We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT TO BE MISSED!!!”
Review of Black Bear Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Black Bear Manor
Ranked #2 of 8 Ouray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
1 review
“NOT TO BE MISSED!!!”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Perfect place to stay!!! We were fortunate to have met the owners and their beautiful
daughter and granddaughter when we arrived. We were treated like family and even
given a lovely bottle of wine to help us unwind after our long day travelling. Breakfast
was delightful and really delicious. What a treasure this place is!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanda2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    398
    21
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
31
262
8
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

My wife and i loved our stay here. Carol, our host, was phenomenal - incredibly friendly and gracious. The room was excellent, and had a side entrance which was convenient and the bed was very comfortable.

Dont miss the view from the 3rd floor conservatory nor the breakfast. We cant wait to go back next year.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms on the west side have a second, outside entrance that makes it convenient to move...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbuscemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park Ridge, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Had an amazing time staying at the Black Bear Manor. The room was gorgeous, beautifully decorated, and had such sweet accomodations, the breakfast amazing-the food fresh and the conversations with the guests all sharing how we are all going to come back, great ambiance for the area in the living room, the deck, sitting on the rocking chairs. watching the deer with all the other guests fabulous. Whenever I requested to go into the hot tub, huge towels were there immediately!!! The ongoing fabulous coffee always 'with something extra' made it feel like home. The third floor observatory with the tv and popcorn and the view was just amazing. You can see the stars forever. So much to do in the area-this was one of my best stays in a B&B!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

This B & B is a true gem in the mountain town of Ouray, CO. Hosts are great and so accommodating! The breakfasts were fantastic and and the added coffee and tea bar set up was so nice! Had 3rd floor observatory with movies, popcorn, ice, and microwave. Plus the most beautiful views!! The rooms are so nice and have everything you would need. All in all, one of the best B & Bs we've stayed in.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Black Bear Manor is a great place to stay when visiting beautiful Ouray, Colorado. Our room was clean and well appointed. The food was marvelous. We enjoyed sitting on the deck and chatting with the other guests during the evening social hour. Erica was a most excellent host and makes you feel truly welcome.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamarizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

It was a nice hotel. There is a great view and a few nice amenities to have, like the beer and wine reception and a bonus shared movie and game room. However, I had some trouble with making my reservation. They kept on not being able to find me when I tried to confirm. I had to have contact with them too many times in my opinion, either via e-mail or phone. Unfortunately, they didn't seem very organized. I think they would benefit from an online reservation system. The breakfast was a little disappointing. I'm a vegetarian, and it could have been more veggie friendly. There were a few dishes that could have easily been made vegetarian and not lost any appeal. Kind of a bummer. Was looking forward to a stick-to-your-ribs breakfast, but I was stuck with breads (but yummy breads, don't get me wrong). I missed my dog, we normally just stay in pet-friendly hotels and bring her along. They are not pet-friendly. Also, we are expecting, and it's adults only. For these two reasons, I doubt we will stay there again, unless they make some changes. Highly recommend it if you don't have any of the predicaments I did, though I don't know how you could change their organizational problems.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cassyj18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

A nice B&B that is non-pretentious, comfortable while not being over the top. Great location, it is a short walking distance to about everything in Central Ouray. Staff was great and food was great. Happy hours 4-6 is a nice way to enjoy a good beer and wine and listening to and sharing the stories from other travelers staying at the Manor.

The room was average, TV was hard to watch due to its location near the ceiling and being an LCD screen it was pretty much a black screen. No place to put or hang anything while in the shower room. Lack of outlets if you require a C-pap or sound machine to sleep. Pretty dirty behind the bed side tables if you do have to access the electric sockets there. Wireless access is available but can be extremely slow, probably that is a function of the local internet provider and not really something the Manor could improve on. Neighbors dog liked to bark each morning bright and early outside our window.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saluki100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.7 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
893 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
156 reviews
0.2 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ouray Inn
Ouray Inn
#7 of 15 in Ouray
120 reviews
0.8 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge
Timber Ridge Lodge
#13 of 15 in Ouray
156 reviews
0.1 mi away
China Clipper Inn
China Clipper Inn
#1 of 8 in Ouray
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Manor

Property: Black Bear Manor
Address: 118 6th Ave, Ouray, CO 81427
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Black Bear Manor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary English Cottage-style Bed & Breakfast with slate roof, set near to a rambling mountain stream & surrounded by the San Juan Mtns. Located in town, close to restaurants and shops, and offering the best Breakfast in town! All of our unique rooms include a full hot made fresh breakfast daily. The views from our indoor observatory are some of the best in Ouray. Enjoy our view while while resting on the large deck or from the inside through large windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and TripOnline SA so you can book your Black Bear Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Manor Hotel Ouray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing