We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The relaxing facilities,gracious staff and delicious home style breakfast made this a unforgettable experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Black Bear Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Black Bear Manor
Ranked #2 of 8 Ouray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
El Paso, Texas
1 review
“The relaxing facilities,gracious staff and delicious home style breakfast made this a unforgettable experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2010

Be prepared for total relaxation. You will totally get lost in the ambiance of the facilities, and the friendliness of the staff. The facility is large enough to not be crowded, but small enough to retain it's quaint, homey atmosphere. I never felt rushed at any time. I especially enjoyed relaxing in the evening in the "observatory" on the upper level of the facility with the wonderful starry view of the snow covered mountains towering above.

The wooden deck patio is situated with tables and umbrellas, to take in the beautiful mountainous scenery while enjoying breakfast in the morning or relaxing in the evening before turning in for a restful sleep.The rooms are comfortable, clean and well decorated in a homey ambiance and very comfortable beds. And, speaking of breakfast, I'm not normally a breakfast eater, but just could not resist the assorted hot breakfast casseroles, fresh fruit melodies,and assorted breads and pastries. Each had their own unique home style flavor which left me with memories of the delicious tastes to start the day.

The facility is ideally located in the center of the small town about 2 blocks off the main street, within a comfortable, easy walk to most sights and stores.

This was my 2nd visit to the Black Bear Manor in 3 years, and will always be my first choice in lodging in Ouray, even if I have to adjust my timing for room availability.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomstady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    21
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
31
259
8
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2010

My wife and I recently went to the Black Bear Manor on a business trip. We have both traveled the world rather extensively and found the Black Bear to be the best-of-the-best in the B&B category! The rooms are beautifully appointed and charming. The staff is gracious, courteous, friendly and very responsive. The meals are truly amazing and the scenery of the majestic mountains with their snow capped peaks and abundant waterfalls that completely surround Ouray is darn near indescribable! The small town itself is historic and fun with open and warm people and all the restaurants we tried had excellent food. While there we suggest a hike up to Glacier Falls as well as a few hours at the rejuvenating Ouray Mineral Hot Springs. Can't wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnb49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2010

Not a stranger to Black Bear Manor, my return to this familiar setting still exceeds my expectations and awakens my senses. Rising in the morning from the comfort of any one of their unique cozy suites to the aroma of their special blend of brewed coffee, which you can enjoy in the 3rd floor conservatory while taken in the breathtaking views of the Rocky Mountains, you can't help but be seduced by this serene sanctuary. The experience is only enhanced by the friendly and warm service which they offer. And when that crisp mountain air wakes up your appetite, they will satisfy this with a breakfast that can only be as COMFORTABLY SCRUMPTIOUS.

If you need some time to relax, recharge and feed your soul in one of the most beautiful settings in North America, Black Bear Manor is the place to go. I have stayed in some of the finest resorts in the world but this is true "gem" which cannot disappoint.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BonnieH33432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2010

Prepare to feel like you just came home. In Ouray, you expect amazing views and breathtaking beauty with a quaint "little town" feel. But I didn't expect such hospitality (and I stay at B&Bs as much as possible). First of all, expect comfort, from the moment you walk in to the the time you enter your room and sink into you bed! Where else do you get draft beer and wine in the afternoon while watching the sun set! And the breakfast! Oh my gracious! I've never seen so many delectable egg, bread and fruit dishes in one serving in my life. And the coffee! Yes, I am a coffee snob and I fell in love with the Black Bear's own shade grown, low acid, fair trade, organic brew. The staff are the friendliest while being very professional. This is one place you have to add to your bucket list.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NuNurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton FL
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2010

This was my 4th stay at the BBM! Yes....i love it that much! Ouray itself is absolutely breathtaking with so much to explore no matter what time of year it is. The BBM is like being at home but with amazing food and superb hospitality. It's my favorite place and i give it an A+++!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donedealace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2010

Not being one that usually use Bed and Breakfast to travel, I was pleasantly surprised of the accommendations. The decor was beautiful, the rooms were very comfortable and the service/food excellent. I highly recommend this quaint hidden treasure settled at the base of some of the most beautiful mountains.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wlockett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2010

This was my 4th time to visit the BBM. I continue to go back because of the views of the place, the atmosphere of the small town, and the incredible breakfast. There is always a wide range of options to eat, sometimes too many options to be able to choose from. Coffee is the best and is on at 7am if I were to be up that early. The room is refreshed/spot cleaded daily making it a clean place to return to at night. The ownership is so welcoming as they share in wine and beer with us and there is lots of good conversation that happens in the common rooms. They always directed us to the best restaurant and bars in town. Staff is friendly and inviting. Bottom line is that I will continue to go back as this is one of the most relaxing and simple trips I get to take...Thanks so much.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nussentialsrep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.7 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
0.2 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#7 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.0 mi away
Ouray Inn
Ouray Inn
#10 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.1 mi away
China Clipper Inn
China Clipper Inn
#1 of 8 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Manor

Property: Black Bear Manor
Address: 118 6th Ave, Ouray, CO 81427
Region: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Black Bear Manor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary English Cottage-style Bed & Breakfast with slate roof, set near to a rambling mountain stream & surrounded by the San Juan Mtns. Located in town, close to restaurants and shops, and offering the best Breakfast in town! All of our unique rooms include a full hot made fresh breakfast daily. The views from our indoor observatory are some of the best in Ouray. Enjoy our view while while resting on the large deck or from the inside through large windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Black Bear Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Manor Hotel Ouray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing