We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Like the Other Reviewers Said It Was!”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Ouray
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2010

We checked Trip Advisor on this one since there was no major chain hotel in Ouray. It was just as good as other reviewers said it was. Clean, quiet, and good value. Friendly staff.

The hot breakfast topped many breakfasts we have had in major chain hotels.

All in all, a great place to stay. We will stay here again when in Ouray.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CoastalDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2010

We enjoyed our stay here with nice (but not special) rooms and a filling breakfast much like the best of the motel chains. We'd go back. Within two blocks of downtown.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ridger2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

We drove around looking for a room that doesn't cost over $100.
What we found was not what we wanted, which was a good bed, a ventilation fan or a/c,
a good tv and a decent looking room.

We paid around $130 after looking at the three hotels we found while driving around town which were under $100. What we found is that you can find a room for $95 and $85...but the difference you can find for $30 more is huge.

Other hotels were asking $150 and that area. For that price you get a nice room and a good bed, a/c, etc.
So for what we paid, we were very happy.

This is a nice quiet place with friendly managers. Breakfast was amazingly good, they have sausage too!

This was not our first visit to this hotel, we stayed here once before and were satisfied. We've also stayed at the Box Canyon lodge, which was full and cost around $150.

You can count on this Comfort to be a good cool room in the summer when it gets hot in Ouray. They have a hot tub, most hotels here do.

In Ouray, hotels cost about $50 more than other cities. This Comfort would be $75 in Salt Lake or Houston. So you just have to figure that if you are lucky enough to go to Ouray, you are going to spend more for a hotel, by about 25 or 30%.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColoradoguyDurango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2010

We were there with a group of friends, one of our friends went out to explore the town one day and came back to find the door to their room door propped open with a chair and no one in sight. Their handyman had apparently been working on an outlet (without telling our friend - all his electronics were plugged in to charge, camera, cell phone, laptop - good thing there wasn't a surge when they turned the power back on, or they'd have been buying a lot of electronics!) and went downstairs to get a vacuum cleaner to clean up after himself. When confronted they only said that it was a safe neighborhood, and there wasn't anyone around. Uh, hello? Its not YOUR STUFF!!!!! Very blase about other people's belongings, IMHO. Also the carpet had clearly seen better days and really, badly, needed cleaning. I wouldn't walk around barefoot on it, that's for sure. And, lastly, when in the shower the water temperature fluctuated badly, to the point that three times (ok, I take about a 15 minute shower...) I had to jump out of the tub, because it was so hot it actually HURT. That can't be safe, it was scalding hot, with no warning at all. I'm surprised a hotel would let that go, from the sheer liability aspect.

No fridge or microwave in room.

On the plus side, their night desk gal was really nice.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scubagirlkelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2010

We are from Australia and are currently traveling across the US for 5 months. This is the first hotel / campground that actually has had all of the amenities that they have claimed on their website!! The breakfast is pretty good, the spa is awesome, the wi fi works and the laundry is open, cheap with driers that work well! The staff here are very friendly and helpful as is the rest of the town of Ouray! I recommend you spend some at the Ice park and the Irish pub just down the road.

One thing was the carpets in our room weren't so clean due to the amount of people coming in directly from the snow and ice. This was not a big deal for us.

Overall, this place was great !! Thanks

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilnBec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2009

Typical hotel. Thin walls, WIFI weak, NO ice (machine broken), Breakfast waffles were good ( make them yourself), Eggs were the worst (similar in texture to the styrofoam plates), Pillows wonderful, Beds hard.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LoveTravelFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2009

I have been impressed by the Comfort Inn logo with my recent stays at this chain and this one didn't dissapoint. Staff were friendly, location is excellent (1 street away from main street), reasonable pricing considering its location, and its got a spa and hot breakfast! Rooms are roomy and clean. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yacro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.8 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
924 reviews
0.2 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.9 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge
Timber Ridge Lodge
#13 of 15 in Ouray
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ouray Inn
Ouray Inn
#6 of 15 in Ouray
130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Matterhorn Motel
Matterhorn Motel
#10 of 15 in Ouray
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 191 5th Avenue, Ouray, CO 81427
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Ouray
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ouray
Price Range: £59 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Ouray
Ouray Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing