We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Bear Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Black Bear Manor
Ranked #2 of 9 Ouray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
“My Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

Had a great time. Most people don't know about Ouray because Telluride is 45 minutes away. Ouray is a picturesque town surrounded by mountains. Add to that beginning a great place to stay and you will have a great time.
This B and B is one of the best I have stayed in. Very comfortable and homey, almost like the old boarding houses of the 1920's :-) Comfortable reception / living area with fireplace. Room was clean and well decorated with flat screen TV ( and plenty of hot water! ) with truffle chocolates to greet me.
Breakfast was full and satisfying .. many choices .. you get hungry at 7700 FT in elevation .. plus happy hour between 4-6 with wine and draft beer.
Staff was friendly and efficient. All in all, Ouray with all it's outside activities and restaurants along with a great place to retire and rest at night, you will have a great time.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinP53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    21
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
31
259
8
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paso Robles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

This was the second time that I have been to the BBM and it is absolutely heaven on earth. The town is so peaceful, no traffic lights or traffic. It is up in the mountains with gorgeous views and lots of trails (just keep an eye out for bears). Our room there was upstairs both times. It is quiet and comfortable and the staff is so friendly. Any request we had, they took care of it immediately. The food is delicious, I think I gained about 5 lbs, and happy hour every afternoon was a great way to meet the other guests. I love this place and will continue to go back as often as I can...

Susan
California

Room Tip: The first time I was there, we were in the Suite and it was wonderful! It has a fireplace, balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 655SusanS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

This is my second time to the Black Bear Manor. This time, I was able to bring my husband along.
We stayed in the Suite with the steam shower and the double balconies. The bed was so cozy and we had a fireplace in our room too. What a treat!
Each morning- the breakfast was amazing. Erica and her staff really put on a spread. The Manager's happy hour was a nice touch...gathering downstairs with the other guests to have a glass of vino before dinner. What a magical weekend at the BBM!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, NV
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

We spent 2 nights at Black Bear Manor B&B. Our Hosts were amazing. During our stay we were greeted with passes to Ouray Hot Springs, hand-crafted chocolate truffles, and a bag of coffee. An evening wine reception daily allowed us to meet other guests and socialize. Lots to do in Ouray. Margaret gave several suggestions. And did I mention breakfast? Incredible! We will be returning soon! Stay at this B&B...you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Etcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

My husband and I love Black Bear Manor Bed and Breakfast! We love bnb's and this one IS OUR FAVORITE! This was our 5th or 6th time back and our stay feels like home. The staff is so pleasant and the breakfast is fab! Views are amazing and main street is a 2 min beautiful walk. We've stayed in several different rooms and all are so clean and comfy :) We've met other guests that are so happy there too. Best bnb we've stayed at. Oh, their bbm coffee is so delicious! WE WILL BE BACK! Sherry and Kevin Pine

Room Tip: try them all :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SHERRY P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paso Robles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Black Bear Manor is nestled in the CO Rockies, majestic mountain views from every room and the surrounding decks. BBM provides outstanding service from the facility managers, cooks and housekeeping. Delicious homemade breakfast with high quality coffee and teas were provided for the 4 day stay. The bed and breakfast is a quaint place to stay when visiting the beautiful area of Ouray.

THANK YOU!!!

Room Tip: Any room and view is spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Serena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

We just spent 3 nights at the Black Bear Manor. The staff is superb. Erica creates delicious breakfast dishes. Happy hour is excellent and well attended. I have a new favorite beer--Pinstripe ale out of Durango. The rooms are unique and very clean. The views are fantastic. The Ouray loop trail is just behind hotel across the river. Downtown is a block away with many fun restuarants and shops. We hope to return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sigmonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.7 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
0.2 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.2 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#7 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ouray Inn
Ouray Inn
#9 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
#8 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.1 mi away
China Clipper Inn
China Clipper Inn
#1 of 9 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Manor

Property: Black Bear Manor
Address: 118 6th Ave, Ouray, CO 81427
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Black Bear Manor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary English Cottage-style Bed & Breakfast with slate roof, set near to a rambling mountain stream & surrounded by the San Juan Mtns. Located in town, close to restaurants and shops, and offering the best Breakfast in town! All of our unique rooms include a full hot made fresh breakfast daily. The views from our indoor observatory are some of the best in Ouray. Enjoy our view while while resting on the large deck or from the inside through large windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Black Bear Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Manor Hotel Ouray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing