We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lives up to it's name Best in the West”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Ouray
Smithfield, Kentucky
Level Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Lives up to it's name Best in the West”
Reviewed 6 July 2012

This hotel is so relaxing with beautiful views to boot. The hot spring pool was wonderful for your tired feet. The made to order omelet station at breakfast just topped the morning off. They have a chef making this and all of the delicious breakfast foods included in your nights stay. The room, the area, the food all top notch here. The hotel is within walking distance to the quaint downtown area of Ouray. The tiki bar is so nice to sit outside and enjoy a drink. This hotel is a must if you are in this area.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kymgroadster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Dear Guest (Kym),
Thanks for your review and compliment! We work for perfection and from your review it shows we all did a good job! I'll let the chef know of your comment :D Can't wait to see you next year! We're open in January and February also in case you wanted to stay here and enjoy the hot springs in winter! It is an awesome sight. Happy Travels!
From all of us at The best western Plus Twin Peaks,
Thank you for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    156
    63
    37
    28
See reviews for
191
246
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Passing through from Cortez back to Boulder with my wife and two daughters. Beautiful part of Colorado, wish we could've stayed an extra night or more. Found this hotel on Trip Advisor's site. Nice rooms, good breakfast and pleasant staff. Awesome views and great town. Don't miss Box Canyon Falls, and the local hot springs pool. Stop by the visitor's center by the pool.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael33143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Dear Guest (Michael),
It means a lot to all of our staff that you had a great time. We love to be a part of a great family vacation. Those are memories that last a lifetime. And thanks for the great tips for future guests! Suggestions help in planning a fun packed trip in Ouray. Next time your here try the mine tours or rent a jeep from our front office and have an adventure of your own! Thanks for your review and we look forward to seeing you again!
From all of us at The best western Plus Twin Peaks,
Thank you for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pgh PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

checked in early with courteous & helpful staff. Beautiful property with breath taking mountain view, pool & hot springs, Tiki bar with heater (cold @ night). Best breakfast on our 13 day trip.
Guido & Donna's service outstanding. Made to order omelets, sausage, bacon,biscuts & gravy and much more

Room Tip: Second floor has mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauraPGHPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Dear Guest (Laura),
Glad to hear we were able to get you in early. We know how important it is to have a place to settle once you get to town. We have updated a few policies to enable us to have more early check-ins than before. As always we can't guarantee one but we will try :) I'll show Guido & Donna the post so they know you had a great time! Hope to see you again on your next vacation!
From all of us at The best western Plus Twin Peaks,
Thank you for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley, New York
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We heard great reviews here, so we decided to stop in while traveling cross country. The landscape was absolutely perfect for this rustic little lodge. This place is great for anybody looking to relax by the Colorado mountains and escape from everything. The hot springs, mountain backdrop, super friendly staff and very affordable price of lodging make it very inviting to come back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Dear Guest (Ashley F.)
We appreciate you taking the time to review us! Our hotel would be nothing without our guests. We are glad you enjoyed the recent changes to the grounds and the amenities we that we offer. Everything is done with you in mind. We look forward to seeing you and your party again next time!
From all of us at The Best Western Plus Twin Peaks,
Thank you for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, CO
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This was the third hotel our family stayed in as part of a week long vacation, and it was the nicest. As noted in previous reviews, the room was a little small, but other than that, I have nothing negative to say. The hot springs pool and soaking pool were amazing (and what a treat to be surrounded by such beautiful mountains); the room and grounds were very clean and well cared for; the lobby had complimentary drinks and snacks; and the breakfast was outstanding and went above and beyond any hotel breakfast I have ever had before. The staff were all friendly and helpful. If it weren't for my husband's pesky job, we would have stayed one more day!

Room Tip: The stairs to the second floor are steep, so if you have issues climbing stairs, request a ground fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tawneydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Dear Guest (Tawneydog)
Delighted to hear we made one of your stops the best it could be! The opinion of a guest is important and helps to ensure a firm decision by future travelers. We do have some smaller rooms spread through-out the building from the original construction. But, We hear ya! There are big plans for the property and all suggestions are being noted as important from our guests. Breakfast is important. We can't have you walking around town unsatisfied with just a warmed up muffin. Our chef takes pleasure in making sure you are aware of everything we offer for breakfast..Next time take you guys should take a sick day :D We definitely hope to see you again!
From all of us at The Best Western Plus Twin Peaks,
Thank you for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herent, Belgium
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012 via mobile

If we never entered our room or if we were still in the eightees this hotel would have reveived a four star review, but the room itself was really terrible. We booked what we thought was a second bedroom with twin bunk beds, but this turned out to be a closet with no air circulation that scared our kids, so it ended up unused. The master bedroom is also not great, both queens were so close to the wall that one could only exit on 1 side of the beds. The mattresses were in need of replacement already 10 years ago (no support for my back, you can literally feel the coil springs) and the entire room was outdated and in urgent need of updating. You can see where this is going, we did not sleep well at all.

In contrast, the hotel is very well located in an extremely nice setting with a very nice heated pool, a lovely terrace and a bar. Service on the other hand was very average: staff was polite but not very warm or friendly. Another negative was the breakfast hours: breakfast only starts at 7.30 - 10, this is too late especially if you end up awake at 5am.

If it wasn't for the rooms I would certainly have recommended the place, but evaluating the entire package for me the negatives outweighed the positives. However if you are an outdoors person that can sleep anywhere and loves a nicely located pool this hotel may still be something for you.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank tdeprins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Got there and found out there was no elevator (+ we had plenty of equipment) to our second floor rooms. The front desk staff found us rooms on the ground floor. My goodness, the rooms were so small and crowded - no where to open your luggage except on the floor in front of the door and bathroom door. No microwave either. The natural hot spring was disappointing - small dingy lit room with oversized jacuzzi type pool with murky water. Breakfast was the saving grace - real plates + silverware. Vegetarian omlettes made to order.

Room Tip: The room with 2 queen/double beds seem to have more space than the king bed rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ICURN-CCRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your review! We appreciate any feedback we can learn from. It appears we had to do some last minute accommodating upon arrival. We have been completely full the last week am I'm happy our reception was able to get you a ground floor :) The rooms vary in size through-out the hotel and we most likely had you booked in a larger room,. but with last minute changes and an almost full hotel we are unable to guarantee the same accommodation. We apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused you. One of the improvements we have scheduled for the future are Elevators! Finally we jump to the 21st Century. We will announce on our website when that project is started and complete. Also, just yesterday(6/27/12) I personally drove to the next town and purchased some lovely live plants and have them set nicely around in the indoor jacuzzi room. As well, I have added some art pieces from a local artist to give the room some life and color. The mineral spring water will vary in color depending on the flows from the natural reservoir and the weather. More precipitation in the mountains means more kicked up minerals. All of the hot tubs are "In-Out" water systems. This means there is never stagnant water sitting in the pools. Approximately every 12 hours its a brand new hot spring. Very happy to hear you enjoyed the breakfast! We pride ourselves on having the best complimentary full hot breakfast in town. It helps a lot to have a hearty meal and options to pick from in the morning before starting your day. Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to having you again. Next time in a larger room ;)
From all of us at The Best Western Plus Twin Peaks,
Thank you for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.9 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
878 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
150 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ouray Victorian Inn
Ouray Victorian Inn
#4 of 15 in Ouray
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#13 of 15 in Ouray
222 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ouray Inn
Ouray Inn
#8 of 15 in Ouray
112 reviews
1.0 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge
Timber Ridge Lodge
#12 of 15 in Ouray
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs

Property: Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
Address: 125 Third Avenue, PO Box 955, Ouray, CO 81427
Region: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lodge is one of a kind. Offering mountain view rooms and breath taking scenes to ensure the perfect picture backdrop. We are located Next to the Million Dollar Highway(hwy 550)one block off Main St. Perfect quiet location away from the hustle and bustle of the city. All of our pools are Natural Mineral Hot Springs. Only a short walk from your room are savings. Continuing with, the Full Hot Breakfast. Our Chef will prepare you a vegetarian omelet full of your favorites. Not to mention, a make-your-own waffle station with hot maple syrup and canned whipped cream! You can look forward to Eggs, Bacon, Biscuits & Gravy, fresh fruit, and assorted hot and cold cereals. There's so much more than can be written here. You'll just have to see for yourself. Join us for a get away you will not forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Twin Peaks Lodge And Hot Springs
Best Western Plus Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs Hotel Ouray
Best Western Ouray
Ouray Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing