We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful all around experience”
Review of Hot Springs Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hot Springs Inn
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Ouray
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2014

The staff was absolutely wonderful to take care of requests. The owner has a collection of old tractors, carriages and stage coaches that make for great photo ops. Wonderful value. Would stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (937)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

375 - 381 of 937 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014

Traveling in the Summer is always a hassle because everybody else is on the road with you. Wanting to make our vacation as nice as possible, we checked out Tripadvisor for places to stay. Hot Springs Inn was highly recommended, so we booked a night there. We're glad we did.
The goods:
Beautiful location
Extremely comfortable beds
Rooms large enough for a family
The river behind the hotel makes a perfect white noise generator. We slept like rocks
The staff was very pleasant
The breakfast area was large enough to handle the morning crowd
The bad:
We had to leave and go home to our regular life

Ouray is a very cool place. The Hot Springs Inn is the place to stay when you're in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Techboy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We booked this room online. We had never been to Ouray before so it was a shot in the dark. We were really happy when we walked into the room. Two large beds. Great bathroom and sitting area with couch. The room had a patio which sits right next to the river which was full of water. The room was very clean. The staff was very helpful. This is a really nice place to stay. Parking was good with enough room in this prime location. We walked on the trail behind the hotel and had a deer walk by us just a few feet away. The mountains are beyond nice and all the people we met in Ouray were first rate. If you are going to be near Ouray this is the nicest place to be.

Room Tip: All rooms have patio's. We liked the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

1. Very comfy big beds.
2. Sleep to the sound of the river rushing by outside your window.
3. It's very clean.
4. It's quiet despite being on the main street through Ouray.
5. Very friendly staff.
6. Front desk staff will recommend activities and sights to see.
7. They will also recommend restaurants and make reservations.
8. There's a microwave, small fridge, coffee machine.
9. The balcony off each room makes a great place to relax after a busy day.
10. The sink is in the bedroom rather than bathroom making it easier for family members to get ready.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pstewartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Our room here was not accessible because there were 4 in our family and we needed 2 beds (which were VERY comfy), but staff was super helpful and allowed us to store it overnight in the lobby. We loved our experience here, as well as the downtown shopping. Thanks for a great visit!

Room Tip: Like sleeping by a river with an (electric) fireplace? Like picnicking outside?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PJ P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The are quite spacious, a bit organized like a 'shotgun' house -- long and narrow. The beds are comfy, comfy and the linens clean and soft. The real deal-stealer of this place is its location -- right smack-dab next to the awesome flowing river, at the base of a giant gorgeous mountain. We spent lots and lots and lots of time on the spacious deck overlooking river listening to its music and watching the ever-changing light show on the mountain as the clouds passed over the sun during the day. Such a good deal for this place AND if you're looking for a get away, Ouray is one of the best places I have ever been to help soothe the civilized soul of the savage ravages of living and working in 'civilization.' This place, the hotel and Ouray, are MAGIC!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Beth Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This Inn is set in a canyon at the base of the San Juan Mountains, the Uncompahgre River flows just behind the Inn. All rooms have small balconies, with chairs, from which to view the river, and the footbridge that crosses there. Gravel walking trails on either side are accessible from the lodge. My son and I spent 5 mornings enjoying the scenery, especially the beaver and deer we viewed from our balcony early every morning. (I loved waking up to the sound of the fast flowing river) .Be sure to bring a camera as the photo ops are just outside your room. The grounds support a full sized Stagecoach, Covered Wagon, several smaller wagons an a western themed outbuilding all set against the tree covered San Juan mountains that arise on either side. Just gorgeous!!

Being in Ouray to see my Aunt celebrate her 100th birthday, we didn't get to spend any time in the 3 available hot tubs, or use the available gas grills, but did enjoy the bountiful Continental breakfast offered every morning. The breakfast was hosted by Jan Koran and her staff of friendly assistants. they greeted us each and every morning making sure we were all well taken care of.

Our generous sized room contained 2 very comfortable King size beds, TV, small refrigerator, an electric fireplace, fans, air (if needed), a nice hot shower, plenty of drawer space, a couch, table, coffee maker and free wi-fi; so be sure to bring a camera (to share pictures of the gorgeous scenery and wildlife).

The town is filled with historic things to see, including a restored hotel, flowers everywhere, good food and shopping. Jeep tours and rentals, fishing, hiking, a big natural hot spring that is open to the public for swimmming, ghost towns, ice climbing, a museum, and waterfall are all near by.
There is something for all ages, year round.

A wonderful place to stay, things to see and lots of picture opportunities. I think this is one of the most beautiful places I have ever stayed. Truly a 5 star experience!!

Room Tip: This is two story, double building Inn. All rooms have access to the river view. I didn't see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sandifromfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.9 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
176 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#10 of 15 in Ouray
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge
Timber Ridge Lodge
#14 of 15 in Ouray
160 reviews
0.9 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#7 of 15 in Ouray
104 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
#12 of 15 in Ouray
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hot Springs Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hot Springs Inn

Address: 1400 Main Street, Highway 550, Ouray, CO 81427
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ouray
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ouray
Price Range: £82 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each clean, spacious room overlooks the Uncompahgre River with a private balcony, two premium king sized beds, air conditioning, refrigerator and much more. Take advantage of our on site laundromat, hot tubs and grills. After you plan tomorrow's adventure, enjoy an evening stroll on the Uncompahgre River Walk Loop located right outside your door. Come home to the Hot Springs Inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hot Springs Hotel Ouray
Hot Springs Ouray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing