We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best in ouray” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Ouray
Certificate of Excellence
Shermans Dale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“best in ouray”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

Have stayed at others in town. But this place is always perfect always clean. Can not beat a free breakfast either. The owner Betty is always the best host. Her staff is always accommodating .Laundry in the basement is always helpfull after a week on the road.After dinner in town just relax in the hot tub. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bergyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    79
    26
    7
    9
See reviews for
53
87
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Grand Junction, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

I personally loved the hotel. The ambiance was amazing. Views were some of the best I have ever seen. The owners have hung hummingbird feeders throughout the hotel. Between the hummingbirds and the views I was on the balcony most of the evening. I enjoyed the breakfast and the owners taking the time to visit with us each morning. It wasn't a cooked to order breakfast, but they had a great selection. The owners offered friendly advice to help us plan out each day and always asked how are day was the day before. You won't find that just anywhere. I'm not sure what the last person was referring to. I found the staff and the Hotel professional and charming.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

As a hospitality employee I find it laughable that this place can charge $130 a night for a room, even for the location. The rooms are furnished with items from the 1980's and seem like they haven't been properly cleaned since that time as well. The hot breakfast is nothing more than microwaved disks of sausage and eggs. My stay at this location was so unenjoyable that we checked out a day early. When I told the owner Betty that we were going back home she laughed at me. From this example and her childish unprofessional responses to reviews on this site it is apparent that she is not a hospitality professional and I have no idea why Choice Hotels would let her run an inn that carries their name. Can't wait to read her response.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tlgriego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BettyWolfe, Owner at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
I'm sorry that this was a bad experience for you and I am sorry if you found me or my Tripadvisor responses unprofessional and childish. I never like to hear that one of my guests had a bad experience while staying with us. I would usually remember if someone was this unhappy with their stay , so I am truly surprised by this review. From time to time we do have people who don't like our eggs that we have for breakfast. However if they don't like the eggs, they usually do like the waffels, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, or fruit. Hotel prices at our Inn are comparable to other hotels in this area as well as in the Denver area and actually more reasonable than some during peak season. Working in the hospitality business, you should be aware of this.

I did do a querry to find the information on your stay and thought that I would give you a discount since obviously you were not happy with your stay. However you were in on a Special Employee Discount and you paid $35.00 a night for your room not $130.00 as you led me or other readers to believe by your comments. You did change your room stay the night before you left from 3 nights to 2, and I had already left at that point. I'm sorry we actually didn't have a chance to speak, but I will speak with my employees, in regards to this matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
113 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

Made a non-refundable reservation a couple of days before arriving in Ouray. Good thing as there was no vacancy during our late check-in.
Standard motel room on a quiet street, a block off of the main drag. Everything in Ouray is with-in walking distance, the hot springs pool is about a 10 minute walk from motel.
Since we departed very early in order to climb Mt. Sneffels, we missed the free breakfast.
Room rate was a little high, but tourist season is short in Ouray. Plus, you can take advantage of Choice Privileges rewards program.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harleyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

While trying to make reservations I advised her that I had a service dog. Was in the process of booking the room and I was advised there was a $15.00 charge for the pet. First of all it is not a pet, it's a working dog. I have never been charged for a service animal and am very disappointed that they were un-accommodating for service animals.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BettyWolfe, Owner at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
I am sorry that this happened. I will not make excuses , just an apology. Service animals are treated differently than regular pets and since we are seeing more service animals traveling as companions with our guests, our training of our front desk staff need to be stepped up as well. I seem to have missed something with my staff on this subject. Thank you for bringing this to my attention, and if this ever happens to anyone else traveling with a service dog, please contact the management and make them aware of your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

Since this motel serves elk hunters, skiers, mountain bikers, and ice climbers you can forgive the wear and tear on the rooms. It was basically clean and the breakfast was standard. Our disappointment was price - in July (high season) $149 felt like about $50 too much.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012 via mobile

This facility would be ok for a one night visit, but not for a longer stay or a vacation. Basic room was clean, but no extra facilities such as a lobby or gathering area to relax in (there were two couches by the front desk in the tiny reception area), or any kind of outdoor sitting or relaxing area, and the room did not have a comfortable chair, etc to read or watch tv. Did appreciate the air conditioning and wi-fi, and accommodating a request to chill our cooler and contents, though.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank victoria s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.2 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.2 mi away
Ouray Victorian Inn
Ouray Victorian Inn
#5 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.1 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#7 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge
Timber Ridge Lodge
#12 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.1 mi away
Matterhorn Motel
Matterhorn Motel
#10 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
#8 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 191 5th Avenue, Ouray, CO 81427
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ouray
#9 Family Hotel in Ouray
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp and Ebookers so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Ouray
Ouray Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing