We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy and luxurious, this B&B exceeded our expectations.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Black Bear Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Black Bear Manor
Ranked #2 of 8 Ouray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Cozy and luxurious, this B&B exceeded our expectations.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2010

What a wonderful place. Every bit of attention was given to even the smallest of details. We had a wonderful time and we're looking forward to going back again soon.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraveledPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    21
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
31
259
8
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ms
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2010

We recently spent three night at the Black Bear. We actually lived in Ouray for seven years, so we pretty much know every lodging alternative in town and there are many really nice ones. On our last trip we decided to give the Black Bear a shot. We had been in the lobby, but we had never seen the rooms. When we checked in we were pleasantly surprised at how comfortable the room was. One problem I have with B&Bs is I always wake up really early and need a place to hang out. I was thrilled to find that the Black Bear has an "observatory" only a few feet from my room. This little room is comfortably decked out with sofa, chairs TV and microwave. It has glass around three sides with glorious views of the San Juans. It was the perfect place for me to sit, answer my email and watch the sun rise. I was thirsty so I decided to run down the the kitchen to see if anyone was up fixing coffee. It was too early but I found a small fridge full of soft drinks and water provided for the guests. Nice. I didnt even have to fumble around for change. I won't even bother to mention the breakfast because it has been covered in other reviews. I suppose that if you were allergic to several food items on the menu, you would probably just sit down to eat any way and have the cook call 911!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catfishbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2010

The confirmation email from the Black Bear said their goal was to convince us to never stay anywhere else. Even though they must have meant in Ouray, we will not only stay there whenever we're in Ouray, we will, in future trips through Colorado, choose Ouray instead of Durango or Montrose so that we can stay at the Black Bear again. Everything was the best B&B we have experienced, beginning with a charming hostess. Her friends even stopped by for the chat on the patio. The breakfast was a "do you share your recipes?" one. She does.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmy114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2010

This B&B is very relaxing-located near the river. It has great views of the mountains that you can enjoy from the outside patio. We enjoyed eating breakfast out here and later had wine that they served in the late afternoon. It has a hot tub and very nice dining area. They served excellent breakfasts every day. The staff was very nice and shared stories about the area. We stayed in two different rooms for a total of 5 nights. Both rooms were very comfortable with great views of the mountains. We cancelled our reservation at another place to extend our stay here. Would recommend this place to anyone-

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelortpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2010

We came to the Black Bear Manor after a pretty extensive search of Ouray's lodging options. We stayed 3 nights in this 'gem' of a B&B. The Black Bear Manor was a perfect escape from our busy lives. We found it to be welcoming, casual and friendly. Carol (the manager) added so much value to our stay with special touches like a wonderful and varied breakfast, recommendations for dinner, hikes and rentals etc. and daily happy hour from 4 to 6. We found ourselves looking forward to happy hour so we could catch up with the other guests, whom we met at breakfast, on their days' adventures. These elements plus the beautiful observation room, quiet and cozy hot tub on the deck and lovely fluffy bath robes truly set this B&B apart. It has a great location, you can walk to everywhere in Ouray. We will definitely return here and recommend it to many friends who need a special place a recharge and reconnect.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendymcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2010

Having visited 37 states over the years, when my wife and I choose a travel destination we look for very specific things that will encourage us to try a lodging facility (especially a B&B) for the first time. Then after staying there, we decide which of those items met our expectations that will make us want to go back. The following, in order of "appearance" is our punch list for determining whether or not we want to return to the Black Bear Manor:
>Views >Hospitality >Cleanliness >Relaxation >Social Time >Sleep >Breakfast >Hospitality. The views in any direction you look are magnificent, the hospitality was warm and caring, the property was clean in all areas, the relaxation was almost immediate, the complementary happy/social hour was a nice surprise, the comfortable sleep was much needed and the breakfast was absolutely delicious. In case you are wondering if I listed the hospitality of the staff twice by mistake, no, I listed hospitality twice on purpose -- it was simply the best. Do we want to go back to the Black Bear Manor? We can't wait!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank COLO-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2010

The Black Bear Manor is located in Ouray, CO, a beautiful lil town, that is surrounded by captivating mountains. If you are looking for a romantic getaway, a scenic place to relax, or hiking adventures up the mountain, then the BBM is the place to be.

Almost everything you need is within walking distance. The restaurants serve delicious food, and you will find some great desserts at the local candy/bakery shops.

Be sure to ask about the "Honeymoon Suite". It's like having your very own apartment for the weekend....or week!

Remember to drink lots of water and eat a little more than usual. Enjoy your time at the Black Bear Manor.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChauLe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.7 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
0.2 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#7 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.0 mi away
Ouray Inn
Ouray Inn
#10 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.1 mi away
China Clipper Inn
China Clipper Inn
#1 of 8 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Manor

Property: Black Bear Manor
Address: 118 6th Ave, Ouray, CO 81427
Region: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Black Bear Manor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary English Cottage-style Bed & Breakfast with slate roof, set near to a rambling mountain stream & surrounded by the San Juan Mtns. Located in town, close to restaurants and shops, and offering the best Breakfast in town! All of our unique rooms include a full hot made fresh breakfast daily. The views from our indoor observatory are some of the best in Ouray. Enjoy our view while while resting on the large deck or from the inside through large windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Black Bear Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Manor Hotel Ouray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing