We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Ouray
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Luxury! The bed is soft and scrumptious. The room was immaculant! I can't wait till we come back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SherrillHooker26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (635)
There are newer reviews for Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

556 - 562 of 635 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2011

The inn keeper really has this one nailed. The pricing is very reasonable for the quality of services you get. Some cool features too - like a mineral hot springs spa and a geothermal heated swimming pool. Nice full breakfast - not the simple continental breakfast you get a other hotels. Probably the nicest little extras were the great bath towels and a good comfortable bed. The TV was good too, an up-to-date flat screen with good cable/satellite service.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gsreimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

We got a 2 bedroom suite at the best western for 3 nights this past week and really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is very easy to find...check in was easy and the staff was friendly...our rooms were ready and very nice...comfy beds, plenty of towels, ceiling fans and a unit by the window to control the room temperature, plenty of space, refrigerator...
The view is beautiful from the hotel, although I'm sure the view is amazing anywhere! This hotel has it's own hot springs as well as pool which was nice. Breakfast was really a favorite for us...most places offer a complimentary continental breakfast, but this place had waffles and a build your own omelet bar (be sure to take some money to tip the cook making the omelets! He is always super friendly)
The only thing I could say bad about the hotel was that we found a few bugs in the bathroom, but I think that's possible anywhere you stay. The rooms were very clean and quiet! Anyway, we enjoyed our stay and would stay there again!

Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
Thank ski22blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

My wife and I stayed here last night in spite of the several negative reviews here at TripAdvisor. I was prepared to deal with rude reception service in what my wife refers to as Old Sarge's command voice and attitude but was pleasantly surprised to find it wasn't necessary. Check in was courteous and proficient. Our room was recently remodeled, well-appointed and quite comfortable. I later spoke with the very cordial owner in the pool area and asked him about the negative reviews. He smiled ruefully, shook his head and said, "We just completed major renovations three days ago that had been going on for several months. As you can imagine, pleasing and accommodating every guest without complaints during a major remodeling is a challenge. We tried our best, but some arriving guests finding their accommodations may have been changed by necessity weren't too pleased."

Fair is fair so I'm writing my first ever TripAdvisor review to let you know that this is a delightful place to stay and the surrounding mountains are absolutely breathtaking, easily one of the most scenic settings of any hotel where I've stayed in my seventy years.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AbnSarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

First of all, the location is fantastic, you are between two mountains, it's a fairy location.
The Reception Hall is a separate building as it is the breakfast room.
Staff is exceptional! They provided help when we had problems with the washing machines (at the end it was just a power cut) and when the key did not open the room (it happened every day).
You also have the hot springs pool facility in the Hotel, but I recommend to go to the big pool in the center of the town.
Also very nice is the infrared lamp in the bathroom which helps raising the temperature when you shower and heals any reumathic problem you might have.
Cons:
- the walls between the rooms are too tiny, you can hear ever a quiet conversation of an oldc couple next door. Not very nice for the privacy and when you intend to sleep while a big group of chinese on the other rooms has different plans...

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gionata_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2011

I have stayed at a few places in Ouray and decided to give the Best western a try, to my surprise it was a different experience from what i read online, I was greeted very well by the gentleman at the front desk. I needed however a ground floor, which wasn't available, without even asking he offered to take my bags up to my rooms, wow. Hot springs were great, my wife and I enjoyed the hot springs and the hotel thoroughly, their remodeled room and beds were very comfortable. With all absolution, my wife and I will be back to this accommodation.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thehoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

We just returned from Ouray and I have to say the Best Western is one of the worst experiences at a hotel we've had!! The guy behind the desk knew absolutely NOTHING!! They were remodeling so there was no sleeping in. The "mineral springs" hot tubs were NASTY!!! Hadn't been cleaned in who knows how long and that's the reason we stayed there! We were the only people there and they wouldn't let us have a late check out because it would stress the maids... Are you kidding me!! We then left and stayed at The Rivers Edge... WAY better service and a beautifully clean mineral springs hot tub right next to the river for HALF the price!! Best Western... You should be ashamed to have your name on that nightmare!!

Room Tip: The Rivers Edge was waaaay better!!
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Smiths2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 June 2012

Dear Guests (Smiths)
I apologize for the inconvenience our hotel may have had on your stay in Ouray back in May of 2011. We never want to hear of a negative experience but it does help us to learn and grow as a company. I can not speak for how knowledgeable one member of my staff may be; but we try to educate as much and as quickly as possible. Also, It is necessary for our business to renovate and update to keep up with current times and policies of Best Western. We do try to schedule any maintenance on the property in our off seasons to avoid as much negative impact as possible. Regarding the Mineral Hot Springs; we do clean the tubs often but because of the high mineral count, Algae growth is Inevitable.
"Algae can live in extreme environments ranging from ice and snow to mineral hot springs."-Google
Natural algae in the water promotes oxygenation and aids in the breakdown of certain minerals. Also, our tubs have been painted a more appropriate color to help ease the view of natural algae build up. To keep the water as fresh as possible we use an In-Out water system which does not allow stagnant water to sit. It's like the saying, "you cant step in the same river twice." Approximately every 12 hours its a new mineral springs hot tub. The check out policy is printed in the guest directory, the key card brochure and key card envelope. The amount of rooms we had the previous night determines how many housekeepers we employe to restore the rooms. If there were only a few guests then most likely we had 1 or 2 housekeepers for the "lighter" load. But they are required to finish cleaning and be clear of the hotel by a designated time. A (or more than one) late check out would cause their duties for the day to be delayed and affect their ability to complete the necessary tasks for our incoming guests. A schedule must be maintained to keep a reasonable order. Our sister property "The Rivers Edge" is a very nice motel and we recommend it to any one who is unable to stay at our primary property. The hot tub however is only filled with tap water. Only three Hotel properties in Ouray have permits to Natural Hot Springs and ours is the only 24 hr facility. We are not (and will never be) ashamed of our hotel because we stand behind it and our employees 100%. The property has flourished and our staff is being trained daily to meet the needs of our customers' standards. We continue to grow and would love to have you again to give you the opportunity of a happier vacation.
From all of us at the Best Western Plus Twin Peaks,
Thank you for your review and your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.9 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
922 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
169 reviews
1.0 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge
Timber Ridge Lodge
#14 of 15 in Ouray
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#11 of 15 in Ouray
238 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ouray Inn
Ouray Inn
#6 of 15 in Ouray
129 reviews
0.2 mi away
Matterhorn Motel
Matterhorn Motel
#10 of 15 in Ouray
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs

Address: 125 Third Avenue, PO Box 955, Ouray, CO 81427
Region: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Ouray
Price Range: £91 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lodge is one of a kind. Offering mountain view rooms and breath taking scenes to ensure the perfect picture backdrop. We are located Next to the Million Dollar Highway(hwy 550)one block off Main St. Perfect quiet location away from the hustle and bustle of the city. All of our pools are Natural Mineral Hot Springs. Only a short walk from your room are savings. Continuing with, the Full Hot Breakfast. Our Chef will prepare you a vegetarian omelet full of your favorites. Not to mention, a make-your-own waffle station with hot maple syrup and canned whipped cream! You can look forward to Eggs, Bacon, Biscuits & Gravy, fresh fruit, and assorted hot and cold cereals. There's so much more than can be written here. You'll just have to see for yourself. Join us for a get away you will not forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Twin Peaks Lodge And Hot Springs
Best Western Plus Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs Hotel Ouray
Best Western Ouray
Ouray Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing