We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Ouray
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 December 2008

Excellent bedding, very clean rooms and friendly service. Staff ready to help with any special needs. Very quiet environment with relaxing hot tubs.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bncrosby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (637)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

587 - 593 of 637 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2008

This hotel is tops in my book! They provide a wonderfully relaxing setting in one of the most beautiful mountain towns of Colorado. It is in a quiet spot away from main street and on the end of town.

Their geo-thermal hot tubs (as well as all the local hot spring offerings) are the best because they do not have a high sulfer content (therefore no nasty odor). We were perfectly comfortable in them while snow fell quietly all around us.

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. I ended up simply chatting with them for quite some time.

While it is not a "luxury" hotel, the rooms are very nice and comfortable. Slept like a baby!

We will most defintely be back, hopefully for a longer stay next time!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank renrutet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2008

We LOVED the fireplace, and large room; it was great with the snow falling. And the hot tubs in the snow with the beautiful views. We didn't want to leave, It was a great get away.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SeeColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2008

This is a nice motel - clean and in a good location. Ouray is a really nice town. We were directed to some lovely hikes and a very good restaurant by the front desk person who was very friendly and helpful. The price for the room was very reasonable.
The only thing that disturbed me is that the new owners do not treat their staff fairly. They are expected to work long hours by themselves with no breaks (at all).

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MER9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2008

Stayed here one night with some friends while on a road trip from San Diego to Boulder. First time to Ouray and Box Canyon came recommended from friends in Grand Junction. Place was great. Staff was nice. Room was just fine. Could walk to main street. View was beautiful. Nothing beat the hot tubs with a few beers while snow was falling. Fun stopover. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cubuff1453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2008

Very nice place. Well kept , clean rooms , friendly staff . After a long day's drive , the hot tub sure ironed out the kinks in our backs. I don't normally give recommendations but this place is the exception and we intend on staying here next year . I would highly recommend this to others .

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BigbirdOklahoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2008

We stayed at the Box Springs Lodge for 2 nights and enjoyed it tremendously.

Upon arrival, I found that a correction on the dates of my reservation had not been entered into their system. The desk clerk immediately made an adjustment and allowed us to choose from 2 available units, one which was a 2 bedroom apartment. We chose the 2 bedroom apartment and would highly recommend it to anyone who's travelling with a group of people.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. The hot spring tubs were awesome and extremely relaxing.

I would recommend this hotel to couples or small families that want a quiet place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank edk_sherwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.9 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
936 reviews
0.0 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#11 of 15 in Ouray
244 reviews
1.0 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge
Timber Ridge Lodge
#14 of 15 in Ouray
159 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ouray Inn
Ouray Inn
#6 of 15 in Ouray
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs

Address: 45 Third Avenue, Ouray, CO 81427
Region: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ouray
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ouray
Price Range: £89 - £843 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs is Ouray's most popular getaway experience. We offer extremely clean, attractively decorated rooms with a unique rustic flair. Our rooms range from king sized suites to beautifully designed honeymoon suites. Our rooms come equipped with Satellite TV, Wi Fi, and microwaves. Kitchens and fireplaces are also available for select rooms. Our hot tubs are what keeps our guests returning every year. Utilizing the natural local hot springs, our barrel shaped hot tubs offer a relaxing and unique experience for our guests. Open all day long, our guests enjoy a beautiful view of the San Juan Mountainside, under a gorgeous sky or a blanket of stars. Our guests enjoy relaxing in our springs after a long hike or jeep trip up the mountain during the summer, or after a challenging ski trip or ice climbing excursion in the winter. The natural, beautiful countryside offers the perfect backdrop to a wedding as well. We are able to accommodate wedding parties with advance notice. Join us for your next getaway, and see why our guests keep coming back every year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs Hotel Ouray
Box Canyon Lodge And Hot Springs
Box Canyon Ouray
Box Canyon Hotel Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing