We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fall Beauty”
Review of St. Elmo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St. Elmo Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Ouray B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 March 2008

My husband and I make an annual trip to Ouray and on this trip decided to stay at the St. Elmo. We thought it would be fun to stay in the same building as the the wonderful Bon Ton, where we always eat. The hotel is beautiful and really gives you that sense of walking "back in time". We stayed in the largest suite, which was larger than we really needed, but we like to be able to strerch out. The antique furniture is lovely, the only issue is with a 6 foot tall husband, there are really no comfortable chairs for him to sit in. It's probably a good thing that the hotel has no TV's in the room but we didn't realize how much we missed catching some news in the morning. The breakfasts were lovely and great to sit in the dining room and meet other guests. In the end, it was great to walk down the stairs and dine in the Bon Ton. Anyone looking for a true, historical B&B feeling, this is your place in Ouray!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DSinDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
There are newer reviews for St. Elmo Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2008

We stayed 3 nights in the St. Elmo in September of 2004 and we're booked there again in June of this year (2008). The few rooms available are beautifully decorated in authentic Victorian style.
The service is way above the ordinary. An afternoon wine and snacks session is a nice way to meet fellow occupants. The breakfast is bountiful and varied (and included in the price).

  • Stayed: September 2004, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Old_ManCicero_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2007

We have stayed at the St. Elmo several times. We love it. It is small enough to feel like you are in a B&B and visit with other guests. But, as a small hotel, it is large enough to avoid others and be very private if that is what you prefer.

Wine & munchies in the evening were enjoyed in the parlor with another 6-8 guests. Breakfast was very good with lots of variety -- fruit, cereals, hot waffles, juice, etc.

Each of the rooms we have stayed in has been remodeled. This time we were in the Alpenglow room. We have also stayed in a Deluxe room. We liked the Deluxe room just as well as the Alpenglow and it was somewhat less expensive. Be sure to ask for your AAA discount if you are a AAA member.

Lowest season rates are a terrific bargain -- about half price on weekdays!

Our only complaint is that there is only one room with a king bed. We wish there were more.

We also like the convenience of the Bon Ton restaurant which is just downstairs. But, we had a less-than-great experience there this past trip. Please see separate restaurant review.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coloradocarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2007

While vacationing in Durango, we heard raves about St. Elmo in Ouray-they were not unfounded. This renovated inn has a beautiful lobby, and separate room downstairs for TV. The happy hour was a wonderful start to our evening. We followed that with a relaxing time in their outdoor hot tub as the sun set beyond the mountains. We had #8, and absolutely loved it, with a nice sitting room with period furniture. The snow melt running outside our 2nd floor window was wonderful throughout our one-night stay. Breakfast menu changes daily but will satisfy any appetite. The entire staff was very pleasant and welcoming. A great romantic inn. The Bon Ton restaurant was superb, with indoor and outdoor dining available.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank OldAntarcticExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2006

We stayed at St. Elmo last week. We spent one night for a "getaway" from home. We got there around 1 pm and were given our room key and told to "go on up". We were pleased, as we thought we would have to wait until check-in time. We had a deluxe room, {#4] which is their lowest priced room. It was lovely! A little sitting area and a nice queen size bed. The bathroom was nice with a little basket of toiletries. The windows were on the side of the building but towards the front/street side. The B&B is on the main street, RT 550 which is a pretty busy road, but were slept with the windows open and really were not disturbed by street noise. There is no air conditioning, but each room has a fan. We did use that, so maybe that is why we didn't hear any noise!

All of the doors to the unoccupied rooms were open, so we took a peak. The rooms that 2 sleeping areas didn't have much [if any] privacy, so beware. The two nicest rooms were ours #4 and a similar one downstairs #1 [this one is nearer to office and public areas, so take that into mind. It is further from street noise though.

They have free cocktail hour where they have wine and some little munchies. It was a chance to meet some of the other guests, which we enjoyed.

Breakfast is included and they have all the standards and they cook to order a hot entree. There isn't a choice but I think they vary it each day.

Last thing...somehow I managed to leave a shirt in the room. [I didn't even realize it was missing.] Yesterday, I got a package from St. Elmo...with my shirt inside. WOW! I was very impressed.

I give St. Elmo a big thumbs up!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debits2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Loveland, Colorado
213
Reviewed 17 March 2005

The St. Elmo is a true gem in the quaint town of Ouray, Colorado. We have been pleased with the wonderful rooms and delightful staff each time we have visited. Very helpful and their getaway packages even include a delicious dinner! Our breakfast was so relaxing with a view of the mountains that are so close you can almost touch them.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2004

My husband and I stayed here for our three year anniversary last October. The hotel was beautiful! We asked for the romance package which included breakfast in bed, flowers, chocolates, champagne, dinner for two at the Bon Ton and two hot springs passes. It was great. The breakfast in bed was the best we had ever had. It was elegant and quite tasty. In the afternoon there was a wine and cheese hour. The staff was super friendly and were very helpful about the area and history of the St. Elmo. It was also fun to use their sauna. We had lots of fun off roading in the area and will definitely be booking another long weekend here soon.

  • Stayed: October 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MelisaSchrage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.8 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
922 reviews
0.2 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Matterhorn Motel
Matterhorn Motel
#10 of 15 in Ouray
157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ouray Inn
Ouray Inn
#6 of 15 in Ouray
130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Black Bear Manor
Black Bear Manor
#2 of 8 in Ouray
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Elmo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Elmo Hotel

Address: 426 Main St., Ouray, CO 81427
Region: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ouray
Price Range: £98 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Elmo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time and relive the glory days of Colorado's col-or-ful past... At the St. Elmo Hotel in Ouray, Col-orado. Once bustling with gold and sil-ver seek-ers, Ouray today is a pic-turesque ham-let, sur-rounded by 14,000 foot peaks in the majes-tic San Juan moun-tains of south-west Col-orado. The St. Elmo Hotel is a lov-ingly restored, turn-of-the-century inn located in the heart of Ouray, Col-orado, a national his-toric dis-trict. Dec-o-rated with Vic-to-rian flair and full of period antiques, this 9-room Col-orado bed and break-fast inn delights guests with a wine & cheese social hour every after-noon in the cozy par-lor and a full buf-fet break-fast every morn-ing served in the sunny break-fast room. After spend-ing the day dis-cov-er-ing a new hik-ing trail or the fine shops in the area, a soak in the out-door hot tub is a great way to relax while sur-rounded by the beau-ti-ful San Juan mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your St. Elmo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing