We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Ouray
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We loved the quiet, out-of-the-way location of this hotel. We did not have a reservation, but the friendly, helpful front desk attendant put us in a great room with a wonderful view. Loved watching the young deer right outside our window! The breakfast was "okay" but I can't really brag about it; probably would go elsewhere for breakfast if we were to stay there again. Enjoyed Ouray for sure!

Room Tip: Room 201 gives you an extra window since it is on the end of the building. Loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank EMFBDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (644)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 644 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014

We researched all of the hotels to stay in Ouray, read tripadvisor, and booked 2 nights here accompanied by a jeep trip. Check in was to be at 3 but our room was not ready until 3:30 pm as we waited outside the door for housekeeping to finish. The maid kept leaving the room and running off to speak with another maid. The room was U shaped and filled with large furniture pieces so there was not much room to move around with 3 queen beds, 2 huge pieces of furniture (each acting as a closet, dresser, armoire, all rolled into one large unit), and a table with chairs. The pillows were very flat and uncomfortable along with a sticky substance on the table, the bed skirts, chairs, and some areas in the carpet were dirty with black spots. The bathtub was a little wider that most but it left roughly 1 to 2 inches between the tub and the toilet seat. The bathroom was pretty small. I do not know where the other trip advisors had breakfast but it was very disappointing. The omelet was undercooked for me and overcooked for another. We nearly had a fight over seating as there were only a few tables. We could not go outside and eat as they would not let you leave with the food which had to be consumed in the dining room. It felt like being at camp for breakfast and being watched over by the warden. They kept running out of food and drink as not enough were put out for the guests with people looking at the warden who did not seem to want to do anything but keep the food from leaving the room. We had reserved 2 nights but elected to leave after one since we all had a lousy night's sleep and breakfast was a joke.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank 3ETravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TwinPeaksLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Hello 3ETravelers,
I can appreciate your honest review. It is in fact, how we grow as a whole. I have already printed your review and posted it for all employees to see. We can drop the ball occasionally and I can assure you no one here is looked at as a warden. We all work together. This review will serve to remind us that we are not perfect. What I can say for everyone is that we do try. We do not hide any information on our hotel and we always accept responsibility for our actions. Specifically to your review, our hotel was built in a time where space of the rooms did not matter. There is a plan in action to expand the hotel to to have a third floor with more spacious suites. (Elevator included). We are making lemonade with lemons. Sometimes it can be tart but it is almost always sweet. The breakfast room does have some signage to deter guests from bringing excess food to their room. It also says "this helps to keep room rates low" and "we appreciate your business". There is an outdoor eating area in the morning which is wonderful to take in mountain views. We recommend either dining area when choosing a place to eat. As for not enough food in the room, We do not put out everything at once. If we did guests who arrive later in breakfast would have older items. We feel rationing will keep the food more fresh. We can see how this might have a downside but we are always working on new ways to improve. We hope you will come to see us again and give us another shot.
Best Regards,
Tim Walters
GRM
Twin Peaks Lodge and Hot Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Delightful stay. Our king suite had a balcony with a table and chairs. The view from the balcony was spectacular. The room was comfortable, however be advised that the entry is a steep stairway with 16 steps up from ground level. Also the bathroom is very small with the sink in the room. Even with those issues we would want this room if we were to return.

Enjoyed the convenience of the mineral pools on site. Staff was very friendly. Breakfast was good.

Location is ideal. We left our car parked and walked the short 2 blocks to downtown. The walk is uphill when coming back.

Definitely would stay here again on a return trip.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank NEColo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Went for my Birthday and was meeting friends their also. 2 cpl's shared a room and we got a condo - cute and clean but not located by the main building we was 1 1/2 blocks away so not convenient when the rest of your party is by the main building. We had a big ugly spider on our bedspread which freaked me out a little and we was on the bottom floor and could hear the people above us talking, their TV, and them walking around which was annoying. The grounds are beautiful but the indoor hot springs was so HOT no one could get in it to enjoy it, you couldn't even put your feet in. At night the pool was a little to cool that we was all shivering so the outside hot tub was the place to be and was very crowded because that was where everyone was. Breakfast was great but we was asked by the guy at the door that took our tickets which room we was in and if had checked out. Not sure why he was asking and why we was asked 2 more times while we was trying to eat.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LeiAnn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We just returned from our stay at Twin Peaks Lodge with our 6 and 10 year old daughters- we had a great time and our kids really enjoyed the pool ( hot springs on site!)which is open 24 hrs/ day. Accommodations aren't extravagant but nice and very clean. The Mineshaft restaurant on the premises has fabulous food and great service...... Something many other eateries in town were seriously lacking in our experience!

The breakfast that is included with the room was better than average- with eggs bacon, sausage, biscuits and gravy as well as fresh made omelettes, cereals, fruit, yogurt etc. This alone saved us about $25-30 a day in dining expenses- and the pool was nice enough that we didn't even go to the " big pool" saving even more $$. The lodge is just a few minutes walk from the main shopping/ dining area of town but is VERY quiet!

I highly recommend Twin Peaks Lodge for families- or really for anyone. Service was fantastic all the way around! We will most definitely return!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 40LizG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

My husband, my self and another couple were traveling on motorcycles. We called in later in the afternoon and got two of the last rooms. We ended up staying 2 nights because of the luxury at such a wonderful price. The Continental breakfast was unlike any other we have ever had. They offer the normal items, (biscits and gravy, potatoes, fresh fruit, yogurt, bagels, toast and pastries, etc.) but the BEST part is they have an omelet bar that has fresh veggies, a meat choice and cheese. All this is included in your price of the room. It was Excellent!!!!!!!! Every staff member is beyond kind and knowledgeable. The restaurant they have onsite is equally as good. Great quality is shown throughout this entire hotel. Wonderful hot springs and beautiful grounds. My hats off to this place!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MimiD726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

This property has just about everything you could ask for. Pools, a restaurant, a recreation area, plenty of parking, friendly staff and a delightful breakfast, hand made to order.

We booked a pet room, and were delighted at the high level of cleanliness. We were accommodated with a smile as we utilized the lobby computers and asked for a document to be faxed. The young lady behind the counter was very friendly and well-trained.

Thank you for a pleasant stay! We enjoyed our time at the Mine Shaft Restaurant as well. We will return!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank pingfall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.9 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
937 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#11 of 15 in Ouray
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
#12 of 15 in Ouray
321 reviews
0.1 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#7 of 15 in Ouray
104 reviews
1 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge
Timber Ridge Lodge
#14 of 15 in Ouray
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs

Address: 125 Third Avenue, PO Box 955, Ouray, CO 81427
Region: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ouray
Price Range: £87 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lodge is one of a kind. Offering mountain view rooms and breath taking scenes to ensure the perfect picture backdrop. We are located Next to the Million Dollar Highway(hwy 550)one block off Main St. Perfect quiet location away from the hustle and bustle of the city. All of our pools are Natural Mineral Hot Springs. Only a short walk from your room are savings. Continuing with, the Full Hot Breakfast. Our Chef will prepare you a vegetarian omelet full of your favorites. Not to mention, a make-your-own waffle station with hot maple syrup and canned whipped cream! You can look forward to Eggs, Bacon, Biscuits & Gravy, fresh fruit, and assorted hot and cold cereals. There's so much more than can be written here. You'll just have to see for yourself. Join us for a get away you will not forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Twin Peaks Lodge And Hot Springs
Best Western Plus Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs Hotel Ouray
Best Western Ouray
Ouray Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing