We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Box Canyon lodge & Hot Spings is the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Ouray
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 December 2008

Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs Ouray, CO the best.
Date Dec 20. 2008
Reviewer Eva TripAdvisor Member Las vegas NV,
We stayed at the Box Canyon Lodge Ourey, CO for 4 nights, The rooms are clean comfortable. Complementary coffee every morning with fruits and muffins. We payed for the 4 nights $322.28 I think it is very resonable. I would recomend the hotel for everybody for families with kids. The hot tubs are great.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank keikoLasvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (641)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

584 - 590 of 641 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2008

Great locally owned hotel. Very responsive to guest needs and friendly. Would definately stay there in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank craig94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2008

The people at Box Canyon have always been friendly and that goes for the townspeople as well. The Honeymoon Suite is roomy with a hot tub there in the room...one of our favorite attractions. Everything has always been clean. Bring snowboots so you can trek up through the snow to the outdoor hot tubs. They are staggered up the hillside and there's nothing like having a snowball fight to cool off a bit after relaxing under the starlit sky. We love going to Ouray in the off season. Some of the shops are still open and the pace is quiet and relaxed. There's snow on the ground (not the sidewalks) and deer roam the streets.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JudeandLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2008

Over ten years ago, Box Canyon developed a 'membership' club to increase their traffic in the winter seasons--stay at the Lodge once a month from October thru May at a very special discounted rate--and we've been doing just that for over ten years.
Often we send friends in our place for a special get-away and now our friends use it for their special get-aways. The facilities are always immaculate, warm friendly atmosphere, looking out for the best interests of their clientele.
The hot tubs are the icing on the cake, clean, private yet open to views that are often indescribable. There is nothing like sitting under a partly cloudy sky with snow flakes gently falling on your heated face as you bask in 104+ degrees of mineral water.
Ouray is a winter wonderland with piles of snow and deer wandering the streets. While not all the shops are open in the winter, those that are ... are wonderful. The restaurants have great food with relaxing atmospheres. It is well worth the drive and time to get away from it all.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BessieAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2008

We come to Box Canyon Lodge whenever we want to get away for a weekend of relaxation! The people at the lodge are so friendly and accommodating. We enjoy the hot springs very much. The scenery is amazing, the restaurants excellent, and most of all the people of Ouray are friendly, warm, and always welcoming. An amazing place to stay--we always have a wonderful time!

Stayed: December 2008
Thank bowhunter56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2008

My fiance and I had a death in the family and were needing a small piece of mind. A friend of mine suggested the Box Canyon Lodge. Suzie at the front desk was wonderful and very concerned with what she could do to assist us. She took the time to make us feel as though we were the only people staying there. I just want Suzie and the other staff know that you gave us that little piece of mind the we needed. Thank you very much.
Tiffany Nash

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank supracourage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2008

My wife and I first discovered the Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs in November 1992, and we have been coming back to Ouray for Thanksgiving every year since. There is simply no other hotel in the world quite like the Box Canyon Lodge. While the rooms are modestly appointed, they are tastefully decorated with local art and southwestern themes. The rooms are also clean, well-maintained, and the housestaff is very friendly, but what really makes the Box Canyon Lodge something extra special is its own hot tubs, supplied with fresh water from natural hot springs. The hot tubs are well-equipped and maintained, and are strategically positioned on the hillside directly behind the hotel. The water is clean and totally devoid of the sulfurous smell so common with natural hot springs, and the views of the San Juan Mountains that surround Ouray are stunning in their beauty. Sitting in 105°F water when the surroundings are covered with a fresh 2-ft. blanket of snow is something that must be experienced to be truly understood.

The former owners of the Box Canyon Lodge did an admirable job running the hotel, including using some of the water from the hot springs to heat (partially) the rooms. The new owners have picked up right where the former owners left off, and are making really great changes to the hotel as well. For example, the hot water for the hotel (i.e., hot water for showers and sinks) is now heated by the hot springs via heat exchangers. The same is true for a new laundry for guests that has just been added. It's very possible that the Box Canyon Lodge is now one of the "greenest" hotels in the world!

As for the town of Ouray, it has as much to offer in terms of its own municipal hot springs (which we also sometimes visit), as well as excellent dining, shopping, hiking, horeseback riding, 4WDriving, etc., and the Box Canyon Lodge is situated ideally for easy access to all of the above.

My wife and I are very hesitant to give a high rating to a hotel or restaurant. However, for the Box Canyon Lodge, we easily give a 5+ out of 5.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Hadrons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.9 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
937 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
#11 of 15 in Ouray
323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#7 of 15 in Ouray
104 reviews
0 mi away
Ouray Victorian Inn
Ouray Victorian Inn
#4 of 15 in Ouray
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs

Address: 45 Third Avenue, Ouray, CO 81427
Region: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ouray
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ouray
Price Range: £87 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs is Ouray's most popular getaway experience. We offer extremely clean, attractively decorated rooms with a unique rustic flair. Our rooms range from king sized suites to beautifully designed honeymoon suites. Our rooms come equipped with Satellite TV, Wi Fi, and microwaves. Kitchens and fireplaces are also available for select rooms. Our hot tubs are what keeps our guests returning every year. Utilizing the natural local hot springs, our barrel shaped hot tubs offer a relaxing and unique experience for our guests. Open all day long, our guests enjoy a beautiful view of the San Juan Mountainside, under a gorgeous sky or a blanket of stars. Our guests enjoy relaxing in our springs after a long hike or jeep trip up the mountain during the summer, or after a challenging ski trip or ice climbing excursion in the winter. The natural, beautiful countryside offers the perfect backdrop to a wedding as well. We are able to accommodate wedding parties with advance notice. Join us for your next getaway, and see why our guests keep coming back every year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Box Canyon Lodge And Hot Springs
Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs Hotel Ouray
Box Canyon Ouray
Box Canyon Hotel Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing