We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seems a little higher priced at first, BUT IT IS WELL WORTH IT!”
Review of Black Bear Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Black Bear Manor
Ranked #2 of 8 Ouray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2011

At first I thought the Black Bear Manor was a little higher priced then others in Ouray, but I took the chance. And Boy! Am I Happy we did! This little gem in the mountains is amazing. You get complimentary beer & wine for two hours,(which by the way we loved chatting with Erica the Manager on the deck each evening, while enjoying Ouray's beauty), local truffle chocolates at check in and THE BEST breakfast in Ouray! I can't wait until our visit. We love the Black Bear Manor and can't wait to tell everyone we know.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelly85044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 435 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2011

I would definately recommend this B&B. From the moment I arrived I felt welcome, the house has a great feel to it and the room was tastefully decorated and very clean. The only issue I had was the bed creeked very loudly and if you are a light sleeper you could be easily disturbed.
The breakfast was home cooked and excellent and there was plenty to go around so after eating it I was full until dinner. The open fridge with water and soft drinks was an added bonus and the evening socials where wine and beer is served is a great way to meet fellow guests and receive helpful advice on where to dine. Our host Carol was a delight.
I would highly recommend this and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank verngws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We stayed at the Black Bear Manor on an overnight on the way to Durango. The location and accomodations were great. "Happy hour (wine and beer)" was much appreciated-got to meet some other folks staying here. Erica was great with her hostessing; was helpful with info for things to do in the area. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cruiserdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Our stay at Black Bear Manor was very nice. We were greeted at the door and arrived just in time for a glass of wine during BBM's daily happy hour where you are encouraged and invited to sit with the other guests and the host and chat. The rooms and common areas are extremely clean, and guests have access to a fridge stocked with waters and sodas and any leftover baked goods from breakfast. Carol, the host, provided plenty of recommendations for dinner, hot springs and hiking.

Like everyone has said, breakfast was great -- even the coffee!

My one caution is that this place, like many older homes, does not have super excellent insulation, and if you are a light sleeper, don't reserve one of the standard rooms! They are downstairs and you can hear every noise made by the folks upstairs.

Room Tip: Reserve upstairs rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MadisonsTravels07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2010

Friendly staff. Great breakfast. Good location. Clean rooms. Quiet

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarsonH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2010

Ouray, CO is by far the most magical place I have ever been to! Its challenging to discribe why...but lets just say that your soul soars when your there! I have stayed at 5 star resorts before so I know what outstanding service is....
The love and care that goes into just about everything at the blackbear is mind blowing. From the welcome, to the amentities, the rooms are gorgeous and comfy! The breakfast is like no other! I sometimes want to jump on plane from Miami JUST to go for those recipes!!
The staff love what they do and love serving others....everything is from the heart.

YOU MUST EXPERIENCE THIS BED & BREAKFAST AT LEAST ONCE!!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonia4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2010

The Black Bear manor is a warm and inviting bed and breakfast. The breakfast was a culinary delight. I highly recommend the peach french toast casserole! I will definitely go back to Black Bear Manor.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zmcdaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.7 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
936 reviews
0.2 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ouray Inn
Ouray Inn
#6 of 15 in Ouray
141 reviews
0.8 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge
Timber Ridge Lodge
#14 of 15 in Ouray
160 reviews
0.1 mi away
China Clipper Inn
China Clipper Inn
#1 of 8 in Ouray
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Manor

Address: 118 6th Ave, Ouray, CO 81427
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ouray
Price Range: £120 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Black Bear Manor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary English Cottage-style Bed & Breakfast with slate roof, set near to a rambling mountain stream & surrounded by the San Juan Mtns. Located in town, close to restaurants and shops, and offering the best Breakfast in town! All of our unique rooms include a full hot made fresh breakfast daily. The views from our indoor observatory are some of the best in Ouray. Enjoy our view while while resting on the large deck or from the inside through large windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Black Bear Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Manor Hotel Ouray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing