We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loads of character and good value”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ouray
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Historic Western Hotel
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Loads of character and good value”
Reviewed 28 August 2012 via mobile

There is loads of history and character here, and a nice change from "cookie cutter" motels. We stayed in an old style room with high ceiling and lace curtains, with a shared bathroom down the hall. A little worn and not to everyone's taste, but very cheap to stay and it met all of our needs.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    14
    4
    11
    10
See reviews for
12
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

This hotel is rich in history. We had a drink in the bar. They also have a nice outdoor bar we could have used, but it had rained. Drinks are a bit pricey, but the view is nice and right off the Main Street. They have alot of different beers if you're interested in that. This is the oldest wooden hotel in the United States.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank texcyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012 via mobile

We only called here for a few drinks one night but the staff were nice, friendly and entertaining. I would call again. 4/5

Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank steven009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McCall, Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

I have stayed here several times over the past few years. The first time was so awesome that it made the vacation, but that was ten years ago. Last night we paid $56 on.a Monday, had to walk room to room to find a.clean one...when we finally got a room, we settled in and then heard fighting in the hall. As it turns out, two of the hotels employees were staying in the room. Foreigners we could not.understand the language, but we could hear him slapping her. We told the ow.we who called off the police saying the girl was just homesick. The yelling.continued as did the.door slamming. Hot, stuffy dirty shower as.well. its sad, it could be.grand.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank calebnme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ouray hotels

Valparaiso, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We spent 3 nights & totally enjoyed the authenticity of this hotel! Slanted floors, clawfoot tub, creaky floor...Great! Comfy bed, GREAT staff! During the same trip, we stayed at 3 other historic hotels, which all had been variously refurbished. This was the real deal & with stories and photos to boot. Also enjoyed a jeep tour with this proprietor. This is an OLD hotel...keep your sense of humor and respect for history! marilyn

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marilyn f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amesbury, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We stayed at this hotel thinking it would be really cool to stay at an historic hotel and we are big into staying at family run smaller places and B&B's when we travel. So we thought hey this looks nice, mind you it was off season, January. We show up in the evening to a dark locked hotel, we called the owner, she showed up and let us in. We were the only ones staying in the whole hotel! No lights on, Heat wasnt turned on for us and we stayed in one of the rooms with the shared bath down the hall. Not even a mention of upgrading us to the suite rooms since we were the only people in the hotel! So needless to say we were cold all night (old heating system) and not only that we had to walk down a freezing hall to the bathrooms that were freezing too. Would it have been too much to say hey youre the only ones here tonight, why dont you take one of the rooms with the bath attached? Enjoy your evening. Totally not worth it, room was dingy, needs upkeep all over and we never got warm the whole night. Owners seem to put more effort into their jeep business, nice enough but come on upgrade your only customers to a nicer room. Maybe its different in the summer months there, but for your money go down the street and stay at a place that has comfy beds(hard as a board) and heat.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank emily g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2011

This hotel is really nice! It is like travel to old times! It feels really authentic! We were the only guests and we got the king size bedroom with private bathroom!
The only disappointing thing is that the bathtub was quite old and not heated enough.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kwakou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
162 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
904 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ouray Inn
Ouray Inn
#6 of 15 in Ouray
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.1 mi away
Matterhorn Motel
Matterhorn Motel
#10 of 15 in Ouray
153 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ouray Victorian Inn
Ouray Victorian Inn
#5 of 15 in Ouray
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Western Hotel

Property: Historic Western Hotel
Address: 210 Seventh Ave, Ouray, CO 81427
Region: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Historic Western Ouray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing