We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you for a small piece of mind.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Ouray
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Junction, Colorado
1 review
“Thank you for a small piece of mind.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2008

My fiance and I had a death in the family and were needing a small piece of mind. A friend of mine suggested the Box Canyon Lodge. Suzie at the front desk was wonderful and very concerned with what she could do to assist us. She took the time to make us feel as though we were the only people staying there. I just want Suzie and the other staff know that you gave us that little piece of mind the we needed. Thank you very much.
Tiffany Nash

  • Liked — The natural pools and helpful and understanding staff.
  • Disliked — Nothing I didn't like.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank supracourage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    145
    24
    6
    4
See reviews for
119
333
32
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2008

My wife and I first discovered the Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs in November 1992, and we have been coming back to Ouray for Thanksgiving every year since. There is simply no other hotel in the world quite like the Box Canyon Lodge. While the rooms are modestly appointed, they are tastefully decorated with local art and southwestern themes. The rooms are also clean, well-maintained, and the housestaff is very friendly, but what really makes the Box Canyon Lodge something extra special is its own hot tubs, supplied with fresh water from natural hot springs. The hot tubs are well-equipped and maintained, and are strategically positioned on the hillside directly behind the hotel. The water is clean and totally devoid of the sulfurous smell so common with natural hot springs, and the views of the San Juan Mountains that surround Ouray are stunning in their beauty. Sitting in 105°F water when the surroundings are covered with a fresh 2-ft. blanket of snow is something that must be experienced to be truly understood.

The former owners of the Box Canyon Lodge did an admirable job running the hotel, including using some of the water from the hot springs to heat (partially) the rooms. The new owners have picked up right where the former owners left off, and are making really great changes to the hotel as well. For example, the hot water for the hotel (i.e., hot water for showers and sinks) is now heated by the hot springs via heat exchangers. The same is true for a new laundry for guests that has just been added. It's very possible that the Box Canyon Lodge is now one of the "greenest" hotels in the world!

As for the town of Ouray, it has as much to offer in terms of its own municipal hot springs (which we also sometimes visit), as well as excellent dining, shopping, hiking, horeseback riding, 4WDriving, etc., and the Box Canyon Lodge is situated ideally for easy access to all of the above.

My wife and I are very hesitant to give a high rating to a hotel or restaurant. However, for the Box Canyon Lodge, we easily give a 5+ out of 5.

  • Liked — Unique hot springs
  • Disliked — One hot tub (the top one) was a little too cool - not a biggy, but you asked.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Hadrons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WInter Haven, FL
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2008

Excellent bedding, very clean rooms and friendly service. Staff ready to help with any special needs. Very quiet environment with relaxing hot tubs.

  • Liked — bedding but over all service great
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bncrosby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Junction
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2008

This hotel is tops in my book! They provide a wonderfully relaxing setting in one of the most beautiful mountain towns of Colorado. It is in a quiet spot away from main street and on the end of town.

Their geo-thermal hot tubs (as well as all the local hot spring offerings) are the best because they do not have a high sulfer content (therefore no nasty odor). We were perfectly comfortable in them while snow fell quietly all around us.

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. I ended up simply chatting with them for quite some time.

While it is not a "luxury" hotel, the rooms are very nice and comfortable. Slept like a baby!

We will most defintely be back, hopefully for a longer stay next time!

  • Liked — The Hot Spring Hot Tubs
  • Disliked — I loved everything
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank renrutet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2008

We LOVED the fireplace, and large room; it was great with the snow falling. And the hot tubs in the snow with the beautiful views. We didn't want to leave, It was a great get away.

  • Liked — We got away from the city, for a quiet get away, and the views of the mountains.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SeeColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FALL'S CHURCH, VA
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2008

This is a nice motel - clean and in a good location. Ouray is a really nice town. We were directed to some lovely hikes and a very good restaurant by the front desk person who was very friendly and helpful. The price for the room was very reasonable.
The only thing that disturbed me is that the new owners do not treat their staff fairly. They are expected to work long hours by themselves with no breaks (at all).

  • Liked — Location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Poor management
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MER9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
208 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2008

Stayed here one night with some friends while on a road trip from San Diego to Boulder. First time to Ouray and Box Canyon came recommended from friends in Grand Junction. Place was great. Staff was nice. Room was just fine. Could walk to main street. View was beautiful. Nothing beat the hot tubs with a few beers while snow was falling. Fun stopover. Would stay here again.

  • Liked — hot tubs, staff
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cubuff1453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.0 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.9 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
#8 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ouray Victorian Inn
Ouray Victorian Inn
#5 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#7 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs

Property: Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs
Address: 45 Third Avenue, Ouray, CO 81427
Region: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ouray
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs is Ouray's most popular getaway experience. We offer extremely clean, attractively decorated rooms with a unique rustic flair. Our rooms range from king sized suites to beautifully designed honeymoon suites. Our rooms come equipped with Satellite TV, Wi Fi, and microwaves. Kitchens and fireplaces are also available for select rooms. Our hot tubs are what keeps our guests returning every year. Utilizing the natural local hot springs, our barrel shaped hot tubs offer a relaxing and unique experience for our guests. Open all day long, our guests enjoy a beautiful view of the San Juan Mountainside, under a gorgeous sky or a blanket of stars. Our guests enjoy relaxing in our springs after a long hike or jeep trip up the mountain during the summer, or after a challenging ski trip or ice climbing excursion in the winter. The natural, beautiful countryside offers the perfect backdrop to a wedding as well. We are able to accommodate wedding parties with advance notice. Join us for your next getaway, and see why our guests keep coming back every year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Box Canyon Lodge And Hot Springs
Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs Hotel Ouray
Box Canyon Ouray
Box Canyon Hotel Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing