We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great breakfasts”
Review of Black Bear Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Black Bear Manor
Ranked #2 of 8 Ouray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hallstead, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great breakfasts”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Our room was warm with no A/C but Ouray was enjoying a heat wave. There was a ceiling fan and a door opened onto a balcony to allow some air circulation. The room was comfortable. Breakfasts were amazing, served on the outdoor patio. The location is walking distance to everything.

Room Tip: We stayed in a "king room". There was a love seat but the room does not have a lot of ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Syv_Peppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    21
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
31
259
8
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lone Tree, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We just returned from 3 nights in SW Colorado and stayed all 3 nights at the Black Bear Manor in Ouray. Treat yourself -- you will be pampered and cared for beyond your expectations. Phil & Lucie are so genuine and warm in their cordial hospitality -- and it is so natural for them. From the moment we arrived until the moment we left, they doted on us and made our stay beyond our expectations. A wonderful couple, the kind of people you'd want for lifetime friends. The facility is lovely, well appointed, clean and the food is stellar. We loved every single moment.

Room Tip: We chose the main floor for personal reasons, and it was very, very quiet --- and close to the coffe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McMullen144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The minute we arrived we were welcomed and felt right at home. The rooms are comfy and clean, the town and views are awesome and the breakfast is over the top. Many thanks to Lucy and Phil for their outstanding hospitality! We looking forward to coming back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaTracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Celebrating my birthday and our 36th wedding anniversary. This was our first trip to Ouray and the first time we had stayed at a bed and breakfast. We stayed in the royal king room. Everything about the Black Bear is great especially the hosts Lucie and Phil. They are welcoming, helpful and run a fantastic place. Enough cant be said about the wonderful breakfast made from scratch in the mornings. They treated us to a bottle of wine brought to our room. We were spoiled while we were there. The wine/beer reception is a great way to meet everyone who is staying at the house. We are looking forward to our next visit there.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank radcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2013

First time @ a B&B, but I honestly cannot think of anything negative about the Black Bear - Ouray is one of the most beautiful towns in the country, the Manor was super nice, the food/hospitality was unbeatable, and the owners Lucie & Phil really put their heads and hearts into the place. My wife and I were there on our honeymoon and had an unforgettable time, we highly recommend this place. If we really had to think of a drawback, it would be the "no kids/no pets" rule - but hey, policy is policy - and the 'Bear' is much better enjoyed w/out the distractions of kids & pets anyway :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tfirsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denver, co
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Celebrating our 35th wedding anniversary and chose the Black Bear Manor. Great location, great set up, but what made it most special were the proprietors, Phil and Lucy. They make you feel welcome and relaxed and interested as well as interesting. They welcome you with a get acquainted happy hour, and in the morning, present you with a delicious feast of a breakfast. Eat indoors or outdoors. The view is amazing. The walk to Main Street is two blocks. The walk to the river is one house over. The porch swing fits two. Sit and relax, or hike around the area, or go site seeing. Whatever you fancy to do, is ok here. Will definitely return. Thank you Phil and Lucy for your fine hospitality and providing us with a very enjoyable weekend getaway.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathyred9824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, CO
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We were in Ouray from August 22 - 25, 2013. The Black Bear Manor is where we stayed for 3 nights. It is just a beautiful place with wonderful antiques everywhere. Such a relaxing sitting room with a wonderful bookcase! The 1st night our room was a little warm, but they had a fan and an additional cooler that we didn't think to use. The next night we did turn the cooler on, and it was perfect! We loved the quiet and closeness still to the main street. The breakfasts were amazing! We couldn't believe all the selections that Jim and then Lucy and Phil served up. Whatever we could have possibly wanted was on that buffet. They are the nicest people we've ever encountered. We will definitely keep Black Bear Manor on our list of places to return to. My favorite place in the town was the bookstore in the Beaumont Hotel. What an interesting little store! We actually did quite a lot of our Christmas shopping in other stores throughout the town. The surrounding mountains are just awesome with breathtaking views. Box Canyon Falls was a fun place to hike to also. We want to go back in the spring when it's even more active. We could go on and on about all the things to do and see in the area. We're ready to go back! Cheri & Ed Kocman

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clkocman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.7 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
0.2 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#7 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.0 mi away
Ouray Inn
Ouray Inn
#9 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.1 mi away
China Clipper Inn
China Clipper Inn
#1 of 8 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Manor

Property: Black Bear Manor
Address: 118 6th Ave, Ouray, CO 81427
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Black Bear Manor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary English Cottage-style Bed & Breakfast with slate roof, set near to a rambling mountain stream & surrounded by the San Juan Mtns. Located in town, close to restaurants and shops, and offering the best Breakfast in town! All of our unique rooms include a full hot made fresh breakfast daily. The views from our indoor observatory are some of the best in Ouray. Enjoy our view while while resting on the large deck or from the inside through large windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Black Bear Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Manor Hotel Ouray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing