was very limited TV selection, limited channels.
As with so many hotels, the sink was in a different room than the toilet. When we all move into a more modern era, public acceptance of this will dissolve. No -one wants poopy hands on a door handle because you have to go out the door to wash.
These are minor minor negatives.

Room Tip: If you don't want to haul your stuff up the stairs, a downstairs room is better. They all have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fairwhether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I was amazed at the quality of this motel. We stayed off peak season for a very reasonable price. The rooms had quality furnishings and very comfortable beds with memory foam toppers. Nice view of the river and a good continental breakfast with lots of variety. The management was very helpful and friendly. I will visit again! They are closed during the winter so consider this of planning a trip

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Road_Bear57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Look no further. The website does not do this place justice. The 2 king size (yes 2 kings) beds are comfy, the river view from the balcony is phenomenal, and the rooms cleanliness was a 10!!!!! Ouray was a beautiful place to visit and The Hot Springs Inn made the stay even better. We will return.

Room Tip: Eat at Maggie's they've got great food for a decent price. If you need more items and don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stormy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.9 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
161 reviews
0.1 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge
Timber Ridge Lodge
#13 of 15 in Ouray
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ouray Inn
Ouray Inn
#6 of 15 in Ouray
125 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#12 of 15 in Ouray
232 reviews
0.7 mi away
Matterhorn Motel
Matterhorn Motel
#10 of 15 in Ouray
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hot Springs Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hot Springs Inn

Property: Hot Springs Inn
Address: 1400 Main Street, Highway 550, Ouray, CO 81427
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ouray
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ouray
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each clean, spacious room overlooks the Uncompahgre River with a private balcony, two premium king sized beds, air conditioning, refrigerator and much more. Take advantage of our on site laundromat, hot tubs and grills. After you plan tomorrow's adventure, enjoy an evening stroll on the Uncompahgre River Walk Loop located right outside your door. Come home to the Hot Springs Inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hot Springs Hotel Ouray
Hot Springs Ouray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing