We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable beds, cramped rooms, cheap breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hot Springs Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hot Springs Inn
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Ouray
Certificate of Excellence
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Comfortable beds, cramped rooms, cheap breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed here with 2 of our grandkids while jeeping trails in the area.
The rooms are ok, felt a little cramped with 2 king size beds. The beds are very comfortable but really high. A couple of step stools should be provided just to get in beds. The bathroom is small. There is no tub, shower only with a fabric shower curtain that leaks water all over the floor. No exhaust fan in the bathroom so you have to open the window. The window opens onto the walkway at eye level, where anyone walking by can look in and hour right there. Yeah, it was a uncomfortable. The inside sitting area could have been made more comfortable with better seating. The outside sitting area was nice but you cant see over the fence to enjoy the view. The breakfast provided was packaged donuts. Not what we expected for the price of the rooms. The parking lot is small and tight. If your pulling recreational vehicals on a trailer you need to call ahead and make arrangements for parking your tow vehical and trailer.

We stayed here in July 2013. We're trying another hotel in the area this yr. (2014)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AutumnJoyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    722
    110
    21
    4
    0
See reviews for
270
419
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Telluride, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

I pulled up to this motel a day later than the rest of my party, and my expectations were low since the sole purpose in Ouray was to conquer several 14ers, therefore the lodging was simply a place to sleep. However, The Hot Spring Inn surpassed those low expectations in huge strides. The staff was incredibly helpful and knowledgeable, I'd love to give a a personal shout out to the gentleman that manned the desk during our stay, but unfortunately I didn't catch his name. On top of the service, the rooms were also much larger than your typical room. Their location was wonderful with the backside of their property over-looking the river and each room having it's own private deck. I didn't get the chance to experience the BBQ pits nor the hot tubs due to the nature of our trip, but that set-up looked awesome as well. I say choose The Hot Springs Inn when in Ouray.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sleeping_Ar0und
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

This hotel is very well maintained and the staff is wonderful. They are always available to answer questions about the area. Hotel is very clean. Every room has two king beds and a balcony overlooking the river. Highly recommend !

Room Tip: No elevators so if that is a problem-----ask for lower floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Retiredqueen47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
95 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

The Hot Springs Inn was a very unique facility. It reminded me of some of the old time motels but much nicer and very well maintained. The office/continental breakfast room was neat with some interesting western themed memorabilia on the walls. The same went for the exterior decor outside with coaches and buggies both colorful and well maintained. The rooms were very different from what you'd expect from a roadside motel. It was heavily decorated in a western style but most important is the fact that it was neat and clean. A back door led to a rear deck, quite small but just large enough for two chairs, with a fenced railing overlooks a fast moving river flowing within 8 feet of the back of the unit with a walking path in between. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: Just a short distance down the road from the motel is the downtown area. They have some neat shops...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Our vacation started by contacting this hotel for info and getting the most wonderful service on the phone! Jan was exceptionally helpful! Upon arrival we were greeted by Katie, Mary and Jan all of whom were so welcoming it made us feel like were old time friends.
The room had all amenities including very comfortable king size bed, small fridge, electric fireplace (nice touch), a/c, ceiling fan, and even a makeup mirror! The hotel is located right on the river and the balcony overlooked the running water yielding a wonderfully relaxing sound.We were on the second floor and could leave the window open!
Breakfast surpassed many other hotel types.
We should also mention, Dave. He was extremely helpful with local driving knowledge and he too was so friendly. Good luck with your flowers, Dave!

Room Tip: If looking for complete quiet maybe ask to be away from hot tubs. Also, our room did not have a des...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broomfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We have been coming to Ouray for 19 years around the 4th of July, of all the hotels we have stayed at, the Hot Springs Inn is by far the best! It's one of the few that has nice queen size pillow top beds and a good A.C. unit, hot tubs, and grills to cook on. If you plan on staying in Ouray this is a great hotel. The only down side is that the hotel is not right in the heart of the town. However it's only about a 2 min drive, or a 10-20 min walk. Depending on how fast you walk.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mycountrymylove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

This small motel run by in house owners has the wonderful charm and beauty of Ouray. They are close to the hot springs pool and only 10 to 15 minutes walk from the center of town. The staff were very accomodating to our needs. They do come and replace towels and make the beds each day, but not a full maid service. They provided breakfast each day and provided us with anything we needed. They have hot tubs and laundry as well, which we did use.

Room Tip: Reserve early
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.9 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
#8 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ouray Victorian Inn
Ouray Victorian Inn
#4 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ouray Inn
Ouray Inn
#10 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.9 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#7 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hot Springs Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hot Springs Inn

Property: Hot Springs Inn
Address: 1400 Main Street, Highway 550, Ouray, CO 81427
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ouray
#1 Family Hotel in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each clean, spacious room overlooks the Uncompahgre River with a private balcony, two premium king sized beds, air conditioning, refrigerator and much more. Take advantage of our on site laundromat, hot tubs and grills. After you plan tomorrow's adventure, enjoy an evening stroll on the Uncompahgre River Walk Loop located right outside your door. Come home to the Hot Springs Inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hot Springs Hotel Ouray
Hot Springs Ouray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing