We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality at its finest”
Review of Black Bear Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Black Bear Manor
Ranked #2 of 8 Ouray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2009

The Black Bear Manor was the perfect setting for our couples weekend away. The location surrounded by mountain peeks and next to a river was the ideal mountain getaway. The Manor was beautifully appointed with every amenity we could have asked for. Our group especially enjoyed the observatory with panoramic views. We even spent the evening up there with the lights off to watch the snow storm. The end of october was the perfect time of year for the changing of the trees. The breakfast was delicious and lasted us till dinner. Thanks for a wonderful weekend away!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allforjesus75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

377 - 383 of 435 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2009

My wife and I just stayed at the Black Bear Manor with 4 other close couple-friends towards the end of October. The accommodations were perfect and beautiful. The town was cute, the hikes were tons of fun, but it was the snowy mountain vistas that kept catching us off guard. The Black Bear Manor has this great cozy observatory on the third floor with windows towards all surrounding mountains - the perfect place to cuddle up for a mid-fall snowfall.

Don't get me started on the breakfast. We got the recipes for everything we got to try and I am still dreaming about the baked peach french toast.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dustymack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2009

We have stayed at Black Bear Manor a couple times before, and each time it just gets better! Went this time with 4 other couples - space very conducive to spending time altogether. Breakfasts were absolutely amazing as always, hosts were ultra friendly. Wish we were still there...already looking forward to next year's trip!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingDenverites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2009

Great staff, understanding & helpful.
We will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bike_guyColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2009

First time staying in a B&B and our stay was so pleasant. The owners had thought of every detail to make the room inviting and their guests welcome. Housekeeping was immaculate. The breakfast was outstanding and offered something for every person's palate. Snacks were always available. Anyone traveling to or through the area I would recommend checking Black Bear out.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aerolady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2009

We came to Ouray to celebrate our anniversary and our stay at the Black Bear Manor made the trip fantastic. Our hosts were exceptionally gracious and provided excellent suggestions for local hikes and dining. The breakfasts alone would be worth a return visit. The room was comfortable and we woke up refreshed and ready for another day of hiking in this beautiful area. The hotel is a short stroll from great restaurants and shops and the patio provides a lovely view of the alpenglow sunset on the surrounding mountains. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sno-hiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2009

My wife and I stayed for two nights last week, it is a wonderful place. Friendly folks, beautiful rooms, outstanding breakfast. Ouray is a perfect place to get away for a few days, many things to see and do. We will be back, and back the the Black Bear. Many thanks to Terri, Carol, and the others there making out stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne9292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.7 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
937 reviews
0.2 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#3 of 15 in Ouray
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Ouray Inn
Ouray Inn
#6 of 15 in Ouray
141 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
#12 of 15 in Ouray
321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Manor

Address: 118 6th Ave, Ouray, CO 81427
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ouray
Price Range: £119 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Black Bear Manor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary English Cottage-style Bed & Breakfast with slate roof, set near to a rambling mountain stream & surrounded by the San Juan Mtns. Located in town, close to restaurants and shops, and offering the best Breakfast in town! All of our unique rooms include a full hot made fresh breakfast daily. The views from our indoor observatory are some of the best in Ouray. Enjoy our view while while resting on the large deck or from the inside through large windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your Black Bear Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Manor Hotel Ouray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing