We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great High Country Get-away”
Review of Black Bear Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Black Bear Manor
Ranked #2 of 8 Ouray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great High Country Get-away”
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Black Bear Manor is a great place to stay when visiting beautiful Ouray, Colorado. Our room was clean and well appointed. The food was marvelous. We enjoyed sitting on the deck and chatting with the other guests during the evening social hour. Erica was a most excellent host and makes you feel truly welcome.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamarizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    21
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
31
259
8
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

It was a nice hotel. There is a great view and a few nice amenities to have, like the beer and wine reception and a bonus shared movie and game room. However, I had some trouble with making my reservation. They kept on not being able to find me when I tried to confirm. I had to have contact with them too many times in my opinion, either via e-mail or phone. Unfortunately, they didn't seem very organized. I think they would benefit from an online reservation system. The breakfast was a little disappointing. I'm a vegetarian, and it could have been more veggie friendly. There were a few dishes that could have easily been made vegetarian and not lost any appeal. Kind of a bummer. Was looking forward to a stick-to-your-ribs breakfast, but I was stuck with breads (but yummy breads, don't get me wrong). I missed my dog, we normally just stay in pet-friendly hotels and bring her along. They are not pet-friendly. Also, we are expecting, and it's adults only. For these two reasons, I doubt we will stay there again, unless they make some changes. Highly recommend it if you don't have any of the predicaments I did, though I don't know how you could change their organizational problems.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cassyj18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

A nice B&B that is non-pretentious, comfortable while not being over the top. Great location, it is a short walking distance to about everything in Central Ouray. Staff was great and food was great. Happy hours 4-6 is a nice way to enjoy a good beer and wine and listening to and sharing the stories from other travelers staying at the Manor.

The room was average, TV was hard to watch due to its location near the ceiling and being an LCD screen it was pretty much a black screen. No place to put or hang anything while in the shower room. Lack of outlets if you require a C-pap or sound machine to sleep. Pretty dirty behind the bed side tables if you do have to access the electric sockets there. Wireless access is available but can be extremely slow, probably that is a function of the local internet provider and not really something the Manor could improve on. Neighbors dog liked to bark each morning bright and early outside our window.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saluki100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2011

The rooms are well done. Beds are comfortable. Who can complain about free chocolates and wine. I do have one complaint but it may be irrelevant to your travel. The rooms do not have ac which is kinda a big deal when the temperature got up to 85. Otherwise, breakfast was top notch and the service was great!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheila d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peyton, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

The breakfast each morning was excellent every day, and the receipes were not the average egg and meat meal. The hosts are extremely warm, inviting and helpful. We will be staying there again next year! The housekeeper came in every day with clean towels and bed was made daily. It was truly a wonderful escape from reality.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Black Bear Manor is a must stay B&B for anyone in the Ouray/Telluride, CO area. The service was inpecable, the food was fabulous and the room was wonderful! No detail is missed. From the bedside truffles to the relaxing "Happy Hour", this place can't be beat.
One of the most impressive accomodations at this B&B was the breakfast itself. Apparently, a couple of the other guests had special diet needs and the hostess, Erica, made special dishes in which reflected these needs.

All in all, this was one of the best experiences for my husband and I.

Thank your BBM!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kacy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

The Living Social Advertisement triggered the desire to visit the Western Slope of the Rockies so we booked the Queen Suite at the Black Bear Manor in Ouray for two nights. The Manor is conveniently located two blocks from downtown with great views of the box canyon in all directions. In addition to sleeping at the Manor, they provide daily breakfast and happy hour. This was the opportunity to meet the other people at the Manor on the large outdoor deck during the summer. The Manor was our hub for outdoor activities like hiking the Box Canyon and Cascade Falls trails in town and 4x4 tours into surrounding mountain passes. Our guide took us up some hair-raising roads to the top of Imogene Pass at 13, 110 feet and beautiful 360 degree views include some of the best wildflower displays we've seen. At lunch & in the evenings, our hosts recommended restaurants in downtown Ouray including margaritas and chile rellenos at Buen Tiempo, beers and hamburgers in the outdoor Biergarten at Billy Goats Gruff, pub food at O'brien's pub, and great steaks at the Outlaw, all within a few blocks walk from the Manor. We were lucky to book a concert at the historic Wheeler Opera House downtown with emerging Colorado country star, Carin Mari and the Pony Express. All in all, a very full two days. So busy that we couldn't fit in the Ouray Hot Springs which you probably would want to visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.7 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
0.2 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#7 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.0 mi away
Ouray Inn
Ouray Inn
#9 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.1 mi away
China Clipper Inn
China Clipper Inn
#1 of 8 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Manor

Property: Black Bear Manor
Address: 118 6th Ave, Ouray, CO 81427
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Black Bear Manor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary English Cottage-style Bed & Breakfast with slate roof, set near to a rambling mountain stream & surrounded by the San Juan Mtns. Located in town, close to restaurants and shops, and offering the best Breakfast in town! All of our unique rooms include a full hot made fresh breakfast daily. The views from our indoor observatory are some of the best in Ouray. Enjoy our view while while resting on the large deck or from the inside through large windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Black Bear Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Manor Hotel Ouray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing