We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best place to stay in Ouray” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Bear Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Black Bear Manor
Ranked #2 of 9 Ouray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best place to stay in Ouray”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

This was our fourth visit to Ouray.
The Black Bear has everything you could possible expect in a top notch B&B.
Lucie and Phil are wonderful hosts. Very nice rooms with outside access.
It has wonderful outdoor siting area, and fabulous views, and great restaurants and shops are a block away.

Room Tip: Just ask Lucie or Phil and they will make sure you get what you like
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1flyfishercolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    21
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
31
259
8
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed at the Black Bear Manor during a recent road trip. We found the rooms very comfortable with every amenity possible. The host was friendly and the food she cooked up for breakfast was incredible! Combine that with a free happy hour, hot tub, and incredible accommodations and you've described a night a the Black Bear Manor.

Unfortunately the place is up for sale so make sure you check out the place, staff, and pricing before you book!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Beautiful, quiet B&B right in town. Great hosts and service! The breakfast was wonderful. Lucy even made me my own separate dish due to allergies. There was a limited number of places to plug in our stuff for recharging so plan accordingly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Serialnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Having traveled to Ouray numerous times I wanted a new lodging experience. The Black Bear Manor provided that & more. I secured my reservation months in advance online. Phil immediately contacted me by phone, inquired as to my reasons for visit, could he assist w/ restaurant reservations, any food allergies & local activities he could recommend. The personal attention was outstanding. Upon our arrival we were immediately pleased w/the courteous & simple check in, warm welcome & reminder of happy hour - wonderful wines, beer & homemade cookies which certainly didn't disappoint. The rooms are CLEAN, comfortable, well maintained, private, quiet & well appointed. The patio deck offers an opportunity for evening conversation including the hosts which is unusual, as most simply offer you a key & turn in for the night. Hat's off to Lucy as breakfast was AMAZING - did I mention AMAZING? Homemade biscuits & gravy, fruit, freshly baked pastries, & many of the baked goods were left after breakfast for us to grab & snack on later. Phil & Lucy also host a refrigerator in their dining area stocked w/juices, water & Coke products that we were able to take at leisure. Our hosts frequently checked in as to our needs & comfort during our trip. I was especially impressed as a guest had a bug bite, Lucy offered a variety of medicines as well as going to the store to pick something up for her. This solidified my moment of a host that showed concern. In 2016 when we travel to Ouray I will only consider the Black Bear Manor.

Room Tip: My husband & I took our 22 year old son w/us, we booked 2 separate rooms. Both rooms were outst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scrubs09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

This may be odd but I'm writing this review before turning in on our final night here at the Black Bear Manor. That is just how confident I am about how wonderful tomorrow's breakfast and checkout will be. Lucie is an amazing chef and hostess so no doubt she will send us on our way stuffed with an assortment of breakfast delights, all made fresh from scratch. Her husband Phil is the perfect compliment and co-host. We were here for Fourth of July celebrations with other friends and our hosts went beyond expectations asking if there was anything else they could provide as we sat on the patio for a night cap. The conversations were wonderful as we shared stories and got to know our hosts during the nightly social where some great beer and wine was served, an over the top friendly place.

As this is our second trip to Ouray for their July 4th celebration, we have found a home. All three couples are in agreement that this is the only place to stay. We are already talking a return visit. Thank you Phil and Lucie for your hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

My husband and I celebrated our one year wedding anniversary and in Ouray, CO. We had the pleasure of staying at Black Bear Manor for 2 nights. What a treat! We chose to stay at Black Bear Manor based on previous tripadvisor reviews. We were not disappointed and look forward to a return visit in the coming years. Lucie and Phil are the owners of this quaint B&B. We truly enjoyed getting to know our hosts. They went above and beyond my expectations to make our stay memorable.

Black Bear Manor is located in a wonderful location just off Main Street in Ouray. We enjoyed walking to great hiking trails, delicious restaurants, hot springs, and lovely shops. We stayed in Queen Suite #10 which is a well appointed room on the second floor with high ceilings. The room has its' own private entrance by way of the balcony. The bathroom has plenty of space and an over sized tub, perfect for a nice bath after a long hike. The queen size bed is very comfortable. We were pleasantly surprised to find a nice closet and plenty of drawer space for all of our things.

A wine and beer reception is offered in the downstairs living area every evening. It was nice way to meet other guests and relax after a busy day of hiking and site seeing. The meals served each morning were some of the best we had during our two week vacation throughout Colorado. My husband and I do not eat red meat, pork, or poultry. Lucie and Phil went out of their way to make sure that we had plenty to eat each morning...homemade muffins, eggs, fresh cut fruit, yogurt, pastries, home fried potatoes, french toast casserole, and an incredible breakfast vegetarian stromboli. Juice, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, and water were served to accompany the delicious food.

All in all, our stay at Black Bear Manor was perfect! I would recommend Black Bear Manor to anyone staying in Ouray. We will definitely return in the near future. We wish Phil and Lucie all the success in the world. Thank you!

Room Tip: We were in the Queen Suite #10. It is on the second floor of the house and has access to a balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank summerchill13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackBearManor, Manager at Black Bear Manor, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Hello, and Thank you for the kind words.

I know the staff spoke of you and so enjoyed you visiting the BlackBearManor.
We look forward to hosting you again, and meeting any of your friends that you may refer to
our property.

All the best,
Management
BlackBearManor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasant Hill, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

I couldn't believe that Phil and Lucy, owners of Black Bear Manor in Ouray CO.were so accommodating to us. The first night we arrived very late, and also let them know that we needed to leave by 6:30 a.m. to catch the Durango-Silverton train. When we awoke, they had a full breakfast/lunch (including freshly-baked blueberry muffins) prepared for us, so we could enjoy our day. When we returned from the second long day, there was a bottle of wine awaiting us in our room, since we missed "happy hour" the two days we were there. The next morning we were greeted by a fabulous breakfast that included several hot baked dish choices; my goodness, Lucy is an amazing cook! On our way out the door, they gave us two exceptional suggestions for our day of travel: Black Canyon of Gunnison NP and Grand Mesa. The beds were very comfortable, and the ambiance was blessedly relaxing.
I can unequivocally recommend Black Bear Manor to anyone for any occasion!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maryallan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackBearManor, Owner at Black Bear Manor, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for these super words. Our entire staff expressed how pleasant you all were as guests.
That makes their efforts to serve you even more rewarding. We hope to see you again, as your travels may bring you to this area.
All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.7 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
0.2 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.0 mi away
Ouray Inn
Ouray Inn
#9 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
#8 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.1 mi away
Matterhorn Motel
Matterhorn Motel
#10 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.1 mi away
China Clipper Inn
China Clipper Inn
#1 of 9 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Manor

Property: Black Bear Manor
Address: 118 6th Ave, Ouray, CO 81427
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Black Bear Manor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary English Cottage-style Bed & Breakfast with slate roof, set near to a rambling mountain stream & surrounded by the San Juan Mtns. Located in town, close to restaurants and shops, and offering the best Breakfast in town! All of our unique rooms include a full hot made fresh breakfast daily. The views from our indoor observatory are some of the best in Ouray. Enjoy our view while while resting on the large deck or from the inside through large windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Black Bear Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Manor Hotel Ouray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing