We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Black Bear Manor
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Ouray Inn(Ouray)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (436)
Filter reviews
436 results
Traveller rating
403
22
7
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
403
22
7
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblack beansb bbed and breakfastother gueststhird floorhot tubhosts phileach morninghome away from homeporch swingplace to staygreat hostsin townevery eveningbreakfast was amazingcasserolefresh fruit
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
337 - 342 of 436 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Black Bear Manor is a must stay B&B for anyone in the Ouray/Telluride, CO area. The service was inpecable, the food was fabulous and the room was wonderful! No detail is missed. From the bedside truffles to the relaxing "Happy Hour", this place can't be beat.
One of the most impressive accomodations at this B&B was the breakfast itself. Apparently, a couple of the other guests had special diet needs and the hostess, Erica, made special dishes in which reflected these needs.

All in all, this was one of the best experiences for my husband and I.

Thank your BBM!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kacy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

The Living Social Advertisement triggered the desire to visit the Western Slope of the Rockies so we booked the Queen Suite at the Black Bear Manor in Ouray for two nights. The Manor is conveniently located two blocks from downtown with great views of the box canyon in all directions. In addition to sleeping at the Manor, they provide daily breakfast and happy hour. This was the opportunity to meet the other people at the Manor on the large outdoor deck during the summer. The Manor was our hub for outdoor activities like hiking the Box Canyon and Cascade Falls trails in town and 4x4 tours into surrounding mountain passes. Our guide took us up some hair-raising roads to the top of Imogene Pass at 13, 110 feet and beautiful 360 degree views include some of the best wildflower displays we've seen. At lunch & in the evenings, our hosts recommended restaurants in downtown Ouray including margaritas and chile rellenos at Buen Tiempo, beers and hamburgers in the outdoor Biergarten at Billy Goats Gruff, pub food at O'brien's pub, and great steaks at the Outlaw, all within a few blocks walk from the Manor. We were lucky to book a concert at the historic Wheeler Opera House downtown with emerging Colorado country star, Carin Mari and the Pony Express. All in all, a very full two days. So busy that we couldn't fit in the Ouray Hot Springs which you probably would want to visit.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

The staff was very welcoming from the moment we checked in. Black Bear Manor is a very charming place. We had an absolutely delicious breakfast each morning. Our hostess and the staff were very accomodating and gracious during our entire stay. Having access to the refrigerator with waters & sodas was very convenient. The afternoon happy hours were very enjoyable. We would definately stay there again when back in Ouray!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skicolorado2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

We stayed two nights in room 3. As we've stayed in many B&B's during our travels, I feel comfortable giving the Bear Manor a solid "3".

The Good:
- Breakfast was delicious. Lots of options, and three hot dishes every morning.
- Convenient location to the main street in Ouray, just a couple blocks away

The Opportunities for Improvement
- The door to our room was very thin, and didn't close properly. The top of the door needs to be sanded off or something. This is an issue anyone coming into this room would notice, and we were surprised it hadn't been resolved. It was also difficult to turn the deadbolt lock, as the door is not properly aligned.
- Decor was sparse, though I believe we were in the most basic room on the premises. No view of the river or mountains, and we were aware of other guests walking around outside the door to the outside (there are two doors - one to the inside of the house, the other to the outdoors).
- Staff seemed a little flat and tired. We asked to have one of the breakfast recipes emailed to us, and two weeks later we still haven't received it.
- There are a couple loose boards on the deck out front. Some general maintenance needs attending to on the property.

I think some of the other rooms are better furnished and have nice views, but I wouldn't recommend room 3 if you are looking for a luxurious B&B experience.

After two nights we moved to the Hot Springs Inn, which has fantastic river views and spacious rooms, though their breakfast is not in the same class as Black Bear Manor's. Same price - about $130/night.

Room Tip: Room 3 is very basic, and lacks privacy.
Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
3  Thank alliesana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

At first I thought the Black Bear Manor was a little higher priced then others in Ouray, but I took the chance. And Boy! Am I Happy we did! This little gem in the mountains is amazing. You get complimentary beer & wine for two hours,(which by the way we loved chatting with Erica the Manager on the deck each evening, while enjoying Ouray's beauty), local truffle chocolates at check in and THE BEST breakfast in Ouray! I can't wait until our visit. We love the Black Bear Manor and can't wait to tell everyone we know.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelly85044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews