We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW What a great place!”
Review of Hot Springs Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hot Springs Inn
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Ouray
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We booked this room online. We had never been to Ouray before so it was a shot in the dark. We were really happy when we walked into the room. Two large beds. Great bathroom and sitting area with couch. The room had a patio which sits right next to the river which was full of water. The room was very clean. The staff was very helpful. This is a really nice place to stay. Parking was good with enough room in this prime location. We walked on the trail behind the hotel and had a deer walk by us just a few feet away. The mountains are beyond nice and all the people we met in Ouray were first rate. If you are going to be near Ouray this is the nicest place to be.

Room Tip: All rooms have patio's. We liked the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (936)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

376 - 382 of 936 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

1. Very comfy big beds.
2. Sleep to the sound of the river rushing by outside your window.
3. It's very clean.
4. It's quiet despite being on the main street through Ouray.
5. Very friendly staff.
6. Front desk staff will recommend activities and sights to see.
7. They will also recommend restaurants and make reservations.
8. There's a microwave, small fridge, coffee machine.
9. The balcony off each room makes a great place to relax after a busy day.
10. The sink is in the bedroom rather than bathroom making it easier for family members to get ready.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pstewartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Our room here was not accessible because there were 4 in our family and we needed 2 beds (which were VERY comfy), but staff was super helpful and allowed us to store it overnight in the lobby. We loved our experience here, as well as the downtown shopping. Thanks for a great visit!

Room Tip: Like sleeping by a river with an (electric) fireplace? Like picnicking outside?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PJ P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The are quite spacious, a bit organized like a 'shotgun' house -- long and narrow. The beds are comfy, comfy and the linens clean and soft. The real deal-stealer of this place is its location -- right smack-dab next to the awesome flowing river, at the base of a giant gorgeous mountain. We spent lots and lots and lots of time on the spacious deck overlooking river listening to its music and watching the ever-changing light show on the mountain as the clouds passed over the sun during the day. Such a good deal for this place AND if you're looking for a get away, Ouray is one of the best places I have ever been to help soothe the civilized soul of the savage ravages of living and working in 'civilization.' This place, the hotel and Ouray, are MAGIC!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Beth Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This Inn is set in a canyon at the base of the San Juan Mountains, the Uncompahgre River flows just behind the Inn. All rooms have small balconies, with chairs, from which to view the river, and the footbridge that crosses there. Gravel walking trails on either side are accessible from the lodge. My son and I spent 5 mornings enjoying the scenery, especially the beaver and deer we viewed from our balcony early every morning. (I loved waking up to the sound of the fast flowing river) .Be sure to bring a camera as the photo ops are just outside your room. The grounds support a full sized Stagecoach, Covered Wagon, several smaller wagons an a western themed outbuilding all set against the tree covered San Juan mountains that arise on either side. Just gorgeous!!

Being in Ouray to see my Aunt celebrate her 100th birthday, we didn't get to spend any time in the 3 available hot tubs, or use the available gas grills, but did enjoy the bountiful Continental breakfast offered every morning. The breakfast was hosted by Jan Koran and her staff of friendly assistants. they greeted us each and every morning making sure we were all well taken care of.

Our generous sized room contained 2 very comfortable King size beds, TV, small refrigerator, an electric fireplace, fans, air (if needed), a nice hot shower, plenty of drawer space, a couch, table, coffee maker and free wi-fi; so be sure to bring a camera (to share pictures of the gorgeous scenery and wildlife).

The town is filled with historic things to see, including a restored hotel, flowers everywhere, good food and shopping. Jeep tours and rentals, fishing, hiking, a big natural hot spring that is open to the public for swimmming, ghost towns, ice climbing, a museum, and waterfall are all near by.
There is something for all ages, year round.

A wonderful place to stay, things to see and lots of picture opportunities. I think this is one of the most beautiful places I have ever stayed. Truly a 5 star experience!!

Room Tip: This is two story, double building Inn. All rooms have access to the river view. I didn't see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sandifromfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Most comfortable hotel bed I'm ever slept in. Right on the river, and a short walk to the hot springs. One of the better hotel breakfasts I've had. Room was very clean and nicely appointed. Staff was great and very helpful in providing information about Ouray.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Mattsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed three nights as a family of four. Note that this is more of a motel than a hotel, with all room doors external to the parking lot. That means you pick up a bit of noise from people driving in at night and people walking and talking in the morning in front of your door.

I get the impression that all the rooms are exactly the same size, perhaps even the exact same layout. Ours was a long, skinny room, nearly filled to the brim with two king beds and a tiny seating area of two desk chairs side by side and a little coffee table. The TV is the older CRT-style, and wireless access is a joke.

Each room has a nice little private deck with two chairs overlooking the river, which is a true river. This is no little stream--I wouldn't want to wade it--but it's not clear water due to the minerals carried down from the surrounding rock. So it's rather the color of gray milk...but pleasant all the same. There's a great bridge next to the hotel leading to a wonderful little river walk. Our room was spotless and kept that way throughout our stay.

The lightly cowboy-themed decor was all brand new and the beds were massively comfortable, a point driven home by each of us. The air conditioner was quite loud, and it seemed to struggle to keep the room a steady temperature, so it turned on and off frequently throughout the nights, something that might bother some people. Neighborly noise always surprises me in a hotel, especially a recent renovation, as this is a typical complaint yet so easily remedied during a renovation. But alas, our neighbor's footfalls thumped until late, and they were up at the crack of dawn slamming drawers shut in the bureau against our wall. By the third night I didn't let it bother me any more and just prayed the air conditioner would turn on and drown it out a bit.

The bathroom is below average from a layout perspective. The shower is a simple floor-pan style with a curtain to draw, and the toilet is not in a separate room from the shower. This layout can be a problem when a family of four is trying to get ready in the morning. Further, there is no fan, just a small window to open, and this window is on the side of the building where everyone walks. The strangest part of the bathroom design is that the sink is in the main room with the beds. That means that when I get up early (as dads do) and try to silently clean up in the morning and sneak out for a coffee, I wake everybody up. None of us much cared for this type of bathroom layout.

The staff is welcoming and seemed to love their jobs. Workers were busy each day around the property, tidying it up and maintaining it. The three, simple, four-person hot tubs could view the river perfectly if it weren't for the fence in the way, but it's pleasant just the same. And the property is well-kept and pretty, and easy to enter, park, and leave. It's within perfect staging distance of downtown, a solid attraction in the beautiful and quaint little town of Ouray.

Breakfast is super simple continental, though be prepared to bump elbows with strangers because there are just a few large shared tables in a cramped dining area. But it works efficiently and all the travelers are happy and friendly. Why wouldn't they be, on vacation in one of the most beautiful canyons in the US?

Room Tip: All rooms have a private patio that faces the river, so no worries there. There are two floors, so g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.9 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
175 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#10 of 15 in Ouray
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge
Timber Ridge Lodge
#14 of 15 in Ouray
160 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ouray Inn
Ouray Inn
#6 of 15 in Ouray
141 reviews
0.7 mi away
Matterhorn Motel
Matterhorn Motel
#11 of 15 in Ouray
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hot Springs Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hot Springs Inn

Address: 1400 Main Street, Highway 550, Ouray, CO 81427
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ouray
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ouray
Price Range: £82 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each clean, spacious room overlooks the Uncompahgre River with a private balcony, two premium king sized beds, air conditioning, refrigerator and much more. Take advantage of our on site laundromat, hot tubs and grills. After you plan tomorrow's adventure, enjoy an evening stroll on the Uncompahgre River Walk Loop located right outside your door. Come home to the Hot Springs Inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hot Springs Hotel Ouray
Hot Springs Ouray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing