We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hospitality, Excellent Breakfast, Comfortable Lodgings”
Review of Black Bear Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Black Bear Manor
Ranked #2 of 8 Ouray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2014

My wife and I have stayed at the Black Bear Manor a few times now and, without a doubt, it is our favorite B&B in Ouray (and we have tried others). The hospitality is superb--they truly put your needs above any concern over their bottom line, and they truly make us feel like family. The breakfasts are outstanding--numerous dishes (both hot and cold) and always substantial (we don't even bother with lunch when we are there). The happy hour (both wine & beer served on the house) is a nice touch, as it gives you the opportunity to visit with the other travelers interested in socializing. Close walking distance to the main drag in Ouray. Evenings/nights are quite and the furnishings are comfortable. We have recommended Black Bear Manor to several of our family/friends, and would do so for Tripadvisor's readers as well.

Room Tip: We love the suites b/c of the huge Jacuzzi tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRLNRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 435 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2014

We found the Black Bear to be a very comfortable and homey inn with an outstanding and engaging staff anxious to make your stay a fun experience in a quaint, Colorado mountain town. The rooms are attractively and functionally decorated, and the delicious breakfasts and afternoon wine tasting gatherings around the fireplace with other guests in the main living room, are added benefits. The Manor has a cozy observatory to enjoy the spectacular mountain views. Overall the BBM is a great value and fun place to add to your Favorites List.

Room Tip: The first floor rooms are very quiet and comfortable, providing quick access to the living room and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ocnfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I love this review opportunity as it allows me a chance to mentally experience my vacation, again !
Over the past 7 years, I have had the pleasure to visit the BBM about 9 times. I don't know how it works, but it just gets better each time. I WILL be there again, and again and again !!!

Room Tip: They are all good, but if you are going for a Celebration, the room with an inside Jacuzzi is VERY R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank King44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

The Black Bear Manor is a gem hidden in the beautiful mountains of Ouray. The rooms are fit for kings and queens, and the view from the observatory cannot be matched. If the quaint town of Ouray wasn't so darn cute I would have had absolutely no need to leave the Black Bear. It is definitely a favorite destination! And the food! Come hungry!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Acorroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

When in the Ouray area I will always stay at the Black Bear Manor! Awesome service, clean and accommodating. I have a gluten allergy and they went above and beyond to accommodate my needs! Polite staff that answered every question with confidence and ease.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zmcdaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Staying at “Black Bear Manor” was one of the most memorable trips I have ever had. It was inviting, warm, friendly and the food was out of this world. Every morning I awoke to the delicious flavor of coffee and the most beautiful array and assortment of breakfast treats. Freshly made daily, I had croissants, eggs, muffins, and any thing you can imagine. I do not know how they make the coffee so delicious, but they do!
There was a warm fireplace where at cocktail hour, hotel guests would gather and spend an early evening sharing stories of their day.

I highly recommend anyone to visit “Black Bear Manor”. The rooms were cozy, clean and set in the most beautiful of atmospheres. Just looking out the window at the grandiose mountains covered in snow was a treat. And in the day we visit the small town just near Black Bear Manor where we took a stroll looking through the friendly shops for a nice afternoon. I cannot wait to go back again. I am counting the days to my fifth visit.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Second visit to BBM and I don't get how you can expand on greatness but the folks at BBM sure have. The staff is amazing. Food and service, incredible. My fav?Happy Hour by the fire w/ delish wine ;-)

Room Tip: I had the Queens Room. Corner room with gorgeous views and a wrap terrace.Yes INDEED.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samanthasbeachmoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.7 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
937 reviews
0.2 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Ouray Inn
Ouray Inn
#6 of 15 in Ouray
141 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
#12 of 15 in Ouray
321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Manor

Address: 118 6th Ave, Ouray, CO 81427
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ouray
Price Range: £119 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Black Bear Manor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary English Cottage-style Bed & Breakfast with slate roof, set near to a rambling mountain stream & surrounded by the San Juan Mtns. Located in town, close to restaurants and shops, and offering the best Breakfast in town! All of our unique rooms include a full hot made fresh breakfast daily. The views from our indoor observatory are some of the best in Ouray. Enjoy our view while while resting on the large deck or from the inside through large windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your Black Bear Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Manor Hotel Ouray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing