We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Great memories at a great B&B"”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Black Bear Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Black Bear Manor
Ranked #2 of 8 Ouray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“"Great memories at a great B&B"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

My wife, Pam, and I stayed at the Black Bear Manor earlier this summer having never visited Ouray and experiencing the San Juan Mountains. Phil and Lucy offer a wonderful opportunity to enjoy the beauty of this quaint mountain town through their exceptional hospitality. Their breakfast each of our three mornings was fantastic and the family-style dining provided chances to share memories with a wide variety of guests. We enjoyed eating the homemade cookies and swinging on the porch swing listening to the river rushing by a stone's throw away and relaxing in the hot tub in the evening. Our hosts also gave great advice about places to see in the area as well. We thoroughly enjoyed walking the golf course at nearby Divide Ranch golf club following a drive to Telluride. The hikes to the falls in town were a real treat as well. Phil and Lucy reminded us why we often choose B&B's when we travel. When visiting Ouray book your stay at the Black Bear Manor.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BTC1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    21
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
31
259
8
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed a week at Black Bear Manor in Ouray, CO. It was a most enjoyable and relaxing stay. Phil and Lucie were wonderful hosts. They make you feel like family. We stayed in the Queen Suite which was very roomy and comfortable. The continental, and regular breakfast were outstanding. I cannot imagine a better place to stay in Ouray. The best reference I can give is that if ever we are in that area of Colorado again you can bet that we will stay with Phil and Lucie at the Black Bear Manor.

EXCELLENT IN EVERY WAY POSSIBLE.

Room Tip: Make reservations early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Recently, my wife, Kristine, and I stayed at the Black Bear Manor in Ouray. This was a most gracious country inn. But there's more: Our hosts, Phil and Lucy, went above and beyond in an attempt to make us as comfortable as possible and meet our every need. Breakfast at the outdoor patio was a delight with warm sunshine and good conversation with new acquaintances. However, there's more:

The breakfast each morning was extraordinary, and I mean that without reservation. Lucy's culinary skills are of the highest rank. I've never had better. The buffet before us was a delight to behold, but even better to eat.

In summery, Phil and Lucy represent that which is best in the country inn business.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

This was our second year to stay at the Black Bear. During the day we did jeeping with 6 others on the high and wild trails near Ouray. Loved every minute at the Black Bear and always planned our trips to be back by 4:30 for the welcome hour on the deck. Gracious host and hostess and the best B&B breakfast anywhere!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent. An added attraction is the top floor "viewing room" to enjoy ear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyril, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Staying in Black Bear Manor was very special to us. Phil and Lucie greeted us with a warm welcome and treated us like family. Lucie's breakfasts are terrific and Phill's service is impeccable! You won't find a better pair of hosts and B&B amenities in Ouray - or anywhere for that matter!

Room Tip: Ask for the first floor if you have any trouble walking up stairs. Room #2 can be accessed from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TA W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

My third year going to the Black Bear Manor. We jeep around and Phil and company really take care of us with wonderful breakfasts, clean comfortable rooms and great service. This time we tried to fill it with friends but fell just short!! They really have a "give a hoot" going on here.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We are quite sure you won't find a better breakfast anywhere in Ouray! The Black Bear Manor provides a very large, delicious breakfast buffet. Lucie and Phil take pride in their inn and extend a very warm welcome to all guests. The hot tub and wine/beer mid-day treats are a bonus. Walking distance to the quaint Ouray downtown & the surrounding mountains are incredible!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libraldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.7 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
0.2 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#7 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.0 mi away
Ouray Inn
Ouray Inn
#10 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.1 mi away
China Clipper Inn
China Clipper Inn
#1 of 8 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Manor

Property: Black Bear Manor
Address: 118 6th Ave, Ouray, CO 81427
Region: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Black Bear Manor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary English Cottage-style Bed & Breakfast with slate roof, set near to a rambling mountain stream & surrounded by the San Juan Mtns. Located in town, close to restaurants and shops, and offering the best Breakfast in town! All of our unique rooms include a full hot made fresh breakfast daily. The views from our indoor observatory are some of the best in Ouray. Enjoy our view while while resting on the large deck or from the inside through large windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Black Bear Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Manor Hotel Ouray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing