We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Ouray
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Spacious Room”
Reviewed 29 September 2009

We stayed here for 4 nights. The room was very spacious and they provided some nice amenities including a mint wrapped up within the towels on our beds. They had a nice breakfast room that was included in the nightly rate. The hotel also had a nice swimming pool and an outdoor as well as indoor Hot Springs Hot Tub. The outdoor Hot Springs Tub was just a soaking tub however the indoor one was also a spa. The Hot Tubs were a bit warm and took some getting used to.
The one thing that I didn't like was the fact that just my blow dryer would set off the smoke alarm and the lighting around the mirror was very poor making it difficult to see your progress with your makeup and hair.
If one can overlook the two problem areas mentioned above, it was a fairly nice place to stay. It was also very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grnvlysandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    160
    64
    38
    28
See reviews for
194
249
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2009

Only good things to say about this hotel. The room was clean and the view of the mountains was spectacular. The staff was great and the prices were reasonable given the views and walks to nearby shopping and dining. I'd stay here again anytime.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobInAustinTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott AZ
Level 6 Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2009

From our extensive travel, we've learned that there are Best Westerns and there are BEST Best Westerns. BW Twin Peaks stands among the few we've experienced in the latter category. Say "rustic mountain accommodation," and I picture no-frills bare essentials -- clean linens, thin towels, couple of small bar soaps, awful shampoo and conditioner, TV with limited channels, noisy wooden walkways outside your door, and "mountainview" usually meant looking out over an ugly back yard and dumpsters. At a economical rate, I envision a pitifully limited continental breakfast with mostly sugary packaged options, plain white and "wheat" toast, watery juices...
Not so at Twin Peaks. So many small added touches that show this family-run motel wants to please and satisfy you. Peggy showed her can-do attitude by offering a room with easy chair-and-ottoman for my husband's unusual post-surgery sleeping needs. Altho' in a double queen room--I needed only one bed--the rate was much lower than any rooms in Ouray during our stay. Altho' not suite-size, for our one-night needs, it was like a small suite--even had a refrigerator. Big, soft, fluffy towels cleverly folded, small welcome mint tucked in, neatly set out on beds fitted with up-to-puffy mattress covers and coverlets. Pretty bottles of nicely scented hair products and lotion. Little, colorful, round soaps with subtle citric or herbal scents. Warming light over the tub; upscale shower head. A first for us: soft, sound-muffling carpeting all the way upstairs and across the entire walkway. Outside every door, a panoramic mountain view. Plenty of satellite TV channels. Grounds well maintained. Pool with bath-warm water and very clean both in and out. Hot spring spa. When they say hot breakfast, they don't just mean warm toast, toaster waffles or instant oatmeal. Eggs, sausage, make-your-own waffles, several breads including homebaked cinnamon swirl bread. Dispensers and warming trays efficiently refilled. And the staff? Peggy certainly knows how to be a caring, accommodating (just ask) hospitality hostess, as does her staff. This is no ordinary BW.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerseygalPrescottAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ Shore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2009

Since we needed a place to stay on our visits to Black Valley of the Gunnison and Mesa Verde National Parks, I checked out the reviews here on Trip Advisor. Many people gave it glowing reviews, so I booked a room for 2 nights. Since we were traveling with a dog, I agreed to a smoking room, which was apparently their policy. The town was very nice and interesting, but I was unfavorably impressed upon seeing the place. The photos were definitely flattering. The person at the desk was polite enough, but when we saw the room, we were totally disappointed. It was tiny and REEKED of smoke, to the point we were almost physically sickened. The bathroom was miniscule. The room didn't look clean, and there were small patches of mold/mildew near the bathroom faucets and the sink faucets. There was some kind of insect that ran into a crack near the bathtub, too. I was unable to access the internet, although that was promised. We immediately decided that we would cancel the following night. I went right to the office and informed the desk clerk we would not be staying the following night. She said we wouldn't be charged (we weren't). After a restless night, we went to breakfast, and as at least one other reviewer stated, the sausage and eggs were cold and the donuts were frozen. When I checked out, I found the bill higher than I was quoted. When I questioned the desk clerk, she said our AAA had not been applied. The clerk the previous night did not ask about it. My bill was adjusted and I was credited $17. The normal rate was $160+ a night, which, in my opinion, was outrageous. In fairness, perhaps the non-smoking rooms were nicer, larger and cleaner, but the room we were given was disgusting. I can't believe it was rated so well by Trip Advisor and also by AAA. We stayed in 11 different places in 15 days, and this Best Western was by far the worst!!! It was also the only place that required those traveling with a pet to stay in a smoking room. Incidentally, my dog coughed for at least an hour after leaving there. At first we thought she was being affected by the high altitude, but we're thinking now that her throat was irritated by the stench of the smoke. If my husband and I were sickened, we can only guess how it affected a dog with much sharper senses.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brynny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, 24 June 2012
Dear Guest (Brynny)
Let me start by saying "Thank you" for your review . As I've mentioned in a couple reviews prior your feedback is what helps us to know what goes on and gives us the ability to correct issues before they become problems. Im sure you'll be glad to know that all our our rooms are now non-smoking. There are designated smoking areas. The rooms have been updated including carpet and upholstery. So no more smokey smell :D . We keep in constant contact with our housekeeping staff in regards to cleanliness of rooms. According to our hotel policy Desk staff is required to check every room for Best Western Standards. I can guarantee each room is inspected and will not be found or given to a customer with any dirty issue. We have a contract (As most businesses should) with an extermination company and we let them know to pay more attention because our business is on the line. Our internet is fully functioning and we apologize for it not working properly on your stay. Also we have upgraded our package and increased the speed on the entire property to ensure a faster web experience. The breakfast is completely different from the time you were here. We now have a chef who prepares omelets to order and attendants who are actually in the breakfast room to help keep everything as fresh as possible. We have covered catering chaffing pans to keep the food warm. To be honest, the breakfast moves so fast now it doesn't have a chance to get cold. We have also expanded the variety of food to address the needs of a larger crowd. I am glad however, to hear that our front desk staff was able to correct any issue with your bill. We have added new staff that is customer service oriented and ready to help answer any new questions, comments, or concerns that you may have.
From all of us at the Best Western Plus Twin Peaks,
Thank you for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2009

The room was much smaller than it looked in the pictures, our refrigerator did not work and one morning the donuts were frozen and eggs and sausage were cold. There was also a lot of noise heard through the walls from surrounding rooms.The kids did enjoy the warm pool, however would choose somewhere else next time. Not worth the money we spent.

Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ilmomof2Illinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topeka
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2009

We've stayed at several places in Ouray, and this place was hands down the best. Staff were great. Room was well clean, modern and really quiet. The pool was wonderful (when they say heated, they aren't kidding). Rented a jeep from the hotel for a couple of days, and it worked out great too. Strongly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank who_we_talkin_about
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2009

The last night of our family vacation took us to Ouray, CO and a stay at the Best Western Twin Peaks. Our teenagers were ready to head home...until we arrived. They were as captivated by the beauty of the area and the kindness of the locals as we were...and then we checked in to the Best Western. Our younger teen was thrilled to see the little room off the main hotel room with bunk beds. It gave them just the right amount of privacy needed to "get away" from us adults! Loved that there were two sinks...one in the bathroom and another just outside! Not enough hotels have this anymore! The decor was simple, but attractive. The only downside was that the rooms floor was uneven...strange! Our bill was higher than what we had been quoted on line and the office staff looked at the confirmation info and changed with NO questions! Pleasant stay for family!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank COmomma77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#12 of 15 in Ouray
231 reviews
1.0 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge
Timber Ridge Lodge
#13 of 15 in Ouray
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ouray Inn
Ouray Inn
#7 of 15 in Ouray
119 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ouray Victorian Inn
Ouray Victorian Inn
#4 of 15 in Ouray
475 reviews
0.3 mi away
Matterhorn Motel
Matterhorn Motel
#10 of 15 in Ouray
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs

Property: Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
Address: 125 Third Avenue, PO Box 955, Ouray, CO 81427
Region: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lodge is one of a kind. Offering mountain view rooms and breath taking scenes to ensure the perfect picture backdrop. We are located Next to the Million Dollar Highway(hwy 550)one block off Main St. Perfect quiet location away from the hustle and bustle of the city. All of our pools are Natural Mineral Hot Springs. Only a short walk from your room are savings. Continuing with, the Full Hot Breakfast. Our Chef will prepare you a vegetarian omelet full of your favorites. Not to mention, a make-your-own waffle station with hot maple syrup and canned whipped cream! You can look forward to Eggs, Bacon, Biscuits & Gravy, fresh fruit, and assorted hot and cold cereals. There's so much more than can be written here. You'll just have to see for yourself. Join us for a get away you will not forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Twin Peaks Lodge And Hot Springs
Best Western Plus Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs Hotel Ouray
Best Western Ouray
Ouray Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing