We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peace, Beauty and Gourmet Food - Non-Stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Black Bear Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Black Bear Manor
Ranked #2 of 8 Ouray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peace, Beauty and Gourmet Food - Non-Stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

I love this review opportunity as it allows me a chance to mentally experience my vacation, again !
Over the past 7 years, I have had the pleasure to visit the BBM about 9 times. I don't know how it works, but it just gets better each time. I WILL be there again, and again and again !!!

Room Tip: They are all good, but if you are going for a Celebration, the room with an inside Jacuzzi is VERY R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank King44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    21
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
31
259
8
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

The Black Bear Manor is a gem hidden in the beautiful mountains of Ouray. The rooms are fit for kings and queens, and the view from the observatory cannot be matched. If the quaint town of Ouray wasn't so darn cute I would have had absolutely no need to leave the Black Bear. It is definitely a favorite destination! And the food! Come hungry!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Acorroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Tennessee
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

When in the Ouray area I will always stay at the Black Bear Manor! Awesome service, clean and accommodating. I have a gluten allergy and they went above and beyond to accommodate my needs! Polite staff that answered every question with confidence and ease.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zmcdaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Staying at “Black Bear Manor” was one of the most memorable trips I have ever had. It was inviting, warm, friendly and the food was out of this world. Every morning I awoke to the delicious flavor of coffee and the most beautiful array and assortment of breakfast treats. Freshly made daily, I had croissants, eggs, muffins, and any thing you can imagine. I do not know how they make the coffee so delicious, but they do!
There was a warm fireplace where at cocktail hour, hotel guests would gather and spend an early evening sharing stories of their day.

I highly recommend anyone to visit “Black Bear Manor”. The rooms were cozy, clean and set in the most beautiful of atmospheres. Just looking out the window at the grandiose mountains covered in snow was a treat. And in the day we visit the small town just near Black Bear Manor where we took a stroll looking through the friendly shops for a nice afternoon. I cannot wait to go back again. I am counting the days to my fifth visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Second visit to BBM and I don't get how you can expand on greatness but the folks at BBM sure have. The staff is amazing. Food and service, incredible. My fav?Happy Hour by the fire w/ delish wine ;-)

Room Tip: I had the Queens Room. Corner room with gorgeous views and a wrap terrace.Yes INDEED.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samanthasbeachmoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

From the decadent breakfast spread each morning to the evening steaming hot tub with mountain views...Black Bear Manor is heaven on earth! Each night at 5:30PM, a private wine happy hour takes place next to a roaring fireplace...where new friendships are created.
A quick walk into downtown, BBM is prime real estate as far as B&B locations. Secluded..yet, convenient. Comfy warm beds and awesome staff...Can you say "repeat guest"?
Breakfast in my top ten of all best breakfast spreads. That includes "Raffles" in Singapore and a couple of Parisian hotel experiences as well! Highly recommend BBM!

Room Tip: I actually liked the first floor...tucked away in the back! So comfy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Very nice B&B the Maror has an observation room that is glass on 3 sides with beautiful veiws of the mountains. The outdoor hot tub is 100 yards from the river when you are sitting in the hot tub you can hear the river which makes a very relaxing soak. the rooms are nice a quiet, very clean and well appointed. The breakfast is secound to none the only danger is eating too much and not being able to go enjoy the town.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcarmackzues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackBearManor, Manager at Black Bear Manor, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you so much for the kind words, and we are thrilled that you so enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to hosting you again.

The BlackBearManor Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.7 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
0.2 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#7 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.0 mi away
Ouray Inn
Ouray Inn
#10 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.1 mi away
China Clipper Inn
China Clipper Inn
#1 of 8 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Manor

Property: Black Bear Manor
Address: 118 6th Ave, Ouray, CO 81427
Region: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Black Bear Manor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary English Cottage-style Bed & Breakfast with slate roof, set near to a rambling mountain stream & surrounded by the San Juan Mtns. Located in town, close to restaurants and shops, and offering the best Breakfast in town! All of our unique rooms include a full hot made fresh breakfast daily. The views from our indoor observatory are some of the best in Ouray. Enjoy our view while while resting on the large deck or from the inside through large windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Black Bear Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Manor Hotel Ouray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing