We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely loved it!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Ouray
Certificate of Excellence
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“absolutely loved it!!!!”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I am only two hours away from this little piece of heaven and have never been here- now that I have experienced it I will definitely be back- the front desk staff way wonderful and entertaining- the room was clean and the beds were very comfortable- The hot springs were right outside our door- we went in the off season so pretty much had the whole place to ourselves- amazing, relaxing and wonderful

Room Tip: if It's cold a room close to the tubs- my room was right about fifty feet from the tubs- perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angel771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear angel1771,

It's funny how sometimes we find a hidden gem virtually in our back yard.

I am so glad you made it up here to spend some time with us!

Ouray is an amazingly beautiful town. Set in the southwest corner, it is easy to feel transported into a different ere when staying with us.

Our four mineral hot spring tubs are an ideal way to relax away the worries of the outside world while still being within walking distance to the shops and restaurants of Main Street in one direction, and hiking and ice climbing trails in the other.

We strive to exceed the expectations of our guests in every way, and our pride in being able to share this beautiful area and wonderful property shines through in every interaction.

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our property. We look forward to seeing a lot of you now that you have gotten a taste!

Best Regards,

Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    436
    147
    24
    6
    4
See reviews for
119
337
33
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ouray, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Wonderful stay with my wife for a short weekend escape. Staff was very friendly and kind. Room was very clean and quite. I think it is now my favorite place for a relaxing weekend retreat. The views and hot tubs were such a treat. The mountains look so big and pristine! IT just plain WONDERFUL .. SUGGEST YOU EXPERIENCE THE WONDER OF THIS LODGE.....

Room Tip: Rooms near hot tubs are the best. Close to lobby and hot tubs..Very quite Rooms near the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Ben R,

It is always a pleasure to hear from our guests, and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay!

At the Box Canyon Lodge, our goal is to provide every guest with an exemplary experience. From clean, comfortable rooms, to friendly, happy staff, we want you to feel secure in the knowledge that you are our number one priority.

The four mineral hot spring tubs terraced on the hillside in our courtyard are the perfect solution for those in need of a quiet relaxing escape.

Soaking in the evenings with that special someone, surrounded by the splendor of the San Juan Mountains is truly an experience not to be missed!

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review of our property. We enjoyed your visit, and look forward to seeing you and your wife again soon.

Best Regards,

Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
218 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Last summer we did a big trip all over CO, and found ourselves in Ouray. Probably one of the most adorable and friendly and picturesque towns I've ever encountered. Some quick exploring brought us to this hotel, and we were not disappointed. The only time in my life I've made a reservation for one night ... then extended it to two nights ... then three ... and the staff was so awesome and accomodating and hooked me up with a good rate for each night. The tubs were awesome. Mostly I have to keep saying the staff were so friendly - each one we encountered at the front desk was friendlier than the next. The rooms were comfy and cozy and they provide free DVDs, a nice touch. They make fresh muffins in the am which were delish. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Sharon W,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us!
It is always a pleasure to get feedback from our guests regarding their impression of Ouray and the Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs.
It is particularly fun to hear from someone who just couldn't get enough of this place. I must say, I feel the same!
Ouray and the surrounding area is undeniably one of the most spectacular places in the country. Regardless of the season, the natural beauty of the area is breathtaking to say the least.
Here at the Box Canyon, we take great pride in sharing this wonderland.
Our staff are focused on not only helping guests enjoy Ouray, but on taking your experience above and beyond expectations.
With clean comfortable rooms, happy, professional staff and the beauty of Ouray, it's hard not to enjoy a visit!
Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you again!

Best Regards,

Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florissant, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious. Staff was friendly and helpful. Hot tubs were soothing with great views of the beautiful Ouray mountains. An overall delightful stay. We hope to stay here again next time we spend a few days in Ouray.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Marc S,

I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your recent visit to Ouray and the Box Canyon Lodge.

We are fortunate to have a team as focused as we are on creating an ideal relaxation getaway for our guests.
Clean comfortable rooms, Meticulously maintained grounds, and friendly, professional service are very important to us every day.
Our all natural mineral hot spring tubs are a wonderful way to begin or end a day of adventuring in Southwest Colorado. The views are spectacular, giving the impression of being far away from the troubles of day to day life.
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our property, and we hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,

Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Junction, CO
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Hands down, the Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs has the BEST place to soak and enjoy the incredible views! We've never found anywhere else like it in Colorado.
Room: Very clean and extremely comfortable beds. Very cozy!!
Staff: Very friendly. They have coffee, hot chocolate and muffins available in the morning, before heading to the hot tub. PERFECT!!
Hot tubs: Steamy inviting hot tubs great for relaxing and looking over the cliffs surrounding Ouray. If it snows.....ALL THE BETTER!
You DEFINITELY won't regret staying here....one of a kind lodging in Colorado!!

Room Tip: Rooms in the back building are closer to the hot tubs and usually very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gdirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear gdirst,
Thank you so much for sharing your recent visit with us.

There is truly nothing quite like enjoying a steaming cup of coffee and a morning soak in the mineral hot spring tubs! I am so pleased you were able to enjoy this particular experience. The steam from the tubs as giant snowflakes melt in the water, add a certain surreal charm to the already amazing views.

Our goal at the Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs is to provide every guest with an ideal escape. From clean comfortable rooms, to long soaks in our natural hot springs and excellent service, our focus is always on you.

Once again, thank you for your review, and we look forward to seeing you again and again!

Best Regards,

Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynnfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
139 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We enjoyed the true "tubs" to soak in and the comfortable beds at this otherwise average hotel which we booked last minute in Ouray. It was quiet and the location (walk to town) was good -
the breakfast was okay and we did appreciate the rustic decor.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bsa819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear bsa819,

Thanks so much for taking the time to share your recent visit with us.

The Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs is an older property with the good fortune to have a team as proud of maintaining the property as we are. Every room is meticulously clean, and designed to provide a comfortable relaxing environment for our guests to escape to after a day adventuring in the magnificent San Juan Mountains.

Our mineral hot spring tubs, tiered up the hillside in the courtyard area are indeed wonderful. Soaking in the waters, ranging in temperature from 104 to 108 degrees, particularly during the winter months, as the steam from the hot spring water rises up, melting snowflakes as they fall, combined with the views, is truly an experience.

It is hard to believe sometimes how convenient the hotel is to many activities. Easy walking distance to all of the shops on Main Street in one direction, and to a variety of hiking trails as well as the world famous Ouray Ice Park, we are indeed blessed with the best of both worlds!

Once again, thank you for your review of our property, and we do hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We love this place! Clean, hospitable, hot tubs only available for the guests of the hotel. It's our nice weekend getaway. You can either sit in the hot tubs while it's snowing, or go for a nice hike to Box Canyon Falls.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs are quieter, but try to get one overlooking the hot tubs. That way, you can keep your...
See more room tips
Green Features: They use the water from the hot springs to warm the rooms.
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Ashley T,

Thanks so much for sharing your visit with us!
It's always a pleasure to hear from our guests regarding their stay, and I am so glad you had the chance to soak in our natural mineral hot springs while it was snowing!
Honestly, I agree that is one of the most magical experiences, particularly after a hike to the falls.
Box canyon Falls are truly spectacular in the cooler months, as the water begins to ice over, the colors of the sun reflecting in that tiny little canyon are indeed amazing.
We are fortunate at the Box Canyon to have a team in place who takes such pride in the rooms and grounds. This is one thing that definitely adds to the feeling of being at home when visiting us.
Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.9 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
880 reviews
0.0 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ouray Inn
Ouray Inn
#8 of 15 in Ouray
113 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ouray Victorian Inn
Ouray Victorian Inn
#4 of 15 in Ouray
472 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
#11 of 15 in Ouray
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs

Property: Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs
Address: 45 Third Avenue, Ouray, CO 81427
Region: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ouray
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs is Ouray's most popular getaway experience. We offer extremely clean, attractively decorated rooms with a unique rustic flair. Our rooms range from king sized suites to beautifully designed honeymoon suites. Our rooms come equipped with Satellite TV, Wi Fi, and microwaves. Kitchens and fireplaces are also available for select rooms. Our hot tubs are what keeps our guests returning every year. Utilizing the natural local hot springs, our barrel shaped hot tubs offer a relaxing and unique experience for our guests. Open all day long, our guests enjoy a beautiful view of the San Juan Mountainside, under a gorgeous sky or a blanket of stars. Our guests enjoy relaxing in our springs after a long hike or jeep trip up the mountain during the summer, or after a challenging ski trip or ice climbing excursion in the winter. The natural, beautiful countryside offers the perfect backdrop to a wedding as well. We are able to accommodate wedding parties with advance notice. Join us for your next getaway, and see why our guests keep coming back every year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs Hotel Ouray
Box Canyon Lodge And Hot Springs
Box Canyon Ouray
Box Canyon Hotel Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing