We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alley House Grille

Alley House Grille
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$45
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Our casual but elegant restaurant is perfect for casual night just ordering pizza and wine, or for an upscale evening of dining and romance. We pride ourselves with a very nice All- American wine list
Griffin, Georgia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delicious Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

The food was absolutely delicious! Having said that, and being from out of town, we dressed for a fine dining experience and was a little disappointed to find patrons in hoodies and sneakers. Certainly for the cost, we expected it to be a little more upscale. Overall we were not disappointed because the food was very good.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank shaff45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sweetchef59, Owner at Alley House Grille, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Thank you for your review!
I'm glad you enjoyed our delicious food and great service. I wanted to respond to the dress code comment. Most people dress upscale casual when they come to the Alley House. On Christmas and New Years Eve, most come very dressy. But with the ski season upon us, some folks do come in straight from the ski area. We never judge on what people wear as long as they are clean and not disturbing others. We all live and play in this wonderful mountain town and it lends itself to be have more of a causal life style.
Thanks Again,
Kellie Stevens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    440
    130
    36
    8
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best Grille in Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

What can I say. Alley House is THE PLACE to go if you want more than just decent food in Pagosa Springs. Reservations are highly recommended, or you will most likely end up disappointed and hungry, which has happened to me more than once. They are busy and their food and service is excellent. If you sit at the bar, you will most likely meet unique upscale locals, who tend to frequent this upscale place. My all time favorite eatery in Pagosa!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank blummusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarcoxie, Missouri
Level Contributor
109 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

My husband's brother recommended this restaurant and we were very pleased with our service. The food was very good. It is a little more expensive than some of the other places but has a nice atmosphere and it well worth the price.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Rita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Near-perfect meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Our dinner here was delicious. My duck entrée was possibly the best I've ever had. We also ordered a foie gras and mascarpone mousse appetizer, pork tenderloin entree, and chocolate pot de crème -- everything was fantastic. Service was professional and friendly. Everything is a la carte, so no salad with an entrée, but a shared app/entrée/shared dessert was plenty. Only complaints from us would be regarding the bar; my husband ordered a mojito, and it arrived inexplicably made with coconut rum--odd (and not very good). Our server, Missy, was kind to add some extra club soda. Also, I would have liked a glass of sparking wine, but they don't offer it by the glass. Overall a great experience, and I can't wait to go back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jen33397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulously impressive food, atmosphere, and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We made last minute reservations on a friday night, got seated early, and served water and menus right away. The place was pretty busy, but the wait staff was on it and our food came out sooner than expected. Delicious lamb special and ribeye steak+ cocktails made to perfection. Price point was also very reasonable considering the quality. Coming from Santa Fe, which has some of the "best" restaurants in the Southwest, I was totally blown away (we could've had the same meal at home and paid twice the price without any of the good service). One of the best dining experiences I've had. We look forward to coming back next time we visit Pagosa.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MontanaJoanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alley House Grille also viewed

 

Been to Alley House Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing