We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded our expectations!”
Review of Hot Springs Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hot Springs Inn
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Ouray
Certificate of Excellence
texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations!”
Reviewed 12 October 2009

Everything about this hotel will exceed your expectations for the price paid. It is very reasonable. They take great pride in their place. The rooms were large, two King beds, nice shower and vanity, nice accents, fridge, microwave, even a fake fireplace that glows. Back patio has a near river view. Some will like the super soft beds. Three hot tubs kept clean. Best continental breakfast I have ever had. Just can't say enough. Stay here. I was just staying over with my son on the way home from a hunting trip, but would love to bring my wife here. It is right on Hwy 550 yet nestled between the mountains.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccbgracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    724
    110
    21
    4
    0
See reviews for
270
419
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wailea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2009

Just got back from a 19day drive trip thru Utah and Colorado to see the Autumn colors. Booked the Hot Springs Inn based upon TripAdvisor recommendations. Completely satisfied. Management excellent. Beds had Novafoam type 4" mattress toppers and there were 2 King beds in the room. Clean, clean, clean room! Beautiful hiking trail along the Riparian stream bed in back of the hotel. 2 mi. stroll and we even saw a red fox. Refrig and microwave in the room. Stay upstairs by the big tree. Beautiful. This hotel is not "downtown" nor next to the Box Springs hike areas nor does it have a business center. But, thank goodness. This hotel was so quiet and restful. Would love to return.
Sincerely, Joanie Moore

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waileahiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placitas, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2009

I had to double check the price to make sure it was correct. Anytime you can get a great room for less than $100.00 in a 'tourist town' - that's excellent. This property far exceeded my expectations even though I had read many of the positive Trip Advisor reviews - and booked the hotel because of all of the positive comments about the beds.

The location is great to the springs and downtown. The hotel is relatively new so everything is in top working order - and nothing is tired or worn out. Marble vanity is a nice touch for your basic accomodations. I also like that the vanity is not in the bathroom with the shower and toilet. But honestly, as I get older - its all about the beds and the pillows. I don't know how hotels could ever imagine pleasing all tastes for such a personal choice - but the beds were just scrumptious. Tthey were firm at the core but with some type of pillowtop that was soft and embracing. I would have this bed in my home!

The only things that I think the property owners might consider is for each room to be able to turn off the outside light by the front door - if there was a way - we couldn't figure it out and had to hang towels on the door window to block out the light . But it wasn't a big deal - about 2 minutes of our time.

Lastly, this property is very unique in that each room has two KING beds and a deck overlooking a very nice stream. The only problem for me was that there is only one night stand between the two beds. My husband and I both like to take a glass of water to bed and for the outside sleeper - there is no place to put the glass. I know this configuration is typical in a property with two doubles or queen's - but since we always book a king - we always have two nightstands. That's really the only issue I had.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NMskies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2009

We stayed at the inn Sept of 08 and it was and still is a great place in 09. What is so great is: Nothing has changed, and that's the best part. Warm, friendly and attentive. we are going again in August of 10 but plan on staying longer this time. Where else can you get a room with TWO king beds overlooking a river and a beautiful view of the mountains? They have a continental breakfast. No pets or smoking allowed. I have pictures from last years review that were posted to Travel Advisor. BTW, a really great place to eat is the "Outlaw Resturant" $$$. But well worth it.

Rick Minor
Fruita, CO

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AKbushpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2009

The rooms were spacious, with 2 comfortable king size beds. Loved the balcony off our room. We were able to sit outdoors and enjoy nature, with a small creek running by, surrounded by trees etc. There is access to an excellent trail of about 2 miles along the stream for those who want to take a nice hike. The staff was very helpful in suggesting great places to eat and things to do. We only planned on staying one night, but because we enjoyed it so much, we ended up staying two nights. We plan on visiting again next year.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trapper333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2009

Our stay of 3 nights was excellent. The room was nicely appointed with a balcony overlooking the river. The beds were comfortable and amenities superior. Very helpful staff who were concerned that our stay was a comfortable one. Definitely would be back if we are in the area.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidyochum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2009

They have a friendly, efficient staff and feature old-fashioned courtesy with all the modern conveniences. Clean, comfortable, nicely decorated rooms. The sound of the river was very relaxing, but not overpowering.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Retiredforgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.9 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
#8 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ouray Victorian Inn
Ouray Victorian Inn
#6 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ouray Inn
Ouray Inn
#9 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.9 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#7 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hot Springs Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hot Springs Inn

Property: Hot Springs Inn
Address: 1400 Main Street, Highway 550, Ouray, CO 81427
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ouray
#1 Family Hotel in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each clean, spacious room overlooks the Uncompahgre River with a private balcony, two premium king sized beds, air conditioning, refrigerator and much more. Take advantage of our on site laundromat, hot tubs and grills. After you plan tomorrow's adventure, enjoy an evening stroll on the Uncompahgre River Walk Loop located right outside your door. Come home to the Hot Springs Inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hot Springs Hotel Ouray
Hot Springs Ouray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing